We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Red Location Museum” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Location Museum - CLOSED

Red Location Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: THE MUSEUM It is designed to challenge conventional views of museum design. It draws on the work of Andreas Huyssen who has written extensively on the concept of memory and history. Visitors are not treated as consumers but active participants. The conventions of representing history as a single story are challenged through the design of the museum spaces. The past is represented as a set of memories that are disconnected yet bound together by themes.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Red Location Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Red Location Museum is really good. It has a lot of information about the Apartheids. Definitely a must see while in Port Elizabeth

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank fsutravel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    2
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A living monument to the strength of people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I think this is one of the best museums I've been to. I especially like the fact that it's a living museum, so relevant to people's day to day lives. We went with Luvo Ndima from Jama Tours, he was great and took us around the township on a tour. Eye-opening and very friendly!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NiamhMcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“an eye opener”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

i visited this museum as part of a group trip,

as we were driving into the museum, i was shocked to see all the poverty & tiny houses (if you can call them that) and i was shocked as to hhow many people live there!!
ive seen it on tv and stuff but its so different acctually seeing it there in person,
once in the museum it wasnt very big, but i did read alot of the things and learnt alot about the history of africa, which i doubt i would of known or believed if i hadnt of gone there.

if your near by its worth a visit x

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarah_travel_addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Interesting but slightly odd experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

The Red Location museum is undoubtably a very interesting place, the architecture is different to anything else that we had seen in SA and the exhibits were well presented and informative, not to mention very moving. The use of multimedia and different presentation seems quite innovative, particularly in the rooms discussing death in custody and the representation of the township abode. Some elements however, such as the incessant crying and wailing piped through the speakers, serves only to distract you from the story being told. The museum itself could be fantastic but unfortunately had a rather abandoned feel, half of the exhibits were closed down and the ladies who sold us the tickets could not have been less interested, barely looking up from their mobile phones to take our money. The really odd thing however is the actual abandoned buildings that once held the art gallery and library. The gallery is empty save for a pack of dogs roaming around outside. You can go and have a look around the library if you want a particularly depressing experience. It is empty, dusty and completely devoid of any books at all, just a building that has essentially been left behind?! I don't know what the story is behind the museum complex but it could be a must visit if it receives some attention soon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lots of reading”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

The concept of this place is great - it is placed in the township and really stands to contrast to the rest of the area, but it is built to give back to the people there. The museum is interesting, but there is little to see and lots to read. So you need time to go through everything here. A bit out of town, but the entrance is cheep. We enjoyed our visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mirela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Location Museum also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing