We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok stay for 2 nights, maybe other rooms nicer??”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria and Alfred Guest House
Ranked #34 of 230 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This was booked for us by friends and i only asked for a king bed and a/c. We got both of those, but i suspect from the other photos i have seen, that there are different grades of room, for probably different rates. The bed was nice and big and the a/c did work, but otherwise the room was pretty average. BUT we were in PE to watch the rugby and didn't spend a whole lot of time in the room, so not that bothered. The breakfast on day one was a bit cold and thats always a worry from a bay marie, but we were right at the end of service. Day 2 and we there waiting for the staff to serve and things we were warmer. But if you need to eat breakfast and get out of there pronto, a word might be useful the night before.

No problems with service, all we asked for we got i.e. taxis, more towels, checking out the night before so we could leave early etc etc. Pretty good value and about a 10min taxi ride from the Boardwalk for example.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colinmc400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Victoria and Alfred Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

We had a one night stop on our way from the Garden Route, before flying up to Durban. The hotel gave us a really nice welcome. The rooms were clean and of a good size. The staff were really helpful, sorting out places to eat etc. the hotel is fantastically situated for the airport, five minutes away. Only drawback is a tiny one as there are not really many restaurants nearby. However it is only a short inexpensive taxi ride to the waterfront, where there are lengthy, so it is not much of a problem. Really good stopover

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robinalastair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Well situated in Villiers Road in Walmer, this guesthouse is convenient to the airport and also not far from the beaches and other attractions.

We ended up in the "presidential suite" which was a large bedroom with very large bathroom including a large jacuzzi. It was very pleasant and clean and the bed was comfortable.

Check-in and out was very friendly and quick. There was some construction going on which didn't actually disturb us, but the manager called the room to apologise and then sent a bottle of wine to the room to say sorry. The noise didn't go on much longer though.

Breakfast was adequate, the coffee was good and the service friendly.

My only complaint was that we only received two towels in the room, which wasn't enough considering the jacuzzi. Also, the towels were very small - some bath sheets would have been appreciated. Saying this, though, I am confident that we could have had more towels if we had asked.

This place is perfect for a few days if you find yourself in PE, and the pricing is attractive too. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoziMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Very close to Port Elizabeth Airport - rooms large, recently upgraded, very clean, and excellent value. Breakfast - good variety and friendly helpful service.
Front of building/ front parking is hopefully going to be touched up as part of the present ongoing upgrade as the front doesn't give true impression of high standards inside.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carstairs323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I stayed here 4 nights and was mostly rained in. Great room, very large and very cmfortable and good standard of bathroom. Big enought towels - which always makes me happy! Extremely attentive and friendly staff. Very secure, for which as a solo traveler I am always grateful. A little out of the way, but once you find it it isn't easy to forget. Gripes - expensive Wifi and you'll hear other guests. Other people are inconsiderate and stone tiles halls are noisy. I was here in winter, in summer this might not be the place for a lie in. But in general helpful, friendly, comfortable and better than I expected at the price. Additional info: I was offered an evening meal at 110zar. It wasn't bad and I was grateful my first night here. But if you're on a budget there's a spar close by ...

Room Tip: I would imagine you get less noise in the chalets at the back, but they are less secure. I;ve been u...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KFP777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We were there for 2 nights. The place is very secure and each room is given their own entrance keys to all the exit doors. Bit of a pain getting in. But the rest was easy.nice decor.
Would help if wifi was free. Very helpful staff. Both weeks before check in as well as while there. Small fix - connecting rooms within a suite should have keys.
Very clean, comfortable and quaint. Good standard breakfast.
Would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank sramalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed for just 2 nights and were given rooms in the annex at the rear of the car park which were spacious and clean with air conditioning and great showers.

Breakfast was self served and had a great choice

The staff were friendly and helpful throughout.

The only gripe would be that the bar closed far too early (9.30pm)

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the car park were roomy and quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
1.5 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#8 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
547 reviews
2.2 mi away
Conifer Beach House
Conifer Beach House
#5 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
421 reviews
4.1 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
264 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aristotle Guest House
Aristotle Guest House
#113 of 230 in Port Elizabeth
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria and Alfred Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria and Alfred Guest House

Address: 63 Villiers Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: £47 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria and Alfred Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lavishly restored 15 en-suite bedroom 'Victorian Era' house with modern facilities and 3 conference venues promises the ultimate in luxurious surrounds to satisfy both corporate guests and tourists. Our elegant dining room overlooks the pool and garden area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria and Alfred Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing