We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavours of Italy”
Review of Trattoria San Francesco - CLOSED

Trattoria San Francesco
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
131 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Flavours of Italy”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

It was a birthday celebration to which we had been invited. Trattoria is a favourite of ours so we were delighted to be invited. Service was attentive without being intrusive and the food was served promply and efficiently. I ordered pasta del mare which the menu said was served in a creamy sauce - but when served it was a tomato based sauce which I didn't mind (in fact prefered!). It was a very cold night, but efficient gas heaters were lit around the dining room and we soon felt warm and 'at home'. The decore os pleasing and the views over the golf course very pleasant. The suit of armour by the entrance seems a little incongruous but a fun item! A most enjoyable evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    29
    3
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“AWESOME ITALIAN FOOD!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We visit this restaurant regularly and it never disappoints.

Sometimes we eat or just go and sit in the bar and have a few drinks. Staff is always friendly and service excellent. The food is really good. I normally have the pizza which is fantastic. One of the best. I've also had the fillet steak and they even did a cheese sauce for me which isn't on the menu! The steak is also really good.

Prices are fair and they have a lot of specials running all the time.
Definitely give this place a try!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jbird1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Francis Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The only place i will order Pizza”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is the only place i ever order pizza. I have had a few but my ultimate favourite is the Greco. Spinach, bacon, feta and avo. The bases are thin and crisp and the topping are ample. Accompanied by one of their salads like the Insalata Rustica you cant go wrong and will definitely be back for more

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DuneRidgeSFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Italian in St Francis”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We love the pizzas at Trattoria & the friendly relaxed atmosphere.
There is a bar alongside the restaurant, The Flamingo, where you can enjoy pre dinner drinks or have your coffee after dinner. The portions are generous & service good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank FlossPortElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greytown, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Warm, Fun and excellant food”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Fine Italian Cuisine with great service and very fair prices. Flamingo Pub also owned by the same owner . Claudia Urzi - and is bound to keep you out later than anticipated. Really would recommend this restaurant to anyone and everyone

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria San Francesco also viewed

Saint Francis Bay, Eastern Cape
Saint Francis Bay, Eastern Cape
 
Saint Francis Bay, Eastern Cape
 
Saint Francis Bay, Eastern Cape
Saint Francis Bay, Eastern Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing