We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guesthouse with great views.”
Review of i-Lollo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
i-Lollo Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We had the pleasure of staying two nights at I-lollo in March. I had read TripAdvisor reviews which all seem very positive. We were not disappointed. I booked direct with Ann (our host) and was delighted with our room one of the front rooms overlooking the river estury. The view was stunning, and with a comfortable balcony, we spent most of our first afternoon, sitting and taking in the view.

The property is situated towards the end of a very quiet road, and across the road you can walk down on the sand and walk for miles if you so wish.

Our room had a thatched ceiling with a large and comfortable bed, good sized bathroom, tea and coffee and most useful a full sized fridge. This enabled us to buy picnic food and cool the wine! The room and guest house were spotless.

Ann is a lovely friendly host, she can provide good suggestions for trips out. Each morning we were served lovely breakfasts and had the opportunity to meet with other guests.

I-Lollo represents excellent value for money, if you want a quiet get-away with lovely views, look no further. Thank you Ann for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: Book direct with owner and ask for a front facing upstairs room - the upstairs front rooms have balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CareySJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I-lollo, Owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review of i-Lollo it was a pleasure having you stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our special views and hospitality and trust you will visit us again someday soon.

Warm regards,
Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

I-lollo Lodge is the perfect get-away. The property is located a stone's throw away from the beach and the view from our room - tastefully decorated, spacious and clean - was spectacular. It is a tranquil and safe spot for taking a long stroll along the water's edge. We most enjoyed exploring the canals on the canoes and cycling around the charming village.The hostess is very welcoming and provides outstanding service and a delicious breakfast. We had a wonderful holiday. When we go to St Francis Bay again, we won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I-lollo, Owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Gorgeous property. The rooms were super cute and very clean. I loved the outdoor balcony right outside our room. The hosts are fantastic and made us a lovely breakfast each morning. They had bikes available for free to tour around. If you are going to stay in St Francis Bay look no further. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. I know you will love this place as much as my family and I.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anb419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I-lollo, Owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2012

Thank you for reviewing i-Lollo.We so enjoyed having you and your family staying here and are pleased you enjoyed it and St Francis Bay. We hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Our family expereinced a wonderful weekend break at I-lollo lodge recently. The setting was idyllic and a perfect place to take long walks in a safe and peaceful setting, a far cry from a busy city environment. Ann made us feel welcome and went out of her way to make our visit as comfortable as possible. The English breakfast served was delicious and I felt totally at home. Definitely would recommend the lodge to tourists who are seeking a reprieve from the hustle and bustle of a busy schedule and just want to sit back and relax. We had sundowners on the veranda which overlooks the river mouth and it was a picture perfect moment. We want to go back!

Room Tip: The upstairs bedrooms have a veranda so an ideal place to bask in the sun and watch the birdlife and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I-lollo, owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to send a review.We are pleased you had a relaxed break away from the city with your family and enjoyed the beautiful suroundings of this peaceful corner of St Francis Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

As other writer's have indicated I-Lollo is located directly across the road (a very quite road) from the beach. Upon arrival we received a warm reception from our host Ann who provided a pot of tea and cookies. We were fortunate and had a large second floor room with a fantastic view. St. Francis Bay is a hidden gem. The B&B is set among white thatched homes in a quiet area with the ocean and canals right at hand - picture perfect. We booked this B&B not knowing much about the area. What a stroke of luck for us. If we return to South Africa will certainly return to I-lollo for longer. Sadly we were only there one night making our way back to Cape Town. Excellent breakfast too.

Room Tip: If possible get a second floor room - excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NiagaraDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I-lollo, Owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review i-Lollo Lodge. We so enjoyed having you spend time with us and glad you had a happy stay. We hope to see you again.

Regards,
Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

i-Lollo Lodge is situated close to the river estuary in St. Francis Bay at the end of a cul-de-sac so complete peace is guaranteed. It will be hard to find a more peaceful and heavenly place than St Francis. The ocean, canals and boats, a clean and well-kept village, houses and villas painted in white with thatched roofs - unbelievably beautiful - paradise. The rooms at the accommodation are large and well-equipped including your own deck where you can relax and enjoy the beautiful views over a glass of wine. An excellent breakfast and very friendly hosts round off a most recommendable stay. Within 5 minutes two recommendable 18 hole golf courses are available. Good restaurants within easy driving distance.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthea002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful 10 day stay at i-Lollo Lodge. This beautiful guesthouse is accross the the road from the beach and river mouth and the upstairs rooms have breathtaking views of the rivermouth and ocean.

Our room was very comfortable and was meticulously cleaned daily. The scrumptious breakfasts were a real treat and will be sorely missed. Nothing was too much trouble for Anne our hostess and she happily took care of all our needs.

We feel rejuvinated after a wonderful stay and would highly reccomend i-Lollo Lodge to anyone visiting Saint Francis Bay.

Room Tip: If you want a view be sure to book an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RalfJozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
3.6 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
657 reviews
1.4 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
113 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brisan On The Canals
Brisan On The Canals
#8 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
49 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#5 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
181 reviews
1.7 mi away
St Francis Golf Lodge
St Francis Golf Lodge
#2 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to i-Lollo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about i-Lollo Lodge

Address: 71 Shore Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range: £45 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — i-Lollo Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I-Lollo Lodge is situated just steps away from where the Kromme River meets the Indian Ocean. This idyllic location offers exceptional river, ocean and mountain views. Guests are free to explore these sandy shores at their leisure or take part in the many activities on offer these include water sports, swimming, fishing, walking and birding. Free use of canoes and bicycles is offered to explore the unique canals and river. All rooms include a private patio or balcony and views of the surrounding area or garden. Also included is free wi-fi, a television, a refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities. The en-suite bathrooms offer complimentary toiletries. There is a swimming pool and outside seating area which guests may use. Guests at i-Lollo enjoy a free cooked English breakfast each morning complimented by fresh fruit juices, local yoghurts and a selection of cereals. The village centre and the Port St Francis harbour is a five minute drive away. Here you will find two golf courses, shops and a variety of restaurants including seafood, Greek and Italian fare. Our locally caught calamari is delicious! Cape St Francis, a 10 minute drive away offers a beautiful and expansive beach with great surfing, a beautiful lighthouse and the Penguin Rehabilitation Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your i-Lollo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing