We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Started ok but ended horribly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Started ok but ended horribly”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The location of the hotel was fantastic. Rooms were clean and neat. This road lodge has a small lcd tv instead of the old smaller one the other road lodges have. Unfortunately reception staff and housekeeping do not respond well. My room was not made till 3pm despite me asking reception at 9am. Even when it was done there was no towels,tissue etc. Housekeeping staff promised to bring it,it never came. I had to get it from the security at night. I don't think I would return here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank es786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Please accept our apoiogies for this sub-standard experience. The matter has been looked into and the necessary remedial action has been taken. We let ourselves down on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    20
    16
    2
    7
See reviews for
5
16
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
capetown
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

My husband and recently spent two nights at The Road Lodge, Port Elizabeth. Our room was small, basic, small shower, but exceptionally clean and value for money considering it was in the prime position on Marine Drive, beachfront, next to the Boardwalk Casino and other well-known hotels. If you are looking for a clean and basic place to rest while you do sightseeing, The Road Lodge is perfect then. Staff were very friendly and exceptionally helpful. We will definitely go back there when we visit Port Elizabeth again.

Room Tip: Room 121 - small window but overlooks the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatimai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon as a guest..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Stayed over in Road lodge in Nelspruit and the one in Durban. For the price you pay you get excellent value for your money, rooms might be rather small but more than adequate, tv is big enough to watch unless like some foreign guests you are blind. (give them binoculars)
Reception area neat and tidy, staff are friendly and very helpful. Breakfast on both occasions has been more than adequate, great coffee, clean utensils and good selection to get your day started.
I will be staying at the Port Elizabeth Road lodge the second week in December 2012 and look forward to another great stay. Having smoking rooms is a great idea, keep it up.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker take smoking rooms, brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaughan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

An impressive looking hotel overlooking the sea ! Rooms were very tired looking and in need of a re-vamp. A tv the size of a postage stamp. Listened to cranes operating on a construction site next door until 8-30 p.m.
Breakfast. The only available table was full of dirty crockery and the staff took 7 minutes to remove them. Staff were available but obviously more important they socialise with themselves.
Breakfast was sloppy watery scrambled egg, the sausage container was empty and remained that way for anothe 45 minutes. We should have gone across the road for breakfast.
Very worried about our hire car as the security barrier was broken and we were in breach of our hire car agreement. In fact I still have the barrier token ,did not need to use it .Anyone could have taken our car easily.
I emailed the hotel expressing my dissapointment but 2 months on got no reply. Not really cheap as we had much better value for money in bed and breakfasts.

Room Tip: enough said
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Port Elizabeth, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that you did no enjoy your stay. We will definitely look into your observations and see what can be done to improve matters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Elizabeth hotels

Cape Town
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Came from Kwazulu Natal...had to stop over for some rest with a partner!
Reception was slow.
Room neat and clean.
Basic hotel.

Exellent rate that we recieved and felt our vehicle was safe outside in te parking area with security.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thysmetys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mzuzu, Malawi
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Very good value for money, basic room, no fridge, bad service, unfriendly staff, variety of restaurants to choose from to bring take-aways - food not good at all ... but overall not bad for just one night

Room Tip: No lifts ... so if you don't want to struggle with your heavy suitcase up the stairs, ask for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stunningchick69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We chose this hotel because we had a late arrival into P.E. and an early departure the next day. We couldn't see the sense in paying more when we really just needed a place to crash. We wanted multiple rooms for the family and tried to email ahead to confirm this. The hotel didn't respond to emails, but were happy enough to accommodate our request on arrival.

The rooms are small. Like Formule 1 style small. Small TV, small bed. The shower is in the corner of the room and only has a see through door separating it from the rest of the room. Don't stay in a twin room unless you are really good friends with your travelling companion, or you want to be. There is no lift, and stairs to carry your bags up. Seriously, who designs a new hotel (which this is) without a lift?

Still, clean and comfortable enough. Staff were friendly and helpful - even to the point of helping us with our bags up the stairs. More service than I expected in a hotel at this price point.

We were going to the boardwalk for dinner, and the hotel staff arranged a shuttle. However, this was a bit ridiculous as the place was just next to the hotel, with just a service station seperating the two. We felt more than comfortable just walking back to the hotel afterwards.

In the morning we went across the road to the beachfront cafes for breakfast. Great location for a one night stay, with the boardwalk one side, and the beach the other.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank inas66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.6 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airpor...
#24 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#12 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#16 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Road Lodge Port Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Road Lodge Port Elizabeth

Property: Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Address: Boardwalk Casino & Entertainment World, Marine Drive | P.O. Box 13219, Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge Port Elizabeth 1*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth is situated on Marine Drive in the Boardwalk Casino and Resort complex, directly opposite the famed Humewood International Beach of the Eastern Cape. Situated 8 minutes from the CBD and 5 minutes from Port Elizabeth Airport. This is the best value in the City Lodge Group of hotels. The same rate is charged whether there is one, two or even three people sharing the comfortably furnished and tastefully decorated rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Road Lodge Port Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Road Hotel Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing