We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Elizabeth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shamwari Bayethe Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A very special experience!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Bayethe tented camp for 5 nights. Though quite extravagant, we wanted the best chance to see as many animals on the game drives as possible...and boy did we!
We witnessed a kill [cheetah killing an eland] , saw back and white rhino, were almost trampled by a bull elephant, saw lion cubs eating a warthog, got on foot to be very close to cheetah, saw giraffes, and various birds. Ben, our host and game driver was outstanding, with fantastic knowledge of the terrain and the animals. No drive with him was without excitement.
The tented camps were absolute tented luxury! A private plunge pool, and a beautiful outside deck were a lovely sanctuary where monkeys would visit us from time to time.
I especially loved the outside shower, and the double sinks in the bathroom were lovely!
The meals were delicious, abundant and varied, and the wine flowed. We were never hungry or thirsty and really felt special.
I would return in a heartbeat to Bayethe! Excitement, luxury, nature, and beauty, all rolled into one. Amazing!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
136
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Will seek to review safari experience elsewhere, but safe to say Bayethe deserves all of the other very high ratings in this forum. Meticulous and generous staff and service, combined with fine meals and overall relaxed atmosphere earns my highest recommendation. Rooms well apportioned and unique - electric heating in beds for the winter, plenty of hot water and private dipping pools and deck with each "luxury tent". If you are not so adventurous for the private outdoor shower, there's always the bathtub indoors... Plenty of free wifi in and around main lodge, but not in rooms - but you're not on safari for the wifi, except to update the Facebook page with the awesome photos from the game drive, are you?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregOh-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We just returned home after 3 wonderful nights at Bayethe lodge. We are South African and have experienced game lodges before, but Bayethe blew us away and totally exceeded our expectations! From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty - no request was too great and the friendly staff all made us feel welcome. We were initially a little concerned about staying in 'tented accommodation' in winter but soon discovered how wrong we were - the rooms have central heating and there are lovely electric blankets on the huge, comfortable beds! The morning game drives were very chilly but we were provided with hot water bottles and blankets, which was a lovely touch.

The attention to detail is fantastic - from hot chocolate, sherry and hot towels when we returned from our drives to the sundowners at sunset in the bush! Bliss!

The food was amazing.. We loved the South African additions to the menu and the waiters and waitresses were wonderful.

Special mention must go to our game ranger, Vuyo, who we can't recommend enough! He was so knowledgable, friendly and made us feel very safe during our game viewing experiences (even when completely surrounded by elephants!) His natural ability for tracking the animals and predicting their behaviour (not to mention his spectacular eyesight!) meant we were able to spot all the animals we had hoped for and more. We stayed at Bayethe for three nights and on our second full day Vuyo took us out on a drive for the whole day, which was magical. He packed a picnic for us which we enjoyed for lunch overlooking the park. Quite honestly we can't praise him enough!

Next year we hope to go back to Bayethe and will put in a special request for Vuyo to be our ranger!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tara-Lyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Bayethe Tented Camp in October 2013. Everything about this place is absolutely fastastic. We have travelled extensively all over the world including other places in Africa and Bayethe is our favourite place so far. The "tents" were gorgeous. Beautifully decorated with a full luxurious bathroom (indoor tub and outdoor shower). Colourful flower petals were placed around the room on a daily basis (one flower on each folded towel even!). I am quite picky and often hard to please, but this resort paid exceptional attention to even the smallest detail. We had our own private plunge pool on our deck overlooking the bushveld. It was all very private and we felt like we were alone in the African bush (but never unsafe). The food was excellent and varied. Better than most restaurants we have been to. Our ranger, Richard, was out of this world. He was so knowledgeable and fun. After many years at the job, he was just as exicted as we were to watch a cheetah chase or find the leopard we had been searching for. He ate meals with our small group as well which was a great touch and a good way to get to know what life there is really like. Game viewing was awesome. We saw everything we had set out to see and more. Richard went out of his way to find every animal that our group wanted to see so that no one left feeling they had missed something. The safari vehichles were very comfortable. Each guest had their own warm blanket and rain poncho in a cubby beside them if needed (the temperature varied widely during our stay and we went from shorts and t shirts to jackets and gloves). There was always a hot drink and warm towel waiting for us after game drives. We even got cookies in the shape of elephants to tide us over on our trip back to the airport. I cannot recommend this place more highly. Definitely the highlight of our trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAM1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitio de Calahonda, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Realy enjoyed our two nigth stay. Should stay one more nigth. Great to see wild animals. Here we realise, that our first "safari" at Garden Route game lodge was not real. There the feed the animals. In Shamwari they have to hunt to survive. Our game drive guide was Richard was great and he found us 4 out of big 5. And now I know, what kind tent I like to stay! I can recomend Shamwari for anyone anyday!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the the Bayethe lodge. On arrival we were told we would be treated like royalty. Now I am not sure how royalty is treated. But we were certainly looked after.
The service was excellent. The accommodation clean and comfortable. The food excellent and plentiful.
As for the game drives (which is why you go on safari). Our ranger Hedmond got us closer to all the game than we ever thought possible without ever putting us in danger.
This was definitely the trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil-Bram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

we stayed here for three nights from the 22 May onwards. we chose shamwari because we read a lot of not so good reviews of other game lodges saying they were like glorified zoos. we had not done any other African game reserve trip prior to this one and wanted it to be a really good one. shamwari was more expensive, a lot more expensive than the others but all the reviews said only good things about it.
not only did shamwari bayethe match those expectations, but exceeded then by leaps and bounds. our trip was a truly magical experience. shamwari is a place which had managed to bring wildlife back to a place where it had ceased to exist, the animals roam free, it is a place where ones soul connects back where it should, to nature!
bayethe lodge and the rooms were beautiful, the staff wonderful, and the food( in spite of us being vegetarian) absolutely amazing!
a special mention has to be given to our ranger aptly named Headman, who was brilliant. he is like an encyclopedia of natural knowledge.thank you! we saw everything from monkeys, mongoose, lots of birds, various antelope, elephants, zebra, giraffe, warthogs, black rhino, white rhino, cheetah, hippo and lions, even lions eating their kill.
An unforgettable trip. well worth it. if you are thinking about shamwari, stop thinking and book it!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Elizabeth
4.5 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
349 reviews
10.1 mi away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,067 reviews
12.3 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 29 in Grahamstown
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
500 reviews
9.0 mi away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
366 reviews
24.9 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamwari Bayethe Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamwari Bayethe Lodge

Property: Shamwari Bayethe Lodge
Address: Between Grahamstown & Port Elizabeth | Off the N2, Port Elizabeth 6130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Port Elizabeth
Hotel Class:5 star — Shamwari Bayethe Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shamwari Game Reserve - The Pride of the Eastern Cape!Bayethe Lodge offers the ultimate in Luxury Tented Accommodation.Bayethe is a splendid stone walled & thatch roofed Lodge with a large Deck Area overlooking a Waterhole. There is a double volume Lounge & Dining Area which spills out onto the Deck which is adjacent to the outside Boma for traditional fireside Dining under the stars. The 9 Luxury Tents are camouflaged under trees allowing for ample privacy & unsurpassed comforts. Each Tent is Air-Conditioned & heated & has an En-Suite Bathroom, Shower, private Plunge Pool & viewing Deck.The 3 Premier Tents at Bayethe Hills are the ultimate in tented luxury. These Tents offer the additional luxuries of a Fireplace, Satellite TV, Plunge Pool & Hammocks suspended out of the wooden Decks. Shamwari, meaning “my friend” in Shona, is the pinnacle of private game reserves and home to the coveted Big 5. Stretching 25,000 hectares over a malaria free landscape, it offers an award-winning nature experience and is one of the largest private conservation initiatives in Southern Africa. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing