We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Peaceful haven in a strategic place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chapman Manor House

The Chapman Manor House
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Elizabeth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chapman Manor House
Ranked #32 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Adligenswil
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Peaceful haven in a strategic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

After being messed around by SA having had to rent a car in George after the airport was closed due to rain!!! we found this quiet refuge in an optimal position near the PE airport. Thank you for the evening snack and the warm welcome. We felt very much at home. Strengthened by a hearty breakfast we were ready to face our homeward trip. Sorry the stay was so short - we couldn't even enjoy the pool. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank majua61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

Booking this poor hotel was a challenge on its own. After mailing and calling them several times, we decided to find a different place to sleep (for only night). Since we were not able to find something else quickly, we decided to call them again and we booked.
When we arrived at the reception (in the middle of their own restaurant) we saw time stood still in the Chapman. There were huge stacks of paper (no wonder they never saw our mail) and a big sweaty guy showing us the room. We declined the discount coupon for dinner in their restaurant.

It was cheap (400 ZAR / 2 people, 1 night) and it shows: the room was very old and the hotel itself looked dodgy and poorly maintained. After the early 80's don't think things have changed much. I have to say, things looked clean and the location wasn't bad at all.

If you want to stay only one night and head quickly to the airport the next day, the Chapman isn't too bad. If you expect anything more, and want to please your girlfriend: go somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Elizabeth hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

This hotel was a total let down especially because there are some beauitiful hotels in the area. It needs a total refurnish, its old with a musty smell, broken drawers in our room and a wooden toilet seat which stank of urine! No safe in the room, no hair dryer and no toiletries. The view is the only redeeming feature of this hotel but its not enough for the price you pay. I wasn't happy with the security in the hotel or i should say the lack of security and I think its only a matter of time until people get badly robbed while staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graceinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2008

We had a very bad experience in this place so much that we didn't even end up staying one night!

We arrived in Port Elizabeth from Plettenberg bay for one night before going on to a game reserve. As it happened one of us was suffering from bad food poisoning and needed to spend the day in bed with maybe some room service.

The experience was bad from the minute we arrived especially since accommodation in South Africa to this stage had been extremely good. The entrance to the hotel is at the back and very awkward with steep steps down to it. We were greeted by our name which was worrying as it meant they were not expecting any other guests that day! The gentleman at reception could only have been described as 'odd' and he didn't speak one word to us apart from asking us to pay upfront even though we hadn't even seen the room. He never mentioned where any of the facilities were, check out time etc. or volunteered advice on the area.

Very obviously a family run hotel (with the strange uncle as the receptionist!!) the owner then gave us some flimsy vouchers for the restaurant (c.€2) looking for appreciation for what was obviously a cheap marketing ploy to make us eat in the restaurant!! The room was along a balcony outside and didn't seem very secure. Although it seemed relatively clean it was very old and musty with an out of date air conditioning system that smelt.

Once we found out there was no room service or safe in the room we decided to leave as it definitely wasn’t a room you could spend the day in. It was at this stage that the owner came out to our car to enquire what we were doing. We advised we were leaving as the room was not what we expected. He sneered and said that we wouldn't be getting our money back. Although we hadn't requested this, a partial refund given we had only stayed 15 minutes would have been a polite gesture.
When we advised why we weren't staying (bad air con, musty room, no safe in the room, no information from the receptionist) he proceeded to insult and verbally abuse us pointing and threatening. Very strange and to be honest scary behaviour. A bad South African version of Fawlty towers!! To be avoided.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The crazy owner
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dublin75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2008

This is a nice little hotel where all the rooms overlook the ocean. It’s across the street from the Aquarium. You can walk to the beach as well as many restaurant and night spots although it can be a bit noisy when you are trying to sleep and others are partying at the nearby pubs. The pool is placed awkwardly right outside the restaurant. If you choose to dine outside it’s very likely you will get splashed from people in the pool, or will have to witness people sunbathing. I think it was a water feature turned pool! I didn’t care much for the bedding, pretty cheap and thin but otherwise the room was spacious and clean, the shower was hot, the TV worked and we had a balcony to sit and watch the ocean. Breakfast was so so, nothing special. Would I stay here again, probably not, I would look for something a little bit better but its fine if you are trying to keep within a budget.

  • Liked — The size of the rooms and that they are all seaviews!
  • Disliked — Breakfast, noise at night
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tags94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
0.4 mi away
Chapman Hotel
Chapman Hotel
#29 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.6 mi away
The King Edward Hotel
The King Edward Hotel
#28 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Windermere by Mantis
The Windermere by Mantis
#11 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.4 mi away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#16 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#7 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chapman Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chapman Manor House

Property: The Chapman Manor House
Address: 11 Vesperdene Road, Cape Town, 8005 | Humewood Beach, Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing