We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful”
Review of Thunzi Bush Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thunzi Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2006

We stayed for 2 nights and should have stayed longer. The cabins are magical, you feel if you are the only ones there. The view from bed is just trees and birds and walks in the ground are tranquil. Just down the road is the most stunning beach, miles of yellow sand and spectacular dunes. The food was great and we had a celebratary meal under the stars after we beat South Africa at cricket in Jo'burg. Had seen the other days live but watched the final nail biting hours with South Africans in a hotel bar in Port Elizabeth, they were generous losers. A great start to our trip along the Garden Route. We will return to SA, Jo'burg and Thunzi again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nesbittz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2006

On my travels through the Eastern Cape I was lucky enough to come across Thundzi whilst passing through Port Elizabeth. I can truly say that I was the winner on this stay as activities that ranged from lovely walks to the dam, bass fishing and the horse ride that Tren assisted me with allured me into spending another night at this most relaxing refuge. It is most certainly a must for any couples/tourists traveling through this area as there is a nature walk and Lion Park extremely close by.

A big thanks to the Thundzi staff for all their assistance.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I_say
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2006

We stayed at Thunzi Bush Lodge at the end of our trip from Cape Town and along the Garden Route. It really is like an oasis; one of the most relaxing and tranquil places we've stayed at, set amongst some amazing scenery. Tren and Mark were really friendly and so helpful with all the local activities and really made us feel welcome. The lodge is lovely, you can have breakfast on your balcony, and highly recommend having dinner in the open air forest clearing. Overall, we had a fabulous stay and would certainly recommend it.

4  Thank Lionel_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Helmut T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank DouweMinkemaSoest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank DesiS885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Elizabeth
9.1 mi away
Kragga Kamma Game Park
Kragga Kamma Game Park
#6 of 83 in Port Elizabeth
103 reviews
14.5 mi away
Intle Game Lodge
Intle Game Lodge
#1 of 3 in Loerie
39 reviews
17.1 mi away
Island Way Villa - Luxury Accommodation
Island Way Villa - Luxury Accomm...
#3 of 83 in Port Elizabeth
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65 mi away
Shamwari Bayethe Lodge
Shamwari Bayethe Lodge
#1 of 83 in Port Elizabeth
237 reviews
17.7 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 240 in Port Elizabeth
584 reviews
20.8 mi away
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunzi Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunzi Bush Lodge

Address: Maitland Road, Maitland | Maitland, Port Elizabeth 6018, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: £70 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thunzi Bush Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunzi in isiXhosa means "in the shade," describing a typical lazy afternoon in the forest valley. This tranquil sanctuary of coastal forest can be found 20 minutes West of Port Elizabeth and is nestled at the base of a 44 hectare private valley overlooking a pristine and lush river wetland. Luxury 4* Self-catering Chalets are fully equipped and have their own private boma's nestled under a milkwood/acacia tree in the indigenous forest where family and friends can gather and enjoy a few drinks and braai (barbeque). Added extras for your convenience include various DSTV select, dressing gowns, air-conditioning, tea/coffee amenities, mini chocolates, heating, hair dryer, daily housekeeping service and laundry facilities. There is a free Wi-Fi hotspot at the reception area and cellphone reception throughout the estate. Guests can enjoy bird watching, bass fishing, forest walks, spa treatments as well as beach walks and sand boarding at the Maitland Beach only 3km from Thunzi. Gourmet picnics are on offer Tuesdays to Sundays and you don't have to be an overnight guest to enjoy this - day visitors more than are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Thunzi Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing