We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Phillips Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #72 of 231 Port Elizabeth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here as a family of four at the start of our journey along the Garden Route. The house is absolutely stunning, and the two rooms we had very large and well equipped. As well as the house (and owner/staff) being great, the position of the B&B is excellent being a short walk from lots of great restaurants and bars. We ate at Charlie Superstar and Two Olives and both meals were good. We also grabbed a picnic lunch from Vovo Telo to take to Addo Elephant Park and it was excellent. Breakfasts were made with a lot of care and attention to detail and I would recommend St Phillips as a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

Myself and a group of volunteers for Artworks for Youth stayed for 2-3 weeks at St. Phillips B&B. Not only was the place beautiful, I left considering the owner and employees friends for life. Caring, knowledgeable, intelligent, helpful, fun, these are a few adjectives I would use to describe the owner, Margie, and manager, Loreen. I am hoping to return to Port Elizabeth and will always stay at St. Phillips!
Lisa (NYC)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parislove_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPhillips, Assistant Guest House Manager at St. Phillips Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Hie Lisa
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at St. Phillips , it was such a pleasure hosting you all. We certainly look forward to seeing you again...soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I booked a single room and got a huge family room. Very tasty breakfast. Very friendly staff. Gorgeous view of Nelson Mandela Bay and sun rise from the veranda. Safe parking on site. Only 6km from the airport. Very close to major routes. Cosy area with lots of restaurants. Free and fast WiFi. Tea/coffee in room. Bathtub in bathroom. Wish I could have stayed there longer, but had to rush to Grahamstown for the National Arts Festival

Room Tip: The family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanineZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

a pretty, if some what shabby Victorian home. The rooms are large and ours shared a balcony with good views. The breakfast was disappointing- tinned fruit salad and artificial orange juice... walking distance to Stanley road for a selection of restaurants and coffee bars.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

St. Phillips B&B is a massive century home in a tony neighbourhood serviced by cool bars & quality restaurants. St. Phillips B&B has beautiful large common areas with high ceilings, wood floors, some rooms had balconies & there is gated parking. Our room was tastefully decorated, but the bathroom was a little too open-concept for even this long-married couple.The innkeeper was very friendly, helpful & accommodating. She packed a lunch for us as we had an early flight & would miss breakfast (which we regretted missing as part of the overall experience).

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPhillips, Assistant Guest House Manager at St. Phillips Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Many thanks for taking time to review our establishment.. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. maybe next time you can stay longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed at St. Phillips for three nights and enjoyed every minute of this beautiful place, our marvellous room and the great hospitality of Margie and Loreen. No need to be afraid of staying in a city: although nice restaurants and bars are in walking distance this place is in a very peaceful area (with a stunning view from the balcony..) We definitely will come back as we have the chance for another trip to South Africa!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OSE-EK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPhillips, Assistant Guest House Manager at St. Phillips Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Many thanks for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at St.Phillips. We hope to see you maybe next year :-).
Margie and Loreen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Great B and B perfect for all the great little resturants in Richmond hill especially the two olives best steak I've ever had, We had a lovely warm welcome and the staff were very helpful, large comy rooms with plenty of amenities in them. Good breakfast all in all a lovely little gem, my only complaint is that they under charge,the rooms are worth more than what they ask for them, stick your prices up.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPhillips, Assistant Guest House Manager at St. Phillips Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review!! We will try to "stick " our prices up in the near future. See you next year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
0.1 mi away
GuestHouse on Irvine
GuestHouse on Irvine
#53 of 231 in Port Elizabeth
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zareba B&B Guesthouse
Zareba B&B Guesthouse
#46 of 231 in Port Elizabeth
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
King George's Guest House
King George's Guest House
#49 of 231 in Port Elizabeth
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belvedere Cottages & B&B
Belvedere Cottages & B&B
#30 of 231 in Port Elizabeth
95 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Hub Boutique Hotel
The Hub Boutique Hotel
#17 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newington Place
Newington Place
#76 of 231 in Port Elizabeth
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Phillips Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Phillips Bed and Breakfast

Address: 44 Saint Phillips Street | Richmond Hill, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elizabeth
Price Range: £40 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Phillips Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent double storey Victorian home with spectacular city and sea views. Enjoy the affordable luxury of five double guest rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms. All rooms are tastefully furnished, fully equipped and serviced. Close to all of Port Elizabeth's attractions, restaurants and entertainment. Offers secure off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your St. Phillips Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing