We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely way to start holiday”
Review of Thatchwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thatchwood
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My husband and I started our trip to South Africa at Thatchwood Cottage and what a lovely way to start. We were given a lovely welcome by Harry and Sara. We had a lovely room and amazing bathroom. Our breakfasts were great with a great choice.

We golfed on the new St Francis Bay Links which is nearly walking distance from Thatchwood which was ideal.A fantastic golf course.

Would recommend a visit here.

Audrey B (Scotland)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is a lovely place to stay. The owners (Harry and Sara) are very friendly, helpful and caring and the staff were also friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed there in January 2014 with two friends and we will go back. The breakfasts were also very substantial and good, the rooms and bathrooms were lovely and clean. Thatchwood is ideally located for two golf courses and there are restaurants in walking distance and more an easy drive away. I don't think I have a criticism about this B&B at all.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curtisbarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Clean, relaxed and very friendly accommodation. The Hosts were accommodating and went out of their way to please during very busy times. Sara thanks for the fan. We found the holiday relaxing and the rooms are set amongst tranquil trees and borders on the golf course

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Minette & Derri... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

It a very pleasant place, and the owners are very friendly, beautiful place I would recommend this place to my family and friends. Thatchwood is the best, the rooms are very neat and hommie, the pool watch is so amazing. It's nice and close to the beach. Would love to come bavk here again next year.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Khanyisa89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My family and I checked into this beautiful little lodge with high expectations. And these were met every step of the way, Harry and Sara were very welcoming and friendly.
The rooms were spic and span, spacious and had all the amenities.
The lodge is right behind a golf estate and is a stones throw from the shops and beach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine0789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed for a week at Thatchwood, arriving after a very long journey from the UK. We were given a very warm welcome by Harrie and Sara and immediately felt at home. Their hospitality was faultless Our room was lovely; spacious and very tastefully furnished. We had some great weather during our stay so were able to make use of the sun loungers by the pool after our games of golf. There are 2 great golf courses right on the doorstep. Breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. Overall we would recommend Thatchwood very highly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueB2985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed at this lovely place only for one night as a stop over to another place, but if I knew how great it was we would definetly stay there a bit longer. Our room and bathroom were big and beautifully decorated. In the morning you can have delicious breakfast on the terrace. Staff is very friendly and helpful, you can see that they really care about you having a good time during your stay. Moreover, St. Francis is a small beautiful place with white houses with thatch roofs, channels, harbour where you can eat fresh seafood and hospital for seabirds that you can visit. All in all, loved this place and would definetly love to come back!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ksenia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
2.7 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
632 reviews
10.0 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
146 reviews
10.7 mi away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 2 in Humansdorp
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#4 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
302 reviews
10.5 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatchwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatchwood

Address: 63 Lyme North Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range: £59 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thatchwood 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Thatchwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatchwood Saint Francis Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing