We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful aesthetic experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dune Ridge Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Pietermaritzburg
1 review
“A wonderful aesthetic experience!”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

A thoroughly enjoyable stay! Lovely breakfasts, very reasonably priced, nutritious suppers. A very minor detail, however: there could have been a few more coffee and brown sugar satchets for the duration of our stay. Nevertheless, memorable. Will recommend this establishment to all my contacts who plan to visit this area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MeganA949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    25
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
103
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We arrived at the dune ridge not feeling very positive as we had wanted to stay at the sands but we couldn't have been happier with this special place. Don't be put off by the long rough track as it is well worth it when you get there. Our room was beautiful, very tastefully done throughout with a strong colonial feel. The location is a plus and a minus as it so peaceful with amazing views but it is also a drive to restaurants. However, the owner, sarah made us a most delicious meal and I would certainly recommend eating there as the breakfast was also lovely.
The down side for us that we were the only guests staying there. I really hope that sarah and her team succeed in this venture as we certainly want to go back and stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highbridge
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed at Dune Ridge at the end of a three week holiday in South Africa and it made a perfect finale.The area is part of a nature reserve and the surrounding vegitation is magnificent.Our room had a patio which looked out onto the gardens-the room itself was very comfortable.
Special mention for the food-the breakfasts were exceptional and dinner outstanding.

Room Tip: all the rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank algieHighbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuneRidgeSFB, Owner at Dune Ridge Country House, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you so much for the wonderful review!!

It is always so great to get such positive feedback about what we are offering and especially the special mention about our food. My very special staff and in particular Pracious prides herself on her breakfast spreads so its always fantastic to be able to pass this on to them.

We really hope that you will return in the near future and spend a bit more time with us so that we can share a bit more of our wonderful place and area with you.

Keep well and Kind Regards

Sarah and The Dune Ridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed in a homely and clean family cottage with our 2 children. The decoration of the facilities is done with obvious personal attention. The staff is extremely friendly and we would also advise to book dinner at Dune Ridge, because the food is fantastic. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuneRidgeSFB, Owner at Dune Ridge Country House, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Thank you so much for the absolutely wonderful review! We hope you had a safe trip home and the children are well and settled.

It is always so nice to get such positive feedback from our guests about their stay and of course our food.

We are so looking forward to your return..and hopefully we will have more time for the Frog Safari one evening.

Take Care

Sarah and The Dune Ridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We had an awesome 2 night stay at the Dune Ridge Country House. The room was large, private, well decorated and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was really spacious and we had the most spectacular views of the front garden from our patio. The lounge is spacious and very comfortable with excellent decor. Our highlight was the scrumptious breakfasts, served in a well laid out dinning room, which included a buffet with many choices and a full cooked breakfast of your choice, which was masterfully prepared and presentation was top class. The staff are professional, the ambiance unbelievable, the setting very peaceful, which assisted in making the whole experience one I will repeat in the not to distant future.

Room Tip: Room 1, close to the pool and extensive front garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeminiG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuneRidgeSFB, Owner at Dune Ridge Country House, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the fabulous review you posted on Tripadvisor for us! I am so happy that we could make you and your partners time with us special.

It is always great to get feedback from guests so that we know that what we are doing is working, and we will continue to improve all the time.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Sarah and The Dune Ridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Francis Bay
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Outstanding hospitality, excellent food and perfectly presented with loving care. Very relaxing atmosphere and we were made most welcome. Superbly helpful host with restaurant bookings and things to do.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuneRidgeSFB, Owner at Dune Ridge Country House, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Guests,

It was so wonderful having you stay with us and quite by surprise as well. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and want to thank you for the fantastic review that your put on Tripadvisor. It is always nice to get such brilliant feedback with regards to our service and attention to detail - it means we are on the right track and will continually strive to do even better.

Kind Regards

Sarah and The Dune Ridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at the Dune RIdge Country House. The rooms are large and very comfortable with private patio area overlooking the garden. The under floor heating in the bathroom was a real bonus. Breakfasts were amazing, plenty of choice with homemade bread.
We would recommend the Dune RIdge to any one who likes a quiet peaceful location and are already planning a return visit

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alian1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
2.3 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
606 reviews
1.1 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
102 reviews
11.1 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 2 in Humansdorp
242 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
170 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#4 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dune Ridge Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dune Ridge Country House

Property: Dune Ridge Country House
Address: 80 Taragona Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dune Ridge Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an extraordinary location on the outskirts of the picturesque village of St Francis Bay, this country house epitomises tranquility. This intimate family run guest house surrounded by rich coastal fynbos, an abundance of birdlife and large gardens typifies comfort and charm without compromising service or attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Dune Ridge Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing