We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near beach”
Review of Kelway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kelway Hotel
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
296 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Nice hotel near beach”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Lovely hotel, and our room had a balcony, which gave great views of the ocean and the sunset. The pool area looked lovely, but it was too cold for a swim.

The room was well appointed, with a very comfortable bed. One thing that amused me was the height of the toilet - it was SO far off the ground! I am tall (5' 9"), and my feet only just touched the floor, so I got the giggles at the thought of shorter people with their feet swinging!

We ate at the hotel restaurant, and the food was delicious. It was served promptly and efficiently by very friendly staff. The breakfast was also very good the next morning.

You can smoke in the bar area, which alarmed some of the visitors, but there is also a nice balcony area outside, where we preferred to go.

Good hotel with above average service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kid_U_Not58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    96
    65
    17
    6
See reviews for
30
102
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nice position above the beachfront , quite picturesque. Very good restaurant and a restaurant and coffee bar complex a 100 metres down the road on the beachfront. My room was a comfortable double (paid single)with a balcony which gave stunning beach views. If there was a fault it was that the en-suite had a shower and not a bath but this is a personal preference and Port Elizabeth does have a water prioblem. The staff were very helpful, I really did not have a problem andf would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eunice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Hotel looks nice from the outside perched on hill overlooking the sea. When you get in the hotel it does not live up to expectations. Having said that it is comfortable if not a bit basic. The room I had towards the back of the hotel was noisy with a path outside and people walking past my window. There was also a road just at the back of the hotel that had traffic that woke me up early. All in all it was okay for one night.

Room Tip: Front of hotel not the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

The photo's on the website made this hotel seem absolutely stunning... What a disappointment arriving at the hotel to find it looked nothing like the pictures! The furniture was broken, the rooms stank of smoke, our booking was incorrect, wifi didn't work... The entire hotel needs some carpet cleaner! Won't ever stay there again

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tarryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here for one night - the room was smart and comfortable and had a balcony. There is a bar and restaurant and the fact the hotel is built of wooden logs gives it a distinctive and charming feel. The breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danco28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel has very friendly staff, stayed there for 1 evening only, but wonderful views over the bay, especially from the bar, clean and excellent value for money. Close to walk to the beach and in a safe area. Would definitely recommend for stop overs in PE.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank _Corne_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Three nights a the Kalway PE

After some searching for alternative accommodation for my business trips in PE, I gave the Kalway a chance, and I'm glad I did.

Check in was efficient and friendly
Stayed in room 30 with a balcony, better value overall that those main strewn hotel groups down the road. Lovely view of the sea and harbor.

Value for money 10 out of 5 stars. You can't find a 4star hotel at close to these rates in PE.

Criticism: breakfast service needs addressing, the ladies stand in groups discussing major issues and not attending to the guests coffee and plates very well. Served myself coffee every morning with other guests while the servers chatted at the counter. Need some management intervention in the breakfast room.

Rooms while not new, are top end, clean and more than functional. Bathrooms are 5 star with a shower built for more than two ...

Check out was efficient well done.

Moving onto another hotel tonight as they are full and my trip was extended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.2 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#13 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelway Hotel

Property: Kelway Hotel
Address: Brookes Hill Drive | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned in Port Elizabeth, South Africa for business & leisure travelers. Situated just a few minutes from the airport, and within walking distance to popular tourist attractions and swimming beaches. This multi graded 3 & 4 star timber structured hotel was built in 2004 & offers 61 ensuite rooms, conference facilities, secure parking & restaurant where breakfast, lunch or dinner can be enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kelway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelway Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing