We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandals Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So relaxing”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The warm hospitality at Sandals is just lovely. A home from home. Our rooms were big, clean and very comfortable and your every need is taken care of - so accomodating. Eating breakfast outside on the patio by the pool is such a relaxing experience and we just loved the "Caribbean pancakes" as we dubbed them - various kinds but the bacon, banana with maple syrup pancakes were our favourite! The owners and management of Sandals are very informative about what to do around St Francis, where to dine etc. They seem so proud of their town and rightly so, as St Francis bay is so unique - every house and building is white with either a black thatch or grey slate roof and this lends to the outstanding beauty of the place. It has such a calm and relaxing atmosphere and there is so much to do in the area, from the sea and nature activities to beautiful golf courses. The Walskipper restaurant in nearby Jeffreys Bay is an absolute must and very different from most! Outstanding fresh-from-the-sea seafood right on the beach in such a laid back setting - beach sand for the restaurant floor, quaint wooden garden sheds for the bathrooms, old enamel crockery. Quite an experience. A superb town and guest house for a holiday. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelanieErica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Melanie
Very special having you all to stay with us for a few days! Our Caribbean Pancakes are such a hit and glad the kids loved them - "big kids" spoil themselves too with this decadent breakfast choice!
We are very proud of our beautiful village and privileged to be able to share with so many travelers from all over the world...and "first time" South African visitors as well! We do hope you return one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    74
    19
    11
    2
See reviews for
47
168
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We only stayed one night at Sandals as we were on our way to Port Elizabeth airport, however it was a quiet relaxing place to stay. When we arrived our room wasn't ready but we were given a nice cool drink and some information about the local area including a recommendation for evening meal at the local fish restaurant. Our room was comfortable with a small patio area set amongst the roofs of the building. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. The area is very quiet with beautiful beaches and very pretty thatched houses.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drapmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for your review and kind words. Since you have visited, Sandals GH underwent major renovations, upgrades and also built a superior garden suite...we do hope you can return one day soon and enjoy our new revamped bathrooms and "look"! It is still just as relaxing as ever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Warm welcome, clean and comfy rooms (we were given an upgrade because they weren't busy) and delicious breakfast. Pool area was lovely and not far from the sea. We stayed here because of its proximity to Port Elizabeth airport (just an hour's drive) but did feel St Francis Bay was a little sterile. This pretty and hospitable guest house made up for it though!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thanks for your wonderful compliments on our clean, comfy rooms and the delicious breakfasts!
We do appreciate all the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

3 couples, nearing retirement, travelling towards Port Elizabeth prior to Safari could not work out why our travel organiser gave us a stop over at this some what out of the way location until we got there. Its quite lovely and once given the list of things to do in the area, found plenty to keep us amused, although i have to draw the line at the suggestion of a house purchase. We were told about the local eateries, places to walk around and the visit to the coast line at the lighthouse was very exhilarating with the crashing waves, rod fishermen and the night fishing boats. The owners and staff looked after us very well and even though all our rooms were not all ready as we were there early they made sure we were organised enough to continue with our days activities. The rooms were good, we had a family room for just the two of us but i'm sure for someone who needs a family room it was a good layout with the kids area above the bathroom. Breakfast was as good as we've come to expect with a good selection and when we left to continue our journey we stopped for a short while at the harbour area of one of the canals and then we could see why buying a house was on the things to do list, they're absolutely amazing and all with a water frontage.

Room Tip: The room we had was a family room with an upper level for the children away from the main house but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DOUGAL_London_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thanks for your lovely review of not just Sandals GH, but of St Francis attractions and things to do as well. Are you SURE you don't want to buy a house here?
My staff also pride themselves on knowing about all the lovely eateries in St Francis, places to see and things to experience as that is what makes a stay-over so worthwhile. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Beds
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We had the best welcome ever, from Tess, the owner, when arriving at this unique guest house. We were early so our room was not ready but we were given lovely hot coffee and homemade biscuits and Tess had time to tell us about the area and where to visit.
We were definately not dissapointed with our room when we arrived back later, we had the lovely honeymoon suite with delightful balcony overlooking the pool and garden, it had everything.
On the first evening there ,a traditional Braai - not to be missed- easily the best meal we had on our holiday.
Breakfast was taken poolside and was delicious -again, the staff were so attentive and friendly, nothing was too much trouble.
The location of this house was also brilliant in as much as you can walk through the garden and down to the most beautiful beach and a great walk to the mouth of the estuary-lovely!
Please go and stay at this lovely guest house, you could not be dissapointed, we certainly weren't.
Lastly a huge Thank You to Tess our stay was certainly a memorable one and hopefully we will be back one day in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaNorthBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
We really appreciate your detailed review and feedback on your stay here with us. Thanks for the time taken to do this.
Yes, our traditional Braai's in your words are " not to be missed"..."easily the best meal we had on our holiday" Wow, thank you for the great compliment!
No operation can run without great staff and yes mine are "simply the best" - in my words! Thank you for your comments - they are very "attentive and friendly, nothing (is) too much trouble" for them. My staff thrive on positive feedback as well. We certainly hope you can manage a return trip one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This place just oozes relaxation! A really cute house all under thatch with a pretty garden and pool. Very handy for the village and its restaurants and only a short walk to the most amazing perfect beach! Our room on the first floor had its own little balcony and dining table. Whilst every house in the village is painted white and is thatched, inside the house is lit with a rainbow of colour and feels happy and relaxed. The breakfast was easily the best we had during our time in South Africa and the staff were really friendly and attentive. Great dinner at Christie's Catch in the village. We wished we had had more time here as the ambience to chill out was enticing, however had to leave to make our safari in time. We will definitely return here and stay for longer next time!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyZia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
We LIKE that - "oozes relaxation!" Thanks for the great feedback, information on the village and surroundings for your fellow traveler searching for interesting places to visit & stay!
Positive reviews also reflect so positively on the area and village as well and we still need to advertise just how BEAUTIFUL and wonderful St Francis Bay is.
Thank you again for your effort to do just that for us all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The owners and their staff run a really lovely guest house. The welcome its personal and the room was clean and pleasant. We had a nice dinner in the evening of the 1 night we stayed - a traditional Braai cooked by Ryszard, accompanied by excellent salads and veg from Tess.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Si_Bailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
0.7 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
98 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#2 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
151 reviews
1.5 mi away
i-Lollo Lodge
i-Lollo Lodge
#5 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
163 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brisan On The Canals
Brisan On The Canals
#9 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Guest House

Property: Sandals Guest House
Address: 4 Napier Road | St Francis Bay, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned 150 metres from main beach, Sandals Boutique Guesthouse offers its guests a unique and international blend of superb hospitality, cuisine and service. The beauty, tranquillity and friendly hospitality of Sandals will ensure you have a chance to relax and enjoy the "laid-back" luxury which Sandals Guest House provides. Sensational surf, pristine beaches, rugged coastline & indigenous fynbos create a perfect setting for relaxation & play in St Francis Bay! Within walking distance or a few minute’s drive away are fabulous restaurants, quaint village shops, Port St Francis, nature walks, Jack Nicklaus award-winning St Francis Links & our local St Francis Bay Golf Club! No holiday in South Africa is complete without experiencing our warmth, friendliness and personal service at Sandals, St Francis Bay.We will ensure you leave relaxed, rejuvenated and determined to return again soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandals Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing