We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple tasty food in a rustic environment.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fernandos Chicken House

Fernandos Chicken House
Ranked #78 of 342 Restaurants in Port Elizabeth
Cuisines: Portuguese, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Simple tasty food in a rustic environment.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Best to go at lunch time - no unsavory characters loitering around as the restaurant is not in the best area. We ordered peri peri chickens, chips (handcut NOT frozen or pre-cooked) and French salad which was all delicious!! The BEST chips and salad in town and the chicken was pretty good too. Wine is reasonably priced for some good ones. All in all, a super meal and we will all go back again, but ONLY at lunch time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    20
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“GOOD FIND”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Dont be put off by the decor. This authentic portugese resturant offers great value for money, and the best chicken, prawns and ribs in town. Laid back atmosphere, with great staff and a friendly vibe. Good place to visit

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food - terrible location!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

After a long absence we decided to go back for Fernando's legendary grilled peri peri chicken. The best fries ever and the French salad is super. The only thing that ruined our visit was arriving just after a patron tried to make a quick getaway after trying to steal another patrons handbag!! Police cars and security vehicles were parked outside, and an over-enthusiastic car guard was keen to share his role in the saga with anyone who was willing to listen. Yes, the food was just as good as we remembered, and the wine was reasonably priced - R100 for La Motte Sauvignon Blanc! We had phoned to book as it was a Friday night, but on arrival we found that Fernando had forgotten to write down our booking! Yes, this is a VERY RUSTIC eatery, in a "not so great" part of town, and I think In future will rather visit Fernando's during the day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Authentic portuguese food, with massive flavour - but a fairly rough environment...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Fernando's Chicken House is one of 'those' restaurants: The type of place that is so rough and out of the way, that only some of the locals know about it. Tucked into a side-street, you'd easily drive by and never know what you're missing inside. Because Fernando's might be in a fairly rough part of town, and it sure doesn't look like much. But you'd be hard-pressed to find better portuguese food anywhere. Yes, anywhere.

Ambiance? Not so much... The place is run down and dirty, with an ugly bar, struggling furniture and a distinct lack of menus. The owner, Fernando (go figure) is usually quite merry - to the point where his daughter pretty much runs the show. Fernando's English might be okay, but he mumbles so badly when he gets 'merry' that you might not follow him.

All of this is likely to put off most visitors. But the food... Well, that's what Fernando's is all about. During our visit we started with small plates of calamari, chicken livers and chorizo; followed by toasted portuguese rolls, quartered chickens, chips, salad and finally prawns. To me the highlight was the prawns, which were large and succulent, but the chicken shouldn't be dismissed either. Fernando's periperi sauce is mild yet full of flavour, and every single dish simply blew us away.

This is not a restaurant for the faint-hearted, conservative or hesitant patron. Fernando's is a dive on the fringes of acceptability that delivers top-notch food, despite everything else. If you want a great meal at an excellent price, and don't mind the setting too much, go and enjoy it. But just don't think of it as a restaurant in the traditional sense - Fernando's is much more of an experience than just a normal restaurant.

Oh, and it is open for lunch too, though it can get quite busy with local businessmen during the week - clearly they've cottoned onto the place... But lunch might be the more sanitised way to experience Fernando's for the first time, though we prefer it when the darkness helps to hide some of the cracks.

Highly recommended for the food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WallasBallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fernandos Chicken House also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Fernandos Chicken House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing