We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Nearby Hotels
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Paxton Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Summerstrand)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kelway Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No5 by Mantis(Summerstrand)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boardwalk Hotel(Summerstrand)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Singa Lodge(Summerstrand)
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
8
22
19
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
22
19
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget lodgeaffordable accommodationreception staffbeach roadroom was cleancape townperfect locationbusiness triphousekeepinginternet
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2012

An impressive looking hotel overlooking the sea ! Rooms were very tired looking and in need of a re-vamp. A tv the size of a postage stamp. Listened to cranes operating on a construction site next door until 8-30 p.m.
Breakfast. The only available table was full of dirty crockery and the staff took 7 minutes to remove them. Staff were available but obviously more important they socialise with themselves.
Breakfast was sloppy watery scrambled egg, the sausage container was empty and remained that way for anothe 45 minutes. We should have gone across the road for breakfast.
Very worried about our hire car as the security barrier was broken and we were in breach of our hire car agreement. In fact I still have the barrier token ,did not need to use it .Anyone could have taken our car easily.
I emailed the hotel expressing my dissapointment but 2 months on got no reply. Not really cheap as we had much better value for money in bed and breakfasts.

Room Tip: enough said
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maurice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that you did no enjoy your stay. We will definitely look into your observations and see what can be done to improve matters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Came from Kwazulu Natal...had to stop over for some rest with a partner!
Reception was slow.
Room neat and clean.
Basic hotel.

Exellent rate that we recieved and felt our vehicle was safe outside in te parking area with security.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thysmetys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Very good value for money, basic room, no fridge, bad service, unfriendly staff, variety of restaurants to choose from to bring take-aways - food not good at all ... but overall not bad for just one night

Room Tip: No lifts ... so if you don't want to struggle with your heavy suitcase up the stairs, ask for the ground floor - not many planes, so not really interfering
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stunningchick69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We chose this hotel because we had a late arrival into P.E. and an early departure the next day. We couldn't see the sense in paying more when we really just needed a place to crash. We wanted multiple rooms for the family and tried to email ahead to confirm this. The hotel didn't respond to emails, but were happy enough to accommodate our request on arrival.

The rooms are small. Like Formule 1 style small. Small TV, small bed. The shower is in the corner of the room and only has a see through door separating it from the rest of the room. Don't stay in a twin room unless you are really good friends with your travelling companion, or you want to be. There is no lift, and stairs to carry your bags up. Seriously, who designs a new hotel (which this is) without a lift?

Still, clean and comfortable enough. Staff were friendly and helpful - even to the point of helping us with our bags up the stairs. More service than I expected in a hotel at this price point.

We were going to the boardwalk for dinner, and the hotel staff arranged a shuttle. However, this was a bit ridiculous as the place was just next to the hotel, with just a service station seperating the two. We felt more than comfortable just walking back to the hotel afterwards.

In the morning we went across the road to the beachfront cafes for breakfast. Great location for a one night stay, with the boardwalk one side, and the beach the other.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank inas66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

I stayed here one night, and was itching to upgrade to a better hotel the next morning. First of all, the hotel is in a great location. It is in one of the best areas of Humewood literally a 2-3 minute walk to the boardwalk. There is ample free parking, and the staff was nice enough.
The rooms were very small, the beds were hard and uncomfortable, and the TV was tiny and had 3 channels. The shower was not in the bathroom, and was open to the small bedroom, which was kind of awkward as I was sharing the room with a male friend of mine. I was told by management that all rooms had showers openly visible to the bedroom. Like most of SA, Wifi was available but at a very high price.
In all fairness, the hotel does not pretend to be a swanky upscale boutique hotel. It is cheap, and functional with a good location. I enjoyed my stay at their sister hotel, City Lodge, but paid a bit extra to have a few more frills.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Noturavg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews