We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non chain hotel with a unique style”
Review of Kelway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kelway Hotel
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I have stayed a few times over the last 3 years and it is a nice, non corporate hotel.

This time though a couple of positives and negatives:

Free wifi now
Upgraded rooms
Consistent friendly staff

But

Bathrooms smaller than ibis Europe in the updated room I seem to have
Staff munching their way through the buffet whisker paying guests still there - I have no objection to them having something to eat but not when paying guests are there.

Winter menu seems limited and rosti comes from the freezer?

But still better han others ovetall

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CliveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Kelway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed for one night en route to the garden route. The room was cozy with a view over the sea. The staff were helpful. It was the quiet season but we were made very welcome. Breakfast was lovely. The pool looked small.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank samanthak27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Good hotel for a short or casual stay. The major interest of this hotel is its restaurant, very great international food! The bedrooms were modern, well appointed, spacious and clean. The swimming pool area is small but ok for a sun bath or a quick swim to refresh ourselves. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank florindaRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Being in Port Elizabeth on business for the weekend, I stayed at The Kelway Hotel. My stay was cosy and enjoyable. Breakfast in the morning was relaxing and of good quality. I eat at the restaurant once and it was great. Had a juicy and delicious burger with egg + bacon + cheese, veg and chips for only R50 (would of eaten there every night if it wasn’t for prior arrangements). The staff was friendly and the management was fantastic. Value for money, The Kelway Hotel punches above its weight class.

Room Tip: Get a see facing room.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheJMan1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We first had our Year End Function there 2 years ago, fantastic location with the view of the ocean. We recently had our company's Roadshow in April and the conference room was up to standard but for the second time their food was not. I wanted to prove myself wrong the first time but the second time was the same, their food was still not good. The place on its own is beautiful with a partio with benches where you would sit and admire the scenery of the harbour with friends near a bar area. Their rest rooms where not tidy, I'm afraid I will not consider it for any other functions in future as I had too many complaints from my colleagues.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khusela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Very tired hotel, it may have seen better days and is long overdue refurbishment. There was a wedding party using the dining room the evening of our stay, the only food on offer for paying guests that evening was the remains of a buffet and little else. Our room had a balcony, unfortunatly it was home to a flock pigeons who would not leave and used it as their toilet. I am unable to say anything positive about this hotel other than that there are lots of other hotels in Port Elizabeth that are just as convenient for the airport and seafront and I wish we had used one of them.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WJL411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I didn't like this hotel for the following reasons:

1. My room was very dark as it looked out onto a high, sheer wall just feet away.

2. When I escaped the depressing atmosphere to sit on the balcony outside the restaurant, staff would not deliver my suitcase to my room as I was not there.

3. The bar area was full of smokers.

4. Breakfast started much later than it should have done, with the result that we had a rather inadequate meal.

Perhaps I just had a particularly bad experience, but I definitely would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank Worldtravellerxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.2 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
326 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.0 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#25 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
53 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelway Hotel

Address: Brookes Hill Drive | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: £34 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned in Port Elizabeth, South Africa for business & leisure travelers. Situated just a few minutes from the airport, and within walking distance to popular tourist attractions and swimming beaches. This multi graded 3 & 4 star timber structured hotel was built in 2004 & offers 61 ensuite rooms, conference facilities, secure parking & restaurant where breakfast, lunch or dinner can be enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kelway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelway Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing