We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull!”
Review of Thatchwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thatchwood
Johannesburg
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderfull!”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Thatchwood lodge is decorated beautifully in a contemporary african style. The gardens are beautiful and relaxing. The staff are friendly and helpfull and the food simply delicious! What more could you ask for? Thank you Harrie and Sara for your hospitality and warmth. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emile C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    30
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
74
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The moment we were met with milktart, coffee and smiles, my wife and I knew we'd enjoy our stay at Thatchwood. Harrie and Sara really make sure that you enjoy your stay, without becoming bothersome like some guesthouse owners tend to do. The accommodation was great and the food even better! Thanks Harry & Sara for making us feel right at home!

Room Tip: Room 1 was beautiful and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Perfect place to relax and be spoiled. Friendly staff and great service. A wonderful location, close to the shops, spa and Golf course. The rooms are beautifully decorated and well equipped. Breakfast is a treat with a great variety. Thatchwood will see us again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fearika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at Thatchwood at the begining of December during our trip along the Garden Route. We had a lovely room, full of character and the bathroom was huge! Everything was spotless and the staff all very friendly. We had a little terrace outside our room and the small pool area was very attractive. Thatchwood definitely 4* and I recomend it to anyone venturing to St Francis.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aileen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wijchen, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Harry and Sara made us feel very comfortable. Welcome and service were great. On arrival we did not have had lunch yet and since it was already in the afternoon, Sara offered to make us a quick lunch. Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff is very friendly.
Harry organized greenfees with a discount for us at both the golfcourses that are very close to the questhouse. The place is easy to find and close to restaurants and shops as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geert13_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Having just arrived from Uganda via Johannesburg and Port Elizabeth, it was great to have such a warm welcome - the offer of a glass of wine was very rapidly accepted. The room was great (and the bathroom stunning). Harrie and Sara made us feel very much at home and the lounge was a very pleasant place to sit in the evening - so nice to have the honesty bar! Breakfast was excellent and the two restaurant recommendations for dinner (Barron's just round the corner for great steak and ribs and Chez Patrick in Port St Francis for really good fish) were great.
We would say that Cape St Francis was pretty quiet (very early in the season) - our guess, as non-golfers, is that this would be a great place to stay as part of a golfing break

Room Tip: Our room had a small private patio overlooking the golf course - very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knysna
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We tried to book a golf special here and there was a lot of confusion about it on the telephone, despite the fact of it being advertised...after several calls and an email we thought we were sorted. We weighed this guesthouse up with another similar package which included golf cart and found Thatchwood to be marginally cheaper. We were assured that a golf cart was included in the package..when we arrived we were told by the owner there was no cart included and it would cost us R 180 to rent fro the golf course (240 rands in reality) t
On top of this the room was freezing cold, and nobody around to ask for a heater. And there was a smell of damp. Next time we'll stay at st Francis links...better valley and far more comfortable.it would have been nice if a fire could have been lit in the lounge because it was certainly too cold to sit in it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shamemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
2.7 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
606 reviews
10.0 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
134 reviews
10.7 mi away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 2 in Humansdorp
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#4 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
293 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#2 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatchwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatchwood

Property: Thatchwood
Address: 63 Lyme North Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thatchwood 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Thatchwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatchwood Saint Francis Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing