We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying in this beautiful country manor at the beginning of our Garden Route drive. Had we know how beautiful this place would be, and what a lovely town Port Elizabeth is, we would have stayed more than the one night.
Upon arrival, the gates opened up to the beautiful grounds. We were met by a very accommodating young lady, who saw that our bags were taken to our room. We went upstairs, and opened our door to one of the most elegant rooms I had ever seen. I felt transported to a different time. They did not miss a trick in the design of this room. It was filled with beautiful antique furniture, but had more modern amenities, such as a small (stocked and complimentary) fridge, and a Nespresso coffee maker. The bed was beautiful and comfortable. At bedtime, they did a turn down with slippers and chocolates. The bathroom was incredible and huge, with a huge tub that inluded bath salts, a separate shower, and everything you can think of to make your stay comfortable. There was a multitue of cabinetry, including a lovely vanity. Our suite opened up to a balcony which overlooked the lush garden.
We had dinner in the beautifully appointed dining room, where the food was delicious, and the service was attentive without being hovering. The dining room is small and intimate, and we had some wonderful dinner conversation with two other guests.
After a peaceful night's sleep, we awoke to a full breakfast buffet, which also included a menu with delicious choices. I had a wonderful eggs Benedict.
I would have loved to check out all the other suites, but the downstairs rooms were just beautiful, with antiques everywhere.
I cannot say enough about the ambiance and service of Hacklewood Country House. If we ever visit South Africa again, we will definitely have a return visit to this charming Victorian home.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sharonw709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineMarketer, Online Marketing Co-ordinator at Hacklewood Hill Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time out to write this incredible review about our Hacklewood Hill Country House.

From the day we opened our doors at Hacklewood the idea was to keep the originality of the vintage house, where guests would be transported into a different era. A lot of labour has gone into this ideal. In fact many of the antics were individually sought out by our lovely interior designer, Alison Van zijl. This being said we still wanted to provide our guests with modern conveniences for their desired comfort. We are therefore incredibly thrilled to here that that this was in fact your experience at our guest house.

We hope to see you on your next South African Visit.

Warm Regards,
The Hacklewood Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Once you have passed the gate and are in the garden you get a good feeling of you have arrived to a place that is something extra. The friendly and warm personal welcome make you feel like home. The rooms are nice furnished and the bathroom well equiped. After having had dinner and breakfast it is easy to yearn for next time to stay at Hacklwood Hill Country House.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anders E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Lovely Victorian ambiance but not really suited to the business traveller. Have stayed here twice but next time I'll be looking for an alternative. The rooms do not have any table / desk / workstation so the business traveller's laptop becomes exactly that - a lap top. Rooms clean and a little over the top on period finishes (a 4-poster bath?), restaurant service slow, food good and very well plated, but small portions. Well suited to the leisure market but I'm sure the business traveller will find better options.

Room Tip: Beware of noisy heaters that wake you up each time they switch on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I took my parents to lunch on Mothers day at the restaurant - the service was great, the food was delicious - definitely PE's best kept secret! The dining room and reception area were very cosy and welcoming. Will definitely be back for more!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliceBonadei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We only had 1 night here and wished we could have stayed longer. Such a beautiful place and restaurant was superb for both dinner and breakfast. Just loved everything about it - the building, the room, the HUGE bathroom, the beautiful decor and the food. Absolutely no complaints

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikNakRoyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel in January having just flown in and before we went onto Safari.
Our room was nicely decorated with a large bathroom and the staff were very friendly and helpful
The hotel was in a very peaceful location, although this did mean that there wasn’t much nearby, we ate in the hotel that night and the food was very good, however if you were there for more than one night you would probably want a car or to use Taxis. Port Elizabeth is a good “gateway” location to get to the many game reserves or the garden route but there isn’t much to see in the town itself

Room Tip: All rooms are individual but a good standard throughout
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mm29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

An amazing experience! We stayed only one night at the end of the Garden Route, before continuing on safari. The Edwardian splendour of our room (and bathroom!) was something we have never experienced even in the UK. Our evening meal was excellent - and Paul's attention to detail was impeccable. We would certainly recommend the hotel and the restaurant.

Have no fear - inspte of the Edwardian splendour it is air conditioned!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
4.4 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
518 reviews
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
5.3 mi away
Isango Gate Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
3 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
373 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacklewood Hill Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacklewood Hill Country House

Address: 152 Prospect Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port Elizabeth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: £100 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacklewood Hill Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1898, and nestled in a lush English garden setting in the leafy suburb of Walmer, Hacklewood Hill is one of the few remaining Victorian Manor Houses in the city, and as such retains much of the elegance and grace it would have boasted when its first inhabitants – a young doctor and his family – once lived here. Guests are greeted with intricately stained glass doors, gleaming wooden floors and the gentle sheen of wooden banisters lovingly buffed and polished for more than a century. Wandering around the house’s two reception rooms, your eye naturally gravitates from one fascinating period piece to another. A black and white checkerboard tiled veranda overlooks a sparkling swimming pool, perfect for leisurely dips on hot summer days – while the well-established garden beckons for a quiet stroll or perhaps even a civilised game of croquet on the lawn. The more energetic can opt for a gentlemanly game of tennis or just choose a secluded spot in the garden to enjoy the abundant birdlife which calls the grounds of Hacklewood home. The manor house’s eight luxury en suite rooms which are equally as enticing, especially as each so perfectly captures the essence of the Victorian Age. Each is individually decorated in palettes ranging from pastel blues and rose bedecked pinks to more masculine browns and reds. As a result, each room has its own unique character and returning guests will enjoy experiencing them all, and will, no doubt, be loath to pick a favourite at the end. In order to truly experience Hacklewood Hill at the height of its stately Victorian glory, guests need to make a point of opting for at least one dinner at the house’s five star restaurant. The dining room’s magnificent chandelier lights, to full perfection the cut glass, crystal goblets, starched linen and full silver service on the tables below, while superbly trained waiters serve a splendid array of cordon bleu dishes that emanate from the kitchen. Little wonder that the restaurant has garnered itself a slew of fine dining awards and has become a firm favourite on the Port Elizabeth dining scene – not only for its exquisite dinners, but also full English breakfasts, High Tea's and light lunches. For a thoroughly enjoyable trip back to a time when days were long and unhurried, furnishings were beautiful and handmade, and every meal was an occasion to use only the best china and silverware, guests need look no further than Hacklewood Hill Country House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hacklewood Hill Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacklewood Hill Country House Hotel Port Elizabeth
Hacklewood Hill Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing