We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect last night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandals Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect last night”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A beautiful place to spend our last night in South Africa -just wished we had been able to spend more time exploring the village and locality.
Room was beautifully presented with lots of small details such as complimentary wine and nibbles.
Staff very friendly and helpful and the place had a lovely relaxed atmosphere. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy_200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thanks for your lovely review of our property and the staff. We certainly hope you can be back one day and stay for longer as you wished!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    76
    19
    13
    2
See reviews for
51
172
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Sandals was the first stop of our holiday and after the flights it was the perfect start. We were met with a smile and a drink by Tapiwa and that set the tone. The venue is lovely, peaceful and so quiet and our room (6) was beautiful......the outside shower was an unexpected surprise! Tess and Hieta made us feel very welcome and could not do enough for us and the brai in the evening was great. My only fear is the rest of the venues on our trip have a lot to live up to! Thank you all at Sandals for a lovely start to our SA adventure!!!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottm79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Happy to know we lived up to your expectations and started you off on your trip in SA with a " perfect start." Our evening braais are a wonderfully relaxing way to enjoy our hospitality and food. Glad you joined. We certainly thank you for the very high praise as you put it - "My only fear is the rest of the venues on our trip have a lot to live up to! Thank you all at Sandals for a lovely start to our SA adventure!!!!!". Knowing our product in this country as we do, we are sure you experienced equally high standards throughout the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A very warm welcome here. We had lovely airy room with two patios for 2 nights. Pretty garden and pool area. Close to the beach, village centre and golf course. Delicious breakfast. Would recommend this guesthouse

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynK6012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thanks for your review of Sandals GH. We hope to see you back in our country one day soon and thanks for recommending Sandals to all those who will view us in future on Tripadvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bredsten, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

THis is a very nice place to stay in St FRancis bay. The rooms are large, with several annexes or patios, some are covered, some are not. Our room had two patios, one with deck chairs (which were occupied by live cats) and one with a small table and normal chairs. The bathroom had a tub, but outside on the third patio, there was a shower with hot and cold water. The breakfast the next morning was beautiful and plentyful, so all in all a good place to stay

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forestenergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you kindly for your review of Sandals GH. Really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we gave you a good breakfast before you moved on in your travels. Hope to see you back in SA one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Well thought out ten or so guest place. Small pool, lovely condition to the garden. Thatch roof through which you can hear the ocean and the bird song. Very warm welcome and good if not amazing breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonMedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thanks for the lovely praise of our "warm welcome", "amazing breakfast" and "lovely" garden...it is a privilege to be able to hear "bird song" (as you put it so beautifully) and the ocean whilst relaxing...We certainly hope you will be back to experience these joys once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahamstown, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

my wife and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend at Sandals Guest houes. On our arrival Tapiwa served us with complimentary coffee and a delicious chocolate cake. Our room was upgraded from a statndard room to a superior room. Tapiwa then recommended several restaurants in the area. We tried out two of them and were not disappointed. The rooms were neat and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. The service from all the staff was beyond approach. I will definetly be staying there again and wiil recommend Sandals to anyone staying over at St Francis Bay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thanks for your time taken to review our establishment. Our signature chocolate cake is always a "winner". Glad you enjoyed. I do have 2 excellent Managers in Heather & Tapiwa and really appreciate you complimenting my staff & the service received from all! Hope to see you again in our "house".

I
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhb
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

For a small seaside town there are a lot of guesthouses to choose from. I would reccommend Sandals as it has a good location, the staff are very friendly and helpfull, the rooms are comfortable. There are restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_zaJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you Steve for your review of Sandals GH. We really do appreciate all the positive comments and feedback. Hope to see you back here one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
2.2 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
606 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
102 reviews
11.3 mi away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 2 in Humansdorp
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
170 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#2 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
152 reviews
1.5 mi away
i-Lollo Lodge
i-Lollo Lodge
#5 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Guest House

Property: Sandals Guest House
Address: 4 Napier Road | St Francis Bay, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned 150 metres from main beach, Sandals Boutique Guesthouse offers its guests a unique and international blend of superb hospitality, cuisine and service. The beauty, tranquillity and friendly hospitality of Sandals will ensure you have a chance to relax and enjoy the "laid-back" luxury which Sandals Guest House provides. Sensational surf, pristine beaches, rugged coastline & indigenous fynbos create a perfect setting for relaxation & play in St Francis Bay! Within walking distance or a few minute’s drive away are fabulous restaurants, quaint village shops, Port St Francis, nature walks, Jack Nicklaus award-winning St Francis Links & our local St Francis Bay Golf Club! No holiday in South Africa is complete without experiencing our warmth, friendliness and personal service at Sandals, St Francis Bay.We will ensure you leave relaxed, rejuvenated and determined to return again soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandals Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing