We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coffee and Calamari!”

Something Good Roadhouse
Ranked #15 of 344 Restaurants in Port Elizabeth
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Cuisines: Diner, Bar, Pizza, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, View, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Something Good Roadhouse situated on the idyllic Pollock Beach in Port Elizabeth. Perfect stop before or after a stroll along PE's golden beaches. We serve breakfast, lunch and dinner with a large menu catering to all tastes. A popular family destination with fantastic kiddies attractions and live music most evenings. We also offer the original roadhouse option with waiters serving customers in their cars. Attached to the roadhouse you will find our speciality ice cream parlour that makes our famous milkshakes. We look forward to welcoming you to Something Good.
Sydney
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Coffee and Calamari!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Called into have morning coffee, lovely setting and attentive staff. Visiting from Australia we were recommended the grilled calamari. It was absolutely delicious, so tender and just the right mix of chilli and lemon. A WOW dish to have with a morning coffee.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rinso51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    196
    81
    18
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sedgefield, South Africa
1 review
“mostly bad nothing good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

visited on a wet sunday morning what a shambles. service was awful, burgers inedible, drinks, two beers, arrived after the food. the bar coffee area was slow and disorganized and the manager stood around barking orders but not solving the problem area by getting his hands dirty. worst service and most disorganized restaurant I have ever visited. will not be back

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank warthogw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karyn T, Owner at Something Good Roadhouse, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear warthogw.
Thank you for your feedback, and we apologise for your experience at Something Good.
Unfortunately, on the day that you visited, a number of our staff (including our barista) had taken ill unexpectedly which meant that on a very busy morning, we were operating with a small staff which resulted in a slower than usual service.
We will endeavour to ensure that this does not happen again and will do our best to put measures in place to improve and try avoid similar situations in the future.
Good customer service is something that we strive for and so we appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
Sincerely,
SG Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
“Chill, socialise or have a party.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

This place has a great vibe, nestled just a stones throw away from the beach Something Good offers a comfortable and relaxed venue to enjoy an evening with friends or Family. I enjoy the atmosphere and the staff are friendly and helpful. The food is delicious and portions are a good size and prices are reasonable. I love coming here!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stuart s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Recently visited this Roadhouse on two occasions . Food was very good-ribs/pizza/steak and burger. Service was very good and staff attentive. The view is beautiful and the atmosphere was electric.
We really enjoyed it and will definitely return later this year.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank easyjettraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We Will Be Back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We are regular visitors to PE and have worked our way through most of the restaurants and were very interested to try out this phoenix of a roadhouse.

A lovely setting providing inside eating or covered outdoor eating or open outdorr eating - take your pick dependent on the wind.

Contrary to some other reviews we found the service to be spot on.

My meal choice was cajun calamari which was melt-in-the-mouth scrumptious.

My wife chose batter fried hake - a large portion, nicely cooked with a fresh and crisp batter.

Hake is served in most PE restaurants but this was definitely the best we've ever had.

The menu is nicely balanced between beachfront snacks and restaurant meals.

We have in mind a breakfast there shortly, on the deck overlooking the ocean.

Hats off to whoever brought this roadhouse back to life,

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EssexSwallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Something Good Roadhouse also viewed

Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Something Good Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing