We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Helpfull”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victoria and Alfred Guest House
Ranked #34 of 225 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Friendly and Helpfull”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Arriving in PE I needed a room for only a few hours, after having called a few G/H no one was willing to sell me a room for 3 hours. I callded Nico and he came to my rescue he also offered me a hourly rate which was great as I will willing to pay the full price. He also gave me breakfast at no extra cost. So to Nico and his team thanks you and well done.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MohiKopKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    55
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
46
54
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toulon, France
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Located just down the road from PE airport. Nice room, good and plentiful food that they left in my room for me as I arrived late, tea and coffee in room. Pretty pool in inner courtyard. A pleasant start to my trip to SA!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The receptionist did not know about restaurants or a hiking trial in the area; I walked past 2 restaurants and found a hiking trail close to the guest house. The room floors are dirty, the towel rail fell on my foot and a bad shower. Also a noise of "machinery" during the night which kept me awake.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AmandaM7003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The reception was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and spacious and the bed was excellent. This questhouse has a fast, functioning and free WiFi so we could communicate with our grandchildren through Facetime. Thank you V and A for that. The next morning we had to leave to catch a plane very early, nevertheless the kind young lady from the reception was there with a fine breakfast. Next time we will stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karel39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Thank you for a good stay at your Guest House. The rooms were just what we wanted. We were travelling with a toddler which is not easy, but you helped in lots of ways, from providing a cot to delaying the cleaning until he woke up. Your breakfasts were great! Thanks

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2014

NIco and his staff were attentive, informative, helpful and yet not overbearing. The garden view room was quiet, clean and well maintained. Great breakfast and a lovely pool. The location was a little to far to walk to the seafront however parking was aplenty and taxis cheap and readily available.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vereeniging, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Our stay at the V&A Guesthouse was truly an awesome experience. The rooms were very clean and kept clean. V&A offers extra service to their guest by doing their laundry with no extra cost –this we found AWESOME! Our sincere thanks and appreciation goes to the management team & staff of V&A for their EXCELLENT hospitality and EXCEPTIONAL FRIENDLY customer service.
We will most definitely visit V&A again when we make a turn in PE.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.5 mi away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#16 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
230 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#9 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
299 reviews
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
532 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aristotle Guest House
Aristotle Guest House
#109 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
30 reviews
1.5 mi away
Forest Hall Guest House
Forest Hall Guest House
#1 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria and Alfred Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria and Alfred Guest House

Property: Victoria and Alfred Guest House
Address: 63 Villiers Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria and Alfred Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lavishly restored 15 en-suite bedroom 'Victorian Era' house with modern facilities and 3 conference venues promises the ultimate in luxurious surrounds to satisfy both corporate guests and tourists. Our elegant dining room overlooks the pool and garden area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria and Alfred Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing