We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little bit of New York in Port Elizabeth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Como Caffe

Como Caffe
Ranked #53 of 342 Restaurants in Port Elizabeth
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Como Caffé brings NYC's Little Italy to Port Elizabeth. Come try our gourmet paninis and burgers, salads and pastas and of course our speciality tea and coffee drinks which will travel your taste buds to another world. Our design team has meticulously planned and created an atmosphere of comfort and class with our one of a kind furniture and design pieces. While you are here why not take home our local and imported delicacies from our comprehensive deli section
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little bit of New York in Port Elizabeth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Not only is the atmosphere wonderful and the staff friendly and helpful, but the coffee is absolutely amazing at Como Caffe - some of the best in the city! They make wonderful sandwiches and salads and are the place to get imported meats, cheeses, and specialty foods. I highly recommend Como Caffe!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lkp021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    9
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough but not special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

After hearing some good reports we popped in for breakfast. Initial impressions were good and the decor and service impressed. The cafe had a European coffee shop feel to it. The menu was excellent and we all chose different breakfasts. the coffee was excellent. the breakfast however disappointed. Portions were small and the scrambled eggs were dry and tasteless. Presentation was good but the taste was just not there. I would not be tempted to return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahthexton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minas M, Owner at Como Caffe, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your coffee, our stellar service and that you had a nice overall experience at our cafe. It's unfortunate that your food experience didn't match up and we are always eager to make up for that and get it right. We would like to take the time out to apologise for mistake and invite you to try us for a 2nd time. We are always eager to please our customers and make sure that every visit at como is a memorable one. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon at our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
“New York meets little Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

I often have the pleasure of frequenting Como Caffe in Walmer. In my opinion you won’t find a better deli in Port Elizabeth. They have a great wide variety of Italian cold meats and cheeses. I personally have tried the salami, coppa, and pancetta to name a few. For those of you that like your cheese boards like me, they are a must have. They also have a comprehensive variety of preserves and jams to accompany any good cheese board. Added to this if you have the pleasure of sitting down and enjoying one of their many meals on offer you won’t be disappointed. I definitely recommend giving this one a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canyon Lake, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Have visited twice - Feb 2012 and again Feb 2013 - just to have coffee. Good service, nice atmosphere and good coffee! Next to interesting interior decorator stores.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brobb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent little deli and caffe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

A really fantastic place to enjoy deli sandwiches, breakfasts and delicious pizzas. Excellent atmosphere! Will be back often

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PersefoniVarfis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Como Caffe also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Como Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing