We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway”
Review of Thunzi Bush Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thunzi Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Really lovely accommodation which was incredibly well stocked for self catering. Extremely comfy beds and bedding. Quiet, restful and enjoyable weekend away set in beautiful surrounds. Thank you :-)
We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Deon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calkyva, Owner at Thunzi Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Thunzi Bush Lodge and for your excellant review, we always love to hear about our guests stay. We are happy to see that you are a local and hope to see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

If you are looking for a retreat close to P.E., this is the one! You can take a walk within the resort or at the beach, watch the birds and the deers from your terace. Very nice cottage, privacy, own braai place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Christa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calkyva, Owner at Thunzi Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We re so happy that you saw the monkeys playing and the bushbuck in the fields. They are coming out more and more now that it is Spring. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in South Africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This accommodation was superb in the fact that it had all amenities expected from a self catering unit and more inclusive of its own private boma. Quiet and situated in the middle of the bush, it made for a perfect relaxing getaway. The pool looked very nice and although cold when we were there i am sure it would be awesome in summer. There are short walks to go on where plenty of bird-life can be seen as well as its 2 km away from the beach. A wonderful stay and we will be back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Svenmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calkyva, Owner at Thunzi Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your very positive review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Thunzi and made use of all our amenities in the chalet as well as your private boma area.

We look forward to seeing you in Summer when you can relax at the "Lazy Lizard" swimming pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

i was actually not impressed with your facility, expected much more for the money we paid to stay there, been to many other places that were much better, one of the outside lights were working, your brochure has food on it when all meals are self catering, not even a place to buy anything, the room was average not wow. i found the lady that recieved us aloof and did not even ask how our stay was

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calkyva, Owner at Thunzi Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your review and it is very unfortunate that your stay was not what you expected.

We have investigated all the matters that you were unhappy with and would like to apologise for the specific staff members attitude. It is not something that we tolerate and the staff member has been dealt with. We are well known for our staffs friendly attitude and eagerness to impress so this was a great disappointment to hear. We appreciate your honesty and letting me know about it.

Over the time of your stay we had a lot of rain and this effected the light switch. This has been repaired since.

We changed over to self-catering a few months ago and there are still a few brochures "out there" that advertise B&B, We apologise for this as we are constantly trying to make sure that we recall these brochures when we can as all our websites and current marketing is up to date. We do have supermarkets, bottle stores and a lovely farm stall only 7km from Thunzi should a guest wish to purchase their groceries. We also offer day picnics which can be pre-booked and delivered to your chalet or a special picnic spot will be done up for you on the estate grounds.

As all guests are important to us we would like the opportunity to host you at Thunzi again to show you what we are all about and to make sure that your stay is exactly what you expected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Accommodation 4 star, beautifully done out, stunning setting, if you are a Birder then you need to take you binoculars and your Bird Book. Cottages well spaced so you feel as if you are alone with Nature.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calkyva, Owner at Thunzi Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your review and I am so glad that you enjoyed the bird life and overall setting of Thunzi.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The all round service we received was great, while William was very accommodating with our requests. The cleaning staff was efficient and very inconspicuous making the whole experience divine.

The room was well set up with a beautiful view. As the weather was cool, we did not make use of the pool or took a walk to the dam.

The best part was the feeling of seclusion in nature. Unfortunately our units’ bathroom door was scraping on the floor making it difficult to close. I am sure it will be fixed soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Andre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calkyva, Owner at Thunzi Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your review and letting us know about your enjoyable stay. I am always pleased to hear that the staff were friendly and helpful and made sure that your stay was memorable and exactly what you expected.
Thank you for letting us know about the door, it was repaired after your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Thunzi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Beautiful view, clean quality lodge, only stayed one night,, not sure what activities there are for during the day. Think you can have pick nic etc.
Location is beautiful drive from PE....... Clean and

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Abraham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calkyva, Owner at Thunzi Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. One night is definitely not enough but as you are close to us we will be hoping to see you soon again.

Just to let you know we do offer picnics for our guests as well as day visitors from Tuesday to Saturday, as well as bass fishing, spa treatments, sand boarding, forest walks, bird watching and the beach is only 3km away.

See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
21.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
9.1 mi away
Kragga Kamma Game Park
Kragga Kamma Game Park
#6 of 83 in Port Elizabeth
97 reviews
65 mi away
Shamwari Bayethe Lodge
Shamwari Bayethe Lodge
#1 of 83 in Port Elizabeth
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 238 in Port Elizabeth
442 reviews
17.1 mi away
Island Way Villa - Luxury Accommodation
Island Way Villa - Luxury Accomm...
#3 of 83 in Port Elizabeth
86 reviews
20.3 mi away
Pine Lodge Resort & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunzi Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunzi Bush Lodge

Address: Maitland Road, Maitland | Maitland, Port Elizabeth 6018, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: £69 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thunzi Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunzi in isiXhosa means "in the shade," describing a typical lazy afternoon in the forest valley. This tranquil sanctuary of coastal forest can be found 20 minutes West of Port Elizabeth and is nestled at the base of a 44 hectare private valley overlooking a pristine and lush river wetland. Luxury 4* Self-catering Chalets are fully equipped and have their own private boma's nestled under a milkwood/acacia tree in the indigenous forest where family and friends can gather and enjoy a few drinks and braai (barbeque). Added extras for your convenience include various DSTV select, dressing gowns, air-conditioning, tea/coffee amenities, mini chocolates, heating, hair dryer, daily housekeeping service and laundry facilities. There is a free Wi-Fi hotspot at the reception area and cellphone reception throughout the estate. Guests can enjoy bird watching, bass fishing, forest walks, spa treatments as well as beach walks and sand boarding at the Maitland Beach only 3km from Thunzi. Gourmet picnics are on offer Tuesdays to Sundays and you don't have to be an overnight guest to enjoy this - day visitors more than are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Thunzi Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing