We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST”
Review of Thatchwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thatchwood
maassluis
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THE BEST”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

we had the best time ever at Thatchwood lodge!! It's a very nice bed &breakfast with spacious bedrooms and a nice livingroom. breakfast is superb!!
owners were very kind and helpful and really made our stay special.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank els v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    30
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
74
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Excellent service including same day Laundry.
Good sized & quiet Bedroom with Bath & large Shower area en suite.
Great access to Golf Courses, Shops & Restaurants.
Good sitting in & sitting out areas. Good sized Swimming pool immaculately maintained.
The worst part of Thatchwood ? Having to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank drb_indigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

I called Thatchwood late on Thursday evening 10 Jan 2013 to ask for a room as this is my favourite place in St Francis.I was welcomed warmly as a late arrival at 20h30 and enjoyed the super comfortable room and glorious garden setting breakfast, so much so I changed my travel plans and decided to spend 3 more nights at Thatchwood. Charm, good food, warmhearted hosts and staff, always perfect at Thatchwood has always been my experience and a great base for golf, surf, beach holidays.

Room Tip: Inside patio rooms very luxurious with secluded garden patios. Outside rooms very private and charmi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Thatchwood lodge is decorated beautifully in a contemporary african style. The gardens are beautiful and relaxing. The staff are friendly and helpfull and the food simply delicious! What more could you ask for? Thank you Harrie and Sara for your hospitality and warmth. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emile C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The moment we were met with milktart, coffee and smiles, my wife and I knew we'd enjoy our stay at Thatchwood. Harrie and Sara really make sure that you enjoy your stay, without becoming bothersome like some guesthouse owners tend to do. The accommodation was great and the food even better! Thanks Harry & Sara for making us feel right at home!

Room Tip: Room 1 was beautiful and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Perfect place to relax and be spoiled. Friendly staff and great service. A wonderful location, close to the shops, spa and Golf course. The rooms are beautifully decorated and well equipped. Breakfast is a treat with a great variety. Thatchwood will see us again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fearika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at Thatchwood at the begining of December during our trip along the Garden Route. We had a lovely room, full of character and the bathroom was huge! Everything was spotless and the staff all very friendly. We had a little terrace outside our room and the small pool area was very attractive. Thatchwood definitely 4* and I recomend it to anyone venturing to St Francis.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aileen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
2.7 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
606 reviews
10.0 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
134 reviews
10.7 mi away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 2 in Humansdorp
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#4 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
293 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#2 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatchwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatchwood

Property: Thatchwood
Address: 63 Lyme North Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thatchwood 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Thatchwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatchwood Saint Francis Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing