We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle”
Review of Paxton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paxton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“In the middle”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Staff and room excellent, the hotel is situated overlooking the docks and is between the town centre (15 minute walk) and the beach area (5 minutes by car).
No evening restaurant, however you could order from the room menu and eat either in your room or what is their breakfast room.
Small swimming pool to the front
We used it as an overnight stop so it served its purpose.
Free parking to the rear.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have the views over the sea front area but it is mainly docklands
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    108
    65
    11
    11
See reviews for
57
99
9
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenton On Sea
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Paxton hotel, it was well worth our money spent, had a very luxurious time and all the staff made us feel at home and always willing to help. A very professional hotel and very friendly staff. We will definitely be back again. Rooms were perfect and kept clean every day, the food was so tasty and well presented. Thank you to all the staff at Paxton hotel, see you again sometime.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Clean and beautiful rooms. Good food and good service provided by the friendly staff. Breakfast is really nice with lot of options. Taxis or cabs ca be arranged on request to tour the city. Good for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 406amitr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erding, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed in this Hotel just for 1 Night, but we had a wonderful night :-). The rooms are so comfortable and clean, the breakfast buffet was amazing, such a big variety. The staff is so helpful. Thx for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Basti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Loved our stay a month ago so back again tonight. Lovely feel to Hotel - from chocolate on arrival to excellent room service. Requested vegetarian meal - was brought to room by very proud chef (and with good reason). Can't go wrong with this choice.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We only had a brief stay at this hotel but it was very clean and comfortable and ideal for our needs, although perhaps mainly aimed at business travellers. We noted the manager taking a personal interest in breakfast arrangements in the morning - which was good to see.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maybeormaybenot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Comfortable hotel with spacious and modern rooms. Good air conditioning. Pleasant staff, Parking not a problem for us; there is a another car park right behind the hotel. We actually came by train (a great experience) and the hotel is close to PE station. Not so convenient if you want to a quick dip in the sea. In our experience better value than a number of b&b's.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ombuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
1.2 mi away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#16 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
432 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
483 reviews
1.5 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#25 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paxton Hotel

Property: Paxton Hotel
Address: Carnarvon Place & Beach Road | Humerail, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Paxton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paxton Hotel is situated in Port Elizabeth, affectionately known as the 'Friendly City' of South Africa.The hotel overlooks the harbour offering magnificent views ofAlgoa Bay.This beachfront hotel offers luxury accommodation for the discerning traveller and has very proudly won the AA Travel Awards for the 'Best Commercial Hotel' in South Africa, for four consecutive years. The Hotel is conveniently situated close to the airport, restaurants, gym, The Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Complex and many beautiful beaches.We offer special packages for families, younger generations and online specials as well as value for money deals on weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Paxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paxton Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing