We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Forest Hall Guest House
Ranked #1 of 229 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
1 review
“Wonderful Guesthouse”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The Service received was great!!The room was very comfortable and much detail and care was taken to ensure comfort. The location is great, close to everything you need, the grounds of the Guest House are wonderful, home away from home. And the breakfast rocks!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank U7435PYAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thanks for your review Alex
It is always great to receive feedback from guests on their experience at Forest Hall in order to improve our service and now that we are delivering the services required by our guests Glad you loved the breakfasts We hope to see you again here sometime soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    47
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
108
163
28
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had a really lovely stay at Forest Hall. We came straight from the airport as we were beginning our trip along the Garden Route and this was the perfect place to stay and get an excellent nights rest. The guest house full of character and the rooms were really nice, very clean and comfortable. The location was extremely safe, set in the very lovely private gardens of the guest house. James (the owner) was very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed and gave us advice on where to visit along our trip. Breakfast in the morning was also very nice. A really wonderful place to stay and I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thanks for this review Gavin. I trust you enjoyed your time down the Garden Route and were able to use some of my suggestions along the way Glad you enjoyed your night here at Forest Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The overall impression was good, the room was comfortable and clean.
The nice surprise was the Iron and ironing board in the room - this was apreciated as this is not otfen available.

I have confirmed with my company that this guest house can be used in future.

thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GregBouchier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thanks for your review Glad you found iron & ironing board helpful in the room We hope to be of assistance to you and your company in the future again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Beautiful setting in lovely safe neighbourhood. Friendly staff, including dogs. Individually furnished spacious rooms. Excellent English breakfast. Very good value for money. We will defnitely consider staying there again on our next visit to the Friendly City.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marius W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your very kind review We appreciate the positive feedback and glad you feel we offer a value for money stay.We look forward to welcoming you back to Forest Hall again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We loved our stay (our second) at Forest Hall. The rooms are clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. The garden with its wide range of birds is large and peaceful. If there's a downside, its the temptation to eat a large breakfast every morning. Will stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Really appreciate your review and your kind words about Forest Hall Thanks for coming back for your second time
Wonderful that you know and are able to appreciate the incredible variety of birds we have here at Forest Hall and spend some quiet time in our garden observing them .Hope to see you back here again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Forest Hall Guest House is, without question, the best B&B I have ever stayed in - the hospitality was superb, James and his staff could not have made my stay any more comfortable, enjoyable and tasteful. The room and ensuite were a breath of fresh air - spacious, tastefully presented and equipped with all the luxury one would want. The garden setting, the main home and all the guest rooms made for a perfect setting - almost like you were on a country estate. The breakfast, and the evening meal provided, could not have been better. James was incredibly helpful - transferring me from the airport and back again. I told him personally that this was without doubt the best B&B that I have ever visited.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Wow,! Thanks for the fabulous review. I am so pleased you chose Forest Hall on your visit to Port Elizabeth thanks to our Tripadvisor reviews. You were such a pleasure to have stay and pleased you enjoyed it here .Lets hope you are able to bring your family here someday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We spent 10 days at the guest house, and found our stay to be very comfortable and enjoyable. The hosts were so helpful and accommodating. The breakfasts were delicious, and evening meals we arranged were fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thanks so much for this It was really great having your group stay here, just sorry the weather wasn't so great when you were here .Wish you all every success with the pony showing. We hope to see you back at Forest Hall sometime again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
5.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
3.0 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
481 reviews
1.7 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#2 of 229 in Port Elizabeth
538 reviews
1.1 mi away
Millbury Guest House
Millbury Guest House
#4 of 229 in Port Elizabeth
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Hall Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Hall Guest House

Property: Forest Hall Guest House
Address: 84 River Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest Hall Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Hall Guest House is an affordable 4 star luxury guest house,set in an award winning 1'5 acre park-like treed garden with a Romanesque swimming pool with pool deck with loungers/umbrellas in the centrally positioned lush garden suburb of Walmer,Port Elizabeth.Tennis court and trampoline and second swimming pool.Conveniently close to PE airport,golf courses,pristine beaches,shopping malls,fantastic restaurants and all tourist attractions.Come relax & enjoy this unique farm-like setting in the city with birdsong,peace and tranquility.Ideal B&B/self catering accommodation for business,families,groups and tourists.All home comforts.Free Wifi.Delicious English breakfasts.Just 45 minutes drive to malaria free Addo Elephant Park and other Big 5 Game Parks.Shuttle service on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Forest Hall Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing