We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accommodation and breakfast”
Review of i-Lollo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
i-Lollo Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation and breakfast”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights towards the end of our trip along the garden route. We were in one of the upstairs rooms which has lovely views over the estuary. Our hosts were very helpful providing a welcome cup of tea on arrival and providing information about walks and places to visit in the area. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice including a full english breakfast and was freshly prepared to order by our hostess, Ann. The room had a kingsize bed and en-suite bathroom with both a bath and a shower and also a balcony complete with chairs. I highly recommend this lodge for anyone visiting this area.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I-lollo, Owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us .A good breakfast also starts the day well!! We appreciate you taking the time to review us, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    39
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
109
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edenvale, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

i-Lollo is a beautiful B & B overlooking the estuary at St Francis Bay. Ann and Rob are warm and welcoming hosts, very laid-back, even to the extent of not demanding a deposit when the booking was made.We arrived early but were made at home immediately with a cup of tea. Our upstairs rooms commanded a great view -- even stormy weather was a pleasure as we watched the clouds rolling in over the water. The rooms are very well-equipped, with tea and coffee-making facilities and a small fridge, plus TV, but we also had the freedom to use the TV lounge downstairs if we wished.

The breakfast was beautifully prepared -- fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, cereals, and the cooked items came hot and fresh from the stove, prepared by Ann herself -- nothing was too much trouble. All the guests eat together at one big table, which gave us the opportunity to interact with another family, from Germany and exchange ideas for their ongoing journey towards Cape Town.
Ann was also a great source of information about local restaurants and walks, even an interesting farmer's bazaar held in Patensie, which proved to be a good choice on a rainy and blowy Saturday.

We would certainly recommend a stay at i-Lollo and wish Ann and Rob every success as they continue to welcome guests from all over the world.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms facing the water are obviously the best choice, although the outside staircases m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I-lollo, Owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review i-Lollo Lodge. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here and that we were able to send you off to Patensie to do something different! Thank you also for your good wishes . We hope to see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We originally reserved a ground floor room several months prior to our overnight stay. Before our visit, Ann was thoughtful enough to contact us and ask if we would mind staying in an upstairs room (for no extra charge) as another guest needed downstairs accommodation - we were delighted! Ann made us very welcome. The lodge is beautiful and our room was large, tastefully decorated, well maintained and very comfortable. Breakfast was superb, we wish we could have stayed longer. We can definately recommend i-Lollo, it offers superb accommodation and is extremely good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dromomaniacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We arrived just in time to watch the sun paint a red, orange and purple sunset over the Kromme River. We sat and enjoyed the awesome view from the deck outside our room at I-Lollo. What a treat.

I-Lollo is set in a quiet cul-de-sac next to the river and just across from the beach. It is also one row down from the canals. The room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated and the views and peacefulness are superb.

Anne and Rob are great hosts and made us feel comfortable and welcome immediately. They were both lovely with our two young children too. Anne recommended some local restaurants for dinner and gave us a helpful map. We chose the fish option called Christies Catch which was perfect - relaxed with good sushi and friendly service.

The breakfast was delicious! It was served in a lovely sunny downstairs dining room with access onto the garden and next to the 2 downstairs bedrooms.

A great spot to stay in St Francis. Thank you for having us!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Comfortable, clean, classic appointments in furnishings and attention to detail. Using prior TripAdvisor reviews I decided to reserve a night at i-Lollo...how wonderful a stay! Overlooking the river and Indian Ocean beaches which are only steps away, I stayed in the end, upstairs room. Quiet and with a huge king-size bed, I made myself at home; it was a great place to watch the morning sun come up! A full-sized walk-in shower greets you to start the day, and was followed by a delicious full breakfast. I fully recommend i-Lollo to couples or solo travelers if staying in Cape Saint Francis.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms offer wonderful views of the Indian Ocean and river's sandy beaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobtoBarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I-lollo, Owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
We really appreciate the review. Thank you for taking the time to do that for us. It is always good to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The rooms have stunning views over the river with views out to sea. The rooms are comfortable and clean and Ann is a wonderful hostess. Who could wish for more? We will miss the delicious breskfasts. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have the best views with incredible sunsets over the river mouth. Enjoy with a glass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I-lollo, Owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review i-Lollo. We are so pleased you had pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed at I Lollo for two nights with our two children and had a wonderful time. The accommodation couldn't be faulted - all the extras you could hope for- tea,coffee,hair dryer, toiletries, spotlessly clean and the comfiest beds & bedding. Anne and her husband made us so welcome and gave us great ideas for places to go and eat, making the best of our time at St Francis. The location was great - 20 yards onto the beach. Most people would need your car to get into the centre of St Francis for dinner / shopping but it is only 5 minutes drive and the separation ensures complete tranquility at all times at the house and also on the beach - definitely worth it! Thank you Anne and family -we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The two downstairs rooms can be linked together to make a great family unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliRoberts_Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I-lollo, Owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We so enjoyed having you and your lovely family at i-Lollo and would love to see you again soon. The beagles are missing all the extra attention from your boys.
Warm regards,
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
3.6 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#2 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brisan On The Canals
Brisan On The Canals
#9 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#4 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sandriver Lodge
Sandriver Lodge
#8 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to i-Lollo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about i-Lollo Lodge

Property: i-Lollo Lodge
Address: 71 Shore Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — i-Lollo Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I-Lollo Lodge is situated just steps away from where the Kromme River meets the Indian Ocean. This idyllic location offers exceptional river, ocean and mountain views. Guests are free to explore these sandy shores at their leisure or take part in the many activities on offer these include water sports, swimming, fishing, walking and birding. Free use of canoes and bicycles is offered to explore the unique canals and river. All rooms include a private patio or balcony and views of the surrounding area or garden. Also included is free wi-fi, a television, a refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities. The en-suite bathrooms offer complimentary toiletries. There is a swimming pool and outside seating area which guests may use. Guests at i-Lollo enjoy a free cooked English breakfast each morning complimented by fresh fruit juices, local yoghurts and a selection of cereals. The village centre and the Port St Francis harbour is a five minute drive away. Here you will find two golf courses, shops and a variety of restaurants including seafood, Greek and Italian fare. Our locally caught calamari is delicious! Cape St Francis, a 10 minute drive away offers a beautiful and expansive beach with great surfing, a beautiful lighthouse and the Penguin Rehabilitation Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your i-Lollo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing