We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for the airport”
Review of Paxton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paxton Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed here because it was convenient for the airport as we were arriving on an evening flight. The hotel is a fairly typical business type hotel. The staff are friendly enough and reasonably efficient (apart from the bar). The hotel only serves breakfast which is surprising. The breakfast was pleasant and the staff friendly and efficient. The rooms are a decent size with decent furnishings, all very typical of a corporate hotel. The room I had was at the front of the hotel and you do get some road noise in the morning. We did have a drink in the bar but the service was slow and I think we were the only ones there. They did have a log fire in the bar area which was very welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed over for one night, on Sunday evening. Comfortable room, everything that is needed. But very noisy, both exterior ( harbouur traffic) and interior ( neighbour or hotel facilities?). Not expected from 4 star establishment!

Room Tip: Away from main route and harbour?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Lovely weekend had in PE. Top service received from the Paxton Hotel. Will definitely stay there when next in PE. Nicelyu situated, close to a small shopping centre and close to the beach front where we visited the Boardwalk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CaileyMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Staff are very helpfull and polite. Rooms are luxurious although a bit of noise coming from adjacent rooms. Food was EXCELLENT catering for my special dietary needs. Lounge is nice for having meetings in as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanlieDurbanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was nothing special. We chose it as a stop over and close to the airport. We had hoped to spend the evening wandering around the town but the staff at the hotel told us it was not a good idea walking around the town at night. We thought they served dinner but the place was dead.
The rooms were nice and the beds clean and comfortable which is all we needed really. Other reviews comment on the location etc and this may have been a poor choice for our expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The stay at the Paxton Hotel was pleasant and comfortable. The hotel offers the best value off all the hotels on the PE beach front.

I found the hotel very neat, great upkeep and maintenance - it still feels new, and appropriately located.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Another good South African hotel on our tour but it was just too far out of town and away from the seafront area. The view is over the industrial harbour. There is a pool but it is tiny for a hotel of that size. Rooms were spacious and very comfortable .There was no free internet in the rooms and the prices charged to connect were ridiculous . You could access wifi in the lobby (in certain corners ). We did find a nice restaurant and cocktail bar across the car park so it was ok for a one night visit . Breakfast was good .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Summerstrand
490 reviews
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
206 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
527 reviews
1.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paxton Hotel

Address: Carnarvon Place & Beach Road | Humerail, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: £43 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paxton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paxton Hotel is situated in Port Elizabeth, affectionately known as the 'Friendly City' of South Africa.The hotel overlooks the harbour offering magnificent views ofAlgoa Bay.This beachfront hotel offers luxury accommodation for the discerning traveller and has very proudly won the AA Travel Awards for the 'Best Commercial Hotel' in South Africa, for four consecutive years. The Hotel is conveniently situated close to the airport, restaurants, gym, The Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Complex and many beautiful beaches.We offer special packages for families, younger generations and online specials as well as value for money deals on weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Paxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paxton Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing