We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Peaceful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Forest Hall Guest House
Ranked #1 of 240 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We LOVE Forest Hall. The surroundings are tranquil and welcoming. The rooms have so many extras thought about caringly - welcoming sherry and chocolates, milk for tea, hot towel rails, candles for atmosphere and soft, clean linen. Thanks again for a wonderful stay and accommodating our 5 year old in the room with us. Best Regards, Beth Swanepoel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Hi Beth
Thanks for choosing Forest Hall on your return visit to Port Elizabeth We were sorry to have missed you whilst you were here but pleased you enjoyed another stay here .It is rewarding that guests do appreciate the little extras placed in the rooms and good to hear it is appreciated and noticed Hope to see you again sometime soon
Regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite which was amazing! it was luxurious, spacious with a huge bathroom. The breakfast was hearty and James was helpful and nice and informative. it was one of the best places we stayed on our great honeymoon vacation. We highly recommend the place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank guyrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hi Guy
Thanks so much for your positive and encouraging review I am so pleased you enjoyed your time here at Forest Hall and we were able to assist in making your honeymoon extra special by letting you have the upgraded honeymoon room Hope to see you back some day again
Regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our stay at the Forest Hall Guest House was (in one word) perfect! James kindly welcomed us even though we arrived well after the sunset, showed us our room and gave us all the required information. The day after, the breakfast was... awesome! It definitely was the best breakfast ever. The place is peaceful and the location is perfect - close to everything (a golf course, the coast and the Addo Elephant Park). Thank you James!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antoFR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thanks so much for this review .It was great meeting you and we trust you enjoyed the rest of your trip to SA
Regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We decided to stay here for our last night in South Africa, having picked up a flyer when we were at Addo Elephant Park. Forest Hall is in a desirable residential area of Port Elizabeth, near the coast and very convenient for the airport. We booked a superior room and after a very efficient and informative check-in by the guest house owner, James, we discovered that the room was in fact a studio with a fully-equipped kitchen as well as a sitting area. The house and grounds were beautiful and if the weather had been kinder we would have been able to enjoy the pool area and the gardens. James recommended restaurants in the vicinity and we had a very good reasonably priced meal in one of them. The breakfast was extensive and freshly cooked, with several choices of hot and cold dishes. If we are ever in Port Elizabeth again, we would stay here without hesitation, hopefully for longer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi Harry
We are so pleased your enjoyed your time at Forest Hall and were happy with our service and facilities. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your time in SA
Regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Guest House was literally loved by my mother in law. All rooms were filled with all possible details: umbrellas ready for the rain, each light switch with a description and the furniture arrangement was a composition. The host was always helpful and friendly. I liked that his office was located at a visible spot and not hidden somwhere in the back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SwissMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your review We are pleased you enjoyed your time at Forest Hall
regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a great place to stay, it is so quiet and peaceful. The rooms are very well appointed with everything that you will need, and the garden is lovely with huge trees and is the prefect place to relax. I was only sorry not to be able to spend more time there but cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi Sandy
Thank you for your review So pleased you enjoyed your stay here even though it was so quick Hopefully you can enjoy our garden setting more next time
Regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had an absolutely amazing stay and would come back anytime. The best guesthouse we stayed during our vacation in South Africa. Amazing!!!
If you are looking for great service,lovely accomodation in a beautiful area then forest hall is the best place to be

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 233Hilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Hi Hilde
Thanks so much for your fabulous review .So much appreciated and pleased you enjoyed your stay here so much at Forest Hall. It was great meeting you all here at Forest Hall and fascinating hearing your mom and her colleague's story of their careers .
We hope to see you back here one day again
Regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
0.6 mi away
Hacklewood Hill Country House
Hacklewood Hill Country House
#1 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
318 reviews
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.7 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 240 in Port Elizabeth
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Millbury Guest House
Millbury Guest House
#2 of 240 in Port Elizabeth
207 reviews
5.6 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
279 reviews
3.7 mi away
Conifer Beach House
Conifer Beach House
#5 of 240 in Port Elizabeth
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Hall Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Hall Guest House

Address: 84 River Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 240 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: £61 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest Hall Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Hall Guest House is an affordable 4 star luxury guest house,set in an award winning 1'5 acre park-like treed garden with a Romanesque swimming pool with pool deck with loungers/umbrellas in the centrally positioned lush garden suburb of Walmer,Port Elizabeth.Tennis court and trampoline and second swimming pool.Conveniently close to PE airport,golf courses,pristine beaches,shopping malls,fantastic restaurants and all tourist attractions.Come relax & enjoy this unique farm-like setting in the city with birdsong,peace and tranquility.Ideal B&B/self catering accommodation for business,families,groups and tourists.All home comforts.Free Wifi.Delicious English breakfasts.Just 45 minutes drive to malaria free Addo Elephant Park and other Big 5 Game Parks.Shuttle service on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Forest Hall Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing