We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandals Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My wife and I stayed at Sandals in early Dec 2011. The hosts Tess and Ryszard are wonderful. We were made so welcome and they gave so much of their time to chat with us and to advise us on what we should visit and where we should eat. The accommodation is lovely and the breakfast was great....freshly cooked to our liking. We sat by the pool on a lovely sunny afternoon and Tess and her staff treated us to a beautiful afternoon treat ...home made health bread, cheeses, ham, salami and tomatoe and,of course, lovely coffee. St. Francis Bay is a beautiful place to visit. A walk along the beach is a must. Bring along the camera for wonderful shots. We are very happy to recommend this as a lovely place to stay. Cork, Ireland.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fachtna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
I remember your "pool picnic" so well and it was the most gorgeous afternoon in St Francis Bay! THANK YOU for the lovely comments and feedback! Our fabulous beach awaits...we hope to see you again in our part of the world one day soon. Best wishes for a healthy and kind 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    76
    19
    13
    2
See reviews for
51
172
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

What a great place and we were so well looked after. A very relaxing location and Tess was kind and genuinely interested in us and making our stay go well. Thanks.

Euan Morrison, Edinburgh

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Euan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We stayed here for two nights on our drive on the garden route. The staff and owner Tess were helpful and attentive. The rooms were clean and the breakfast very good. It was only a few minutes from the beach and the restaurants and had a nice garden with small pool in which to relax.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finaidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I loved my stay at Sandals. My room was airy and spacious with its own personal veranda, gorgeous outside shower and a huge bathroom, just for me. I love the thatch roof and the design of the guesthouse, and the deck leading out onto the pool is a great place to spend relaxing, or chatting to the owners who bring with them welcome and interest from their days of yachting. I will definitely be back, especially for the breakfasts... and the polish vodka in the honesty bar!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawtry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed here for one night with friends on our drive along the Garden Route. What a charming, quaint, little guest house, only 150m from the beach. We had a lovely welcome with drinks and shortbread on arrival. Breakfast was very good and room was spacious with it's own small patio. Staff were all very helpful, especially Heather whose shortbread is to die for (she even gave me the recipe!). It was a short walk to the shopping centre with restaurants and bar. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Thank you for your review of Sandals GH and the time taken to do so. We hope that one day you can return to SA and enjoy our shortbread just as much! In the mean time, myself and Heather hope you are making it at home, relaxing with a cup of tea and fondly reliving your time at Sandals and St Francis Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here during our honeymoon and the service was just terrible. No one to greet us or carry our bags, no sight of the owner during our stay, musty smell of our room. The bedroom was damp and dull, I had to plug in the heater provided. The shower was outside in the freezing cold with a view of the neighbours shower. The food was terrible. I ordered eggs benedict with the sauce on the side, the sauce didnt even pour, the bread was rock hard..It was the most expensive hotel we stayed in and at that..an absolute disgrace. Im not one to leave a bad review but this was very much so called for.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishdol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTADOWN
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

St Francis Bay is a nice location. The guest house is very average and probably the worst place we stayed in our trip.
The room was small, tired,shabby and just above the stairs. Consequently we heard the staff from the early hours when the arrived. Breakfast was only average.
We wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philandanne18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
To Philandanne 18

Sandals GH staff and owners are really sorry to hear you were so disappointed with your stay with us.
It is impossible for service industry players to please everyone, all of the time. Sandals GH is a modest, humble guest house, not a boutique hotel, country lodge or a huge 5 star property on sprawling acres of land. Very often so many unfair comparisons are made when properties are booked for guests such as yourselves by the tour operator and the range includes 5 star properties or properties such as the ones you did stay in throughout your SA trip Yes, I did do some research on your trip. There are some absolutely superb establishments you did stay in that are in a completely "different league" to Sandals GH, in terms of size, location, price, date of construction and various other aspects. And actually I was quite surprised at some of the comments you made on another establishment.

Sandals GH rooms are not at all "small, tired or shabby". They are a good size, in proportion to the house and the design. "Just up the stairs"...well it is normal for one to walk upstairs to get to the first floor. Off the landing are two bedrooms on each floor on either side of the guest house. Actually very private indeed. Nor can the staff wake you up in the early hours? They arrive at 7am each day. All my staff are very conscious of the fact that guests maybe still sleeping or relaxing. Maybe it was other guests?

Each and every year Sandals GH goes through stringent control measures or site inspections with the various organisations to make sure we adhere to the correct standards for the level we are in, in the marketplace. These site inspections are done with all the international tour operators as well.

But we respect the fact that you are entitled to your opinion and we are sorry that Sandals GH did not meet or exceed your expectations.

We do know that we have pleased so many hundreds of visitors to Sandals GH over the years and exceeded their expectations.

It is only fair that as an owner/operator I comment on your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
2.2 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
606 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
102 reviews
11.3 mi away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 2 in Humansdorp
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
170 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#2 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
152 reviews
1.5 mi away
i-Lollo Lodge
i-Lollo Lodge
#5 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Guest House

Property: Sandals Guest House
Address: 4 Napier Road | St Francis Bay, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned 150 metres from main beach, Sandals Boutique Guesthouse offers its guests a unique and international blend of superb hospitality, cuisine and service. The beauty, tranquillity and friendly hospitality of Sandals will ensure you have a chance to relax and enjoy the "laid-back" luxury which Sandals Guest House provides. Sensational surf, pristine beaches, rugged coastline & indigenous fynbos create a perfect setting for relaxation & play in St Francis Bay! Within walking distance or a few minute’s drive away are fabulous restaurants, quaint village shops, Port St Francis, nature walks, Jack Nicklaus award-winning St Francis Links & our local St Francis Bay Golf Club! No holiday in South Africa is complete without experiencing our warmth, friendliness and personal service at Sandals, St Francis Bay.We will ensure you leave relaxed, rejuvenated and determined to return again soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandals Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing