We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful spot with great views & hospitality”
Review of i-Lollo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
i-Lollo Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful spot with great views & hospitality”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We arrived just in time to watch the sun paint a red, orange and purple sunset over the Kromme River. We sat and enjoyed the awesome view from the deck outside our room at I-Lollo. What a treat.

I-Lollo is set in a quiet cul-de-sac next to the river and just across from the beach. It is also one row down from the canals. The room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated and the views and peacefulness are superb.

Anne and Rob are great hosts and made us feel comfortable and welcome immediately. They were both lovely with our two young children too. Anne recommended some local restaurants for dinner and gave us a helpful map. We chose the fish option called Christies Catch which was perfect - relaxed with good sushi and friendly service.

The breakfast was delicious! It was served in a lovely sunny downstairs dining room with access onto the garden and next to the 2 downstairs bedrooms.

A great spot to stay in St Francis. Thank you for having us!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    43
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
114
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Comfortable, clean, classic appointments in furnishings and attention to detail. Using prior TripAdvisor reviews I decided to reserve a night at i-Lollo...how wonderful a stay! Overlooking the river and Indian Ocean beaches which are only steps away, I stayed in the end, upstairs room. Quiet and with a huge king-size bed, I made myself at home; it was a great place to watch the morning sun come up! A full-sized walk-in shower greets you to start the day, and was followed by a delicious full breakfast. I fully recommend i-Lollo to couples or solo travelers if staying in Cape Saint Francis.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms offer wonderful views of the Indian Ocean and river's sandy beaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobtoBarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I-lollo, Owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
We really appreciate the review. Thank you for taking the time to do that for us. It is always good to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The rooms have stunning views over the river with views out to sea. The rooms are comfortable and clean and Ann is a wonderful hostess. Who could wish for more? We will miss the delicious breskfasts. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have the best views with incredible sunsets over the river mouth. Enjoy with a glass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I-lollo, Owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review i-Lollo. We are so pleased you had pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed at I Lollo for two nights with our two children and had a wonderful time. The accommodation couldn't be faulted - all the extras you could hope for- tea,coffee,hair dryer, toiletries, spotlessly clean and the comfiest beds & bedding. Anne and her husband made us so welcome and gave us great ideas for places to go and eat, making the best of our time at St Francis. The location was great - 20 yards onto the beach. Most people would need your car to get into the centre of St Francis for dinner / shopping but it is only 5 minutes drive and the separation ensures complete tranquility at all times at the house and also on the beach - definitely worth it! Thank you Anne and family -we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The two downstairs rooms can be linked together to make a great family unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliRoberts_Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I-lollo, Owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We so enjoyed having you and your lovely family at i-Lollo and would love to see you again soon. The beagles are missing all the extra attention from your boys.
Warm regards,
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We had the pleasure of staying two nights at I-lollo in March. I had read TripAdvisor reviews which all seem very positive. We were not disappointed. I booked direct with Ann (our host) and was delighted with our room one of the front rooms overlooking the river estury. The view was stunning, and with a comfortable balcony, we spent most of our first afternoon, sitting and taking in the view.

The property is situated towards the end of a very quiet road, and across the road you can walk down on the sand and walk for miles if you so wish.

Our room had a thatched ceiling with a large and comfortable bed, good sized bathroom, tea and coffee and most useful a full sized fridge. This enabled us to buy picnic food and cool the wine! The room and guest house were spotless.

Ann is a lovely friendly host, she can provide good suggestions for trips out. Each morning we were served lovely breakfasts and had the opportunity to meet with other guests.

I-Lollo represents excellent value for money, if you want a quiet get-away with lovely views, look no further. Thank you Ann for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: Book direct with owner and ask for a front facing upstairs room - the upstairs front rooms have balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CareySJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I-lollo, Owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of i-Lollo it was a pleasure having you stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our special views and hospitality and trust you will visit us again someday soon.

Warm regards,
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I-lollo Lodge is the perfect get-away. The property is located a stone's throw away from the beach and the view from our room - tastefully decorated, spacious and clean - was spectacular. It is a tranquil and safe spot for taking a long stroll along the water's edge. We most enjoyed exploring the canals on the canoes and cycling around the charming village.The hostess is very welcoming and provides outstanding service and a delicious breakfast. We had a wonderful holiday. When we go to St Francis Bay again, we won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I-lollo, Owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Gorgeous property. The rooms were super cute and very clean. I loved the outdoor balcony right outside our room. The hosts are fantastic and made us a lovely breakfast each morning. They had bikes available for free to tour around. If you are going to stay in St Francis Bay look no further. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. I know you will love this place as much as my family and I.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anb419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I-lollo, Owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Thank you for reviewing i-Lollo.We so enjoyed having you and your family staying here and are pleased you enjoyed it and St Francis Bay. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
3.6 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
606 reviews
1.4 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
102 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#4 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
170 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#2 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brisan On The Canals
Brisan On The Canals
#8 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to i-Lollo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about i-Lollo Lodge

Property: i-Lollo Lodge
Address: 71 Shore Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — i-Lollo Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I-Lollo Lodge is situated just steps away from where the Kromme River meets the Indian Ocean. This idyllic location offers exceptional river, ocean and mountain views. Guests are free to explore these sandy shores at their leisure or take part in the many activities on offer these include water sports, swimming, fishing, walking and birding. Free use of canoes and bicycles is offered to explore the unique canals and river. All rooms include a private patio or balcony and views of the surrounding area or garden. Also included is free wi-fi, a television, a refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities. The en-suite bathrooms offer complimentary toiletries. There is a swimming pool and outside seating area which guests may use. Guests at i-Lollo enjoy a free cooked English breakfast each morning complimented by fresh fruit juices, local yoghurts and a selection of cereals. The village centre and the Port St Francis harbour is a five minute drive away. Here you will find two golf courses, shops and a variety of restaurants including seafood, Greek and Italian fare. Our locally caught calamari is delicious! Cape St Francis, a 10 minute drive away offers a beautiful and expansive beach with great surfing, a beautiful lighthouse and the Penguin Rehabilitation Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your i-Lollo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing