We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful & friendly staff, nice room and facilities.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandals Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Helpful & friendly staff, nice room and facilities.”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Lovely welcome from Tapiwa, who was very helpful the whole stay. St Francis itself was a bit too quite for us (could be too early in the season) but we enjoyed taking it easy for the day we were there. Could really chill in Sandals.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KTDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thanks for the lovely mention of Tapiwa's great welcome. Always nice for my excellent staff to get a special mention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    76
    19
    13
    2
See reviews for
51
172
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from S.A and stayed here for our last night...its an amazing place.The rooms are spacious..we had 2 private outdoor seating areas!If your room is downstairs your shower is also outdoors (undercover!) which was fab in the morning!The staff are all very helpful too..not much to do in St Francis but if the weathers good it has amazing beaches and the whole place has a real villagey feel to it.Would have loved to have stayed longer here but hopefully we'll return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hannah_oley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thanks for the lovely review and praise. Yes, our outdoor showers on the private decks of the downstairs rooms are wonderful...well, especially in the summer! Lovely to hear that you will be back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

What a lovely place! The rooms are decorated in almost an afro-caribbean fashion and are FABulous- our first experience with an outdoor shower! The only drawback was not being able to stay longer... The recommendation for dinner was perfect- only a short stroll from the B&B- and the breakfast in the the morning was excellent in a country that excells in B&B's. Tess and Tapiwa were flawless hosts and their friendliness and professionalism shone through. Ryszard was great to chat with as well when we returned in the evening to relax and play a game of cards after our walk on the beach- also only a short stroll. All in all making it a truly a wonderful, wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kerryraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The staff are absolutely wonderful and the rooms are lovely but could do with a refurbishment. Bathrobes seem to be a standard feature in B&B's in this price range but the fabric was not something I would want touching my skin...bath salts were a really nice touch and the outdoor shower was really nice too.
Location is great, minutes walk from the beach and a few restaurants and staff provide great recommendations and make bookings for you. St Francis is a bit sterile but pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheLulu99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gossau SG
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We are standing for 1 night in this beautiful Hotel. We haven't reserve a room before and have become a very beautiful room. The room was comfortable. The personal was so friendly and help us to find the most interesting places in St. Francis.
The Breakfast in the mornings was big and we could choice from everything we needed. We enjoyed it and we come back, if we travel for a next time through South Africa! Thank you for all…

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pascal_S_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Thank you Pascal for your review and kind words about your brief stay here at Sandals GH and in St Francis Bay. You both had an exciting trip through South Africa. We do hope you will return again one day soon...to our lovely little town on one of the most beautiful stretches of "African" coastline as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stopped at Sandals on the way from PE to Knysna for one night. The guest house is really attractive both inside and outside, and we had a lovely bedroom with comfortable beds for us and our youngest child + good bathroom. We had a great breakfast the next morning and the owners were very helpful in giving advice on what to see on the way to Knysna. The only disappointing thing was that we had not arranged to stay for longer!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Paul,
thank you for taking the time to review Sandals GH and for our lovely positive review! Yes, disappointing too that you only had ONE night with us and in St Francis Bay but of course there is always a next time...and you would be so warmly welcomed back into our "house"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The warm hospitality at Sandals is just lovely. A home from home. Our rooms were big, clean and very comfortable and your every need is taken care of - so accomodating. Eating breakfast outside on the patio by the pool is such a relaxing experience and we just loved the "Caribbean pancakes" as we dubbed them - various kinds but the bacon, banana with maple syrup pancakes were our favourite! The owners and management of Sandals are very informative about what to do around St Francis, where to dine etc. They seem so proud of their town and rightly so, as St Francis bay is so unique - every house and building is white with either a black thatch or grey slate roof and this lends to the outstanding beauty of the place. It has such a calm and relaxing atmosphere and there is so much to do in the area, from the sea and nature activities to beautiful golf courses. The Walskipper restaurant in nearby Jeffreys Bay is an absolute must and very different from most! Outstanding fresh-from-the-sea seafood right on the beach in such a laid back setting - beach sand for the restaurant floor, quaint wooden garden sheds for the bathrooms, old enamel crockery. Quite an experience. A superb town and guest house for a holiday. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelanieErica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Melanie
Very special having you all to stay with us for a few days! Our Caribbean Pancakes are such a hit and glad the kids loved them - "big kids" spoil themselves too with this decadent breakfast choice!
We are very proud of our beautiful village and privileged to be able to share with so many travelers from all over the world...and "first time" South African visitors as well! We do hope you return one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
2.2 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
606 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
102 reviews
11.3 mi away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 2 in Humansdorp
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
170 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#2 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
152 reviews
1.5 mi away
i-Lollo Lodge
i-Lollo Lodge
#5 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Guest House

Property: Sandals Guest House
Address: 4 Napier Road | St Francis Bay, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned 150 metres from main beach, Sandals Boutique Guesthouse offers its guests a unique and international blend of superb hospitality, cuisine and service. The beauty, tranquillity and friendly hospitality of Sandals will ensure you have a chance to relax and enjoy the "laid-back" luxury which Sandals Guest House provides. Sensational surf, pristine beaches, rugged coastline & indigenous fynbos create a perfect setting for relaxation & play in St Francis Bay! Within walking distance or a few minute’s drive away are fabulous restaurants, quaint village shops, Port St Francis, nature walks, Jack Nicklaus award-winning St Francis Links & our local St Francis Bay Golf Club! No holiday in South Africa is complete without experiencing our warmth, friendliness and personal service at Sandals, St Francis Bay.We will ensure you leave relaxed, rejuvenated and determined to return again soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandals Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing