We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay despite the weather” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay despite the weather”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

This was everything you could hope for from a B&B. Spacious and very comfortable room, very friendly and knowledgeable hosts. The building was very well designed with the rooms surrounding the very attractive pool. It had rained non-stop for several days, and we were unable to make full use of the lovely surroundings. We would love to return to St Francis Bay, and this B&B would be the first on our list.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BazzaBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
72
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boksburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Excellent service, excellent breakfast, walking distance to the sea, lovely town, friendly people. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Steve and Inge. I also liked the fact that the bathroom hada shower and bath.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YolandaBurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

B&b in many parts of the world are basically someones house with breakfast; On the Spot is far from this its more of a boutique hotel with the added bonus of excellent, knowledgeable and helpful hosts.
Inge and steve run a purpose built and very well designed b&b which is immaculately clean and the breakfasts, as other reviewers have pointed out are brilliant and theres plenty to eat.
A tiny reservation is the location which is a little far out but, in return, you get peace and quick access to uncrowded beaches and lets be honest you need a car to get to St Francis and if you wanted bright lights and excitement you would have stayed in Jefferies Bay.
To eat out I’d go to Barrons for decent value and great steaks in St Francis village, and for seafood to Chokka Block in Port St Francis but you need to book.
Rooms are large and well equipped but it’s the attitude of the hosts that stands out – they are always happy to help but are never intrusive and genuinely care that your stay is a happy one.
Its an easy recommendation and we’ll be back to visit as soon as possible

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flipper2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onthespotbb, Owner at On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Guests,

We are really happy you enjoyed our humble Guest House at St Francis Bay and thank you so very much for this wonderful review this is how we can keep and set a bench mark for our service so we strive to keep it really high

Kind regards

Inge/ Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

If you're looking for a 5 star experience then this is the place to stay. The beds are comfortable and big. The bathroom has both a tub and shower (a plus for me). The bar fridge is stocked up. Everything was just great. Lovely breakfast, wonderful hosts. Very kind couple who just want to make your stay at the b&b as pleasant as possible. We are definitely returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DesFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onthespotbb, Owner at On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so very much for your time to give us a great review it was a real honor serving you WE REALLY look forward to you return

Kind regards

Stephen / Inge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Is a fantastic B&B with very friendly hosts. Inge and Steve had many nice advices for good restaurant and places. Very good breakfast and nice rooms with all technical details.
Thank you Inge,thank you Steve!! It was nice to meet them!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heiko F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Should you ve heading out to St. Francis Bay and looking for accommodation - then look no further than here. Not only do your hosts Inga & Stephen have a vast knowledge of the area and its activities, they also supply you with comfortable fooms equiped with all your needs, should you want for anything you only need request it. To top it all off Inga sends you off with a really hearty breakfast - which caters for both the starving and the not so hungry. Definitely recommended and we'll be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karratha
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

This was an excellent B & B, fantasitc rooms, right near the beach, great breakfast and excellent hosts. We had a joined room for our two daughters and ourselves and found it to be the best B & B of our trip. Outdoor shower was a treat after a surf

Thanks Inge and Stephen

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erinkarratha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
1.7 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.4 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Milkwood Country Cottage
Milkwood Country Cottage
#7 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#5 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#2 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay

Property: On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay
Address: cnr Sardinia / Carlo De Wolpe Rd | Santareme, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On The Spot B&B at St Francis Bay is a 4 STAR / AA Superior establishment. On the premises is a swimming pool, BBQ facilities, on site secured access controlled parking. All children welcome. No pets allowed. Credit card facilities. This charming coastal village on the Sunshine Coast captures the heart of all its visitors and is where this establishment is situated in its tranquil setting just 30 meters from the water’s edge of the warm Indian Ocean. Take 21 km off the main Garden Route to this unique, sophisticated, yet wild at heart architectural village and experience sea breeze filled days in our beautiful natural surroundings of nature reserves, dunes, river and sea. Where warm hospitality gets its meaning and the emphasis is on outdoor life with the bracing sea air and sunshine. 5 Luxury Full en-suite Rooms; bath/shower, two family rooms are inter-leading, King or twin beds with amenities, extra length beds, quality linen, extra blankets, bathrobes and slippers, hairdryer, pool/beach towels provided, serviced daily, mini fridge, complimentary coffee/tea tray and sherry, heater, fan, digital safe, 32” HD flat screen satellite TV with lots of channels.....this is home away from home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing