We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveller rating
180
170
74
16
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
170
74
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews virgin active gym spar supermarket i highly recommend this hotel one night an excellent hotel breakfast buffet comfortable room four star business trip enjoyed my stay close to the airport convenient location stayed for nights short stay south africa pleasant stay cape town
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 453 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We have stayed here before on several occasions, this however was the last stay. on several occasions there has been issues, from a S/C unit that screeched all night ling to being stuck in the elevator. The hotel managed to fail at the most simple requests. like a non smoking room after confirming by phone that we would have one. the last straw was when they put us in a room where upon check-in there was feces in the toilet, and hair in the shower drain, like it was never cleaned.

Since then we have been going to the Radison.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank LifeRemotely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSAPE, Owner at Paxton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear Mr Mans (LifeRemotely)

You do seem to do things rather "remotely". Why are you only posting a review now, 6 months after your stay with us? It will be difficult to investigate and explain any possible shortcomings on our part now. Nonetheless we thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback. We aim to meet and exceed our guest's expectations and regret that this was not achieved during your stay.

Any issues with an air-condition, especially if they are noisy, are always reported to our maintenance department as soon as they are brought to our attention. Usually, the supplier makes the necessary repair adjustments the next day. I am certain we followed this procedure in your case.

The same goes for the elevator of course. If the elevator came to a halt, which can happen for security reasons, it is always attended to immediately. We use a very reputable company called "Schindler" and I can assure you that our service maintenance programme is completely up to date and of the highest standard.

As for not receiving a non-smoking room, we apologize if this was the case, but now, more than 6 months later it is hard to follow up on. I can assure you though that we make every effort to allocate our rooms to the full satisfaction of all our guests. Occasionally this is not possible and we sincerely apologize if this was so in your case.

Lastly, I would like to respond to your complaint about an unclean toilet and shower drain. Obviously, I cannot respond to this complaint 6 months later but I can promise you that our hotel is known for its cleanliness and great service and we are very sad to hear that we did not meet your standards. We receive many comments about the cleanliness of our hotel and I assure you that, should this have been so, it will not happen again.

Once again, we appreciate all the feedback you have provided and we will use all points mentioned in a positive manner by creating awareness amongst our staff of the importance to provide exceptional service to all our guests at all times, even if and perhaps especially when mistakes do happen.

We trust that your next stay with us will be pleasant and look forward to welcoming you back.

With kindest regards

Werner Peterseil
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

Lovely toom but we were woken at 6 each morning by noise made by staff preparing diningroom for breakfast ( our room was on 1st floor )
We ordered beef curry from room service and it was terrible.
Hotel well situated.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank IngridFouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSAPE, Assistant to revenue manager at Paxton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Good Day Mrs Fouche

Thank you for your review and for choosing the Paxton Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable feedback. We apologise that several things about your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your concerns have been passed on to our Dining room and Kitchen Managers. We do hope to welcome you back to improved services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

The superb interior decor at The Paxton Hotel is not only welcoming; it creates an excellent environment for relaxing after a good hard day. The free 1GB of data per night spent is incredibly awesome.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bhulospt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSAPE, Assistant to revenue manager at Paxton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Good Day

Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing the Paxton Hotel. We are pleased to hear that our staff provided such memorable service and that they made an impact on you during your stay with us. We do hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards

The Paxton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Got into the Hotel after 12pm at night- however still manager on duty- help me quick and efficient. Room was nice and big, Big screen Flat TV, place for work with laptop too and convenient bathroom with both bath and shower- space in the closet for my clothes. Breakfast was included in the rate and had nice spread of full English breakfast with coffee and tea . Juices on tap as well.

Room Tip: choose sea facing for beautiful view
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jacques S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSAPE, Assistant to revenue manager at Paxton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Good day Jacques

A warm Paxton welcome to you as a first time guest to our Hotel. Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing the Paxton Hotel. We are pleased to hear that our staff provided such memorable service and that they made an impact on you during your stay with us. We do hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Ideally situated and very clean. reception staff pleasant . The only problem is the noise from other rooms could be heard in my room. The food was good but can be better. My room safe was not working for the duration of my stay

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mphoj2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSAPE, Assistant to revenue Manager at Paxton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Good Day

A warm Paxton welcome to you and thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing the Paxton Hotel. We are pleased to hear that our staff provided such memorable service and that they made an impact on you during your stay with us.. We apologise that several things about your stay did not meet your expectations. We do hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards
The Paxton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews