We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK property - not what we expected based on reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluewater Beachfront Guest House
Ranked #61 of 230 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Thankfully we stayed only one night at this lodge. We booked it primarily because we wanted to get laundry done and I needed to do some work upon arrival and they advertise a business center - not sure where that was.
Good Points -I was able to get on the internet and do some work - that is a plus in South Africa where wifi at lodges is sometimes tough to find. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean and had a water view - we booked the Seaview Suite. The service was good - everyone here is very nice and helpful.
The lodge is also quite reasonable in price - but there is a reason for that.
Negatives - The bathroom in our room is in bad need of a renovation - the toilet broke and we had to take the top off the toilet tank each time to flush the toilet. My husband tried to fix it but the mechanism had pretty much disintegrated - something that happened well before our visit.
Another reviewer mentioned that there is nothing in the area with regards to restaurants, etc. That is true. This guest house is in the middle of a subdivision in Port Elizabeth that has no amenities to offer. Due to that we had dinner at the guest house. It was an interesting dinner in that it seemed they were feeding an awful lot of people that definitely were not staying at the guest house. The food itself was fine for a buffet dinner. The safe in the room did not work. We didn't leave the property during our stay but that would have been an issue if we had - especially considering the amount of people that showed up for dinner from 5-9PM that were not staying at the guest house.
We did get our laundry done for a reasonable price but I didn't realize that pretty much everywhere you go in South Africa they will do your laundry for a reasonable price.
I don't like to give negative reviews but I also use Trip Advisor to research properties and appreciate an honest review so I know what to expect when I get to a property.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie123081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Bluewater Beachfront Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed one night at the Bluewater Beachfront Guesthouse. From our spontaneous arrival until our departure, the staff was very friendly & always available. The atmosphere is familiy-like. The seaside flat, sleeping 4 people, is very spacy and has a balcony with a spectacular sea view. Beeing three people, the price was a bit above the average to which we were accustomed along the Garden route. Although we arrived sopntaneously at 6 o clock pm, everything was clean. Breakfast was fine and once again, the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schoenhut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

There is no a/c. The room would just not cool down.
The room lighting is very poor. Excessively powerful bulbs in fan lamp.
Electrical problems with switches in the room.
No phone in room.
View from terrace rooms is of back side of dunes at beach...not much view, really.
Breakfast was standard, nothing special.
Staff was a mix of untrained newcomers who seem to know little of the business and a kindly manager.
No big complaints, but nothing to rave about, either.
This place is just too far from any services of any kind....and at least 15 K from the
tourist area of Port Elizabeth. No restaurants, no cafe's, no services. Just a house in need of a remod in a suburban setting behind a sand dune near the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinstonIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Bluewater Beachfront is one of the most beautiful places we stayed in South Africa. The friendly and very helpful staff made our stay most enjoyable. The location is secluded enough to enjoy a peaceful sleep with the ocean at your doorstep. The only drawback on our stay was the all night party a few doors away that sounded like it was in our room. When the police finally shut it down the peacefulness resumed. The food is delicious and well worth enjoying. I highly recommend Bluewater Beachfront to anyone looking for a stay that goes above and beyond any chain hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinnipegBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

we booked this place online and stayed for only one night as we drove along the garden route. they upgraded us for free to the family apt as it was vacant. we loved it. it has a balcony overlooking the ocean and we stood on the balcony taking photos of the ocean and the birds. there were lots of weavers (birds). for a small fee, they did our laundry overnight and had it ready first thing in the morning. the breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drdeb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Thank you Bluewater Guesthouse for a wonderfull 3 nights of staying, the service and hospitality from day 1 was perfect. I were here for a project all the way from Nort-West Klerksdorp.
Furthermore the quality of food was excellent, from breakfast till dinner, and would take great pleasure to score you 100%, well done to your staff, what a reflection to perfection.
This is truelly a "4 Star Guesthouse", thank you ones again.
"GOD BLESS"

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RFourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

I gladly recommend this guesthouse for many reasons. Perfect postion. From our room we had a beautiful view on the sea. The service was so friendly and helpful from all stuff members. Breakfast was lekker. And our room was a nice big size, beautiful designed - including a nice big bathroom in a modern design. Just go there and enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bea0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Blue Guesthouse
Le Blue Guesthouse
#17 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
93 reviews
8.8 mi away
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
Beachwalk Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 43 in Summerstrand
333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nautilus Guest House
Nautilus Guest House
#76 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Algoa Guest House
Algoa Guest House
#5 of 43 in Summerstrand
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Bluewater Guesthouse
#159 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
4 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lungile Backpackers Lodge
Lungile Backpackers Lodge
#12 of 79 in Port Elizabeth
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Beachfront Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Beachfront Guest House

Address: 24 Bluewater Drive | Bluewater Bay, Port Elizabeth 6210, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: £20 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluewater Beachfront Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bluewater Beachfront Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing