We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Kelway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kelway Hotel
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We only stayed in this hotel for one night having just arrived in SA and before moving on to Addo the following day. On arrival, the staff were welcoming and provided us with a bottle of champagne as we were newly weds, which we greatly appreciated! The room was small but clean, breakfast was very nice and the facilites were good overall.

Having read other reviews on this hotel, i agree it needs updating and probably should be considered 3 star rather than 4 star, however the hotel is not a bad as they make out in my opinion (but it is just an opinion). I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imafairy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Kelway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013

We arrived before 10:00 and the front desk staff prioritized the cleaning of our room so we could check-in early. The room was clean, modern, and well appointed. Bathroom was a little small but the shower was fantastic. Breakfast was special and we looked forward to it everyday. We would definitely stay again if we visit PE in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed one night here and were pleased with the standard we got for the money we payed.
You get what you pay for here and it delivers what it promises.
Service was good and friendly, room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was above average.
This is a place to stay at for a hassle free good night sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripTrappTrull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Upon arrival we were given a very warm welcome. Our room was very bigand had loads of wardrobe space. The bed was very comfortable and the linen was crisp and white. The bathroom was clean but no window. As for the breakfast, this was a buffet style layout but you had to wait for someone to cook the eggs by which time all your other coices had gone cold. However, the staff were all friendly and helpful. I would definatly stay there again. My only critism would be for the pigeons on the balcomy to be relocated as they woke us up vey early.

Room Tip: Choose a seaview room as the rooms at the back have no view
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Booked this hotel online and arrived with a bit of anticipation. Great location in the heart of Port Elizabeth. Close to great restaurants and the ocean. Great rooms, the bathrooms a tad small but well stocked. I had a room with a view of ocean and a balcony, made the whole experience even better. The web doesn't do it justice, this is a gem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view. Worth the extra.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed three nights. Got given probably the best room in the hotel with excellent facilities. Only quibble was that we were kept awake by two pigeons scrambling on the roof all night! Restaurant was good and offered god value but there are many other choices just around the corner.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Jtrayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We stayed here for one night en route to the garden route. Can't say much about the surrounding area as we didn't explore, but distance from the airport is only 10minutes or so. Room was clean. Not huge but definitely plenty of room for the 2 of us, and with a balcony overlooking the pool (looked good but didn't try it) and out onto the beach. The bathroom is small but that didn't bother us. Has decent free wifi and parking. Breakfast was included but we didn't eat much. We got there around 9:30am and there was almost no one left, the hot food hasn't been replenished so we just had some generic fruit salad and left. We ate at the restaurant for dinner, which turned out to be a buffet that night. Food was average, nothing amazing but quite a few options. Dessert was your typical fruit salad and cake. Would recommend this hotel if you are flying into PE and want somewhere close to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoriakm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.2 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
326 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.0 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#25 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
53 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#12 of 13 in Summerstrand
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelway Hotel

Address: Brookes Hill Drive | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: £34 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned in Port Elizabeth, South Africa for business & leisure travelers. Situated just a few minutes from the airport, and within walking distance to popular tourist attractions and swimming beaches. This multi graded 3 & 4 star timber structured hotel was built in 2004 & offers 61 ensuite rooms, conference facilities, secure parking & restaurant where breakfast, lunch or dinner can be enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kelway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelway Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing