We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay for a single night”
Review of Chapman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chapman Hotel
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Reviewed 3 March 2013

we stayed there one night, kind of a stopover between Plettenberg bay and the flight to Johannesburg, so cant say much, but here are my impressions:
Good:
staff very nice and helpful, the room was clean (and very big). bed also very big. The location was ok, couple of nice restaurants very close, although i guess not in the city center...
Improvement:
our view although booked as a ocean view, was more of view of the port. The furniture looked a bit old, and i would recommend renewal.no fridge in the room.

Room Tip: Standard Queen Room with Sea View - what we booked. You get an extremely large room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmizorov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

This is a low budget hotel, rooms can sleep 4, rooms are clean and basic and need to be refurbished. Hotel is old and shows it , some rooms have a small fridge, rooms have tea/coffee making facilities , you pay as you use, Views are good and rooms are bright, restaurant is on a marine theme but not welcoming, breakfast is basic and not appetizing , service is not great, If you are on a tight budget this is the spot for you and the family and don't complain and you pay for what you get, low prices, expect low quality and the rest.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SACLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

My room was spacious enough, but not quite clean (feet got dirty when walking around barefoot on the tiled floor) and in need of a bit of maintanance (touch-up paint work in a couple of places). A TV, desk, two chairs, clothes wardrobe, coffee/tea making facilities was available in the room. No safety deposit box though, although they have some sort of system where you can leave your valuables for safety deposit at reception, but seemingly only during certain stated times of the day (08h00-09h00 and 14h00-17h00 on Mondays to Fridays, and 08h00-09h00 and 13h30-15h00 on Saturdays and Sundays) -- thus not really any good if you want to drop of or fetch any valuables before/after a night out?

There was a king size bed in my room. The ensuite dimly lit bathroom had both a bath and a shower.

The location of the hotel is good though, in the touristy part of Port Elizabeth, close to a couple of restaurants. It has a good view over the bay and some good swimming beaches are a short walk away down the hill. For those who do not want to go to the beach for a swim, the hotel also has a small pool outside, but it is situated right next to the reception and restaurant area, so you'll probably have zero privacy.

Their administrative service was very poor though -- it took me five separate telephonic, e-mail and in-person requests just to get a change of guest name document from the hotel (which I needed for an internal transfer of funds at my institution).

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tpepler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Very good value for money. Affordable but with all the luxury amenities required. Our room had beautiful sea view, very comfortable bed and it was a joy staying there. Unfortunately I can't recommend the hotel restaurant as the food were bland, boring and took too long. The restaurant also does not have comfortable atmosphere and the waiters/manager couldnt care less. Accommodation is wonderful, but parking is a problem. There is not enough parking and guests from adjacent hotels end up parking at your hotel.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have sea view, but ask for far right - these are closest to ocean and great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarikavanWyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ana Luiza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Evitatelo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Misspaolaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
0.5 mi away
Bishops Inn
Bishops Inn
#27 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#12 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brookes Hill Suites
Brookes Hill Suites
#31 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
94 reviews
2.3 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airpor...
#24 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapman Hotel

Address: 1 Lady Bea Crescent, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: £36 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chapman Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Chapman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing