We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A haven after all the driving.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandals Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandals Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham sussex
Level Contributor
259 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A haven after all the driving.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

A great place to stay after all the driving before flying up to Jo'burg. The breakfasts were lovely and all the staff very helpful. The downside was that even though we had 2 patios we had no view which was a shame. Does probably need a few more fans or aircon as it was hot at night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thanks for the praise on our breakfasts and staff. Much appreciated getting feedback. I just wanted to comment on the setup of our rooms and GH as well.
Our standard rooms just have delightful patio decks surrounded by trees and flowers in the flowerboxes/ or balcony, a private space to sit outside. Only our superior rooms have garden and pool views. Yes February was one of the hottest we have experienced in many years...but all our upstairs rooms have huge ceiling fans and the downstairs ones standing fans. Not being 5 star, (and not required by Tourism Grading SA) we do not have air conditioning. But all rooms have huge sliding doors and many windows for cross-ventilation and light. But, maybe this is something to think about...often can be noisy though and AC is really not healthy..in my humble opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    72
    19
    10
    2
See reviews for
47
164
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stopped over in St Francis for a 3 day relax after a game safari - the town itself was a ghost town with not much about it but the Sandals guesthouse was lovely. We were in a cottage at the bottom of the garden with a lovely outdoor bathroom but the wifi didn't extend to there which was rather inconvenient especially for the price. The breakfasts were delicious with a good choice on offer - especially recommend the banana and bacon pancake and the pool area was great to relax in. Finding somewhere to eat wasn't necessarily easy as a lot seemed to be closed and that would be my only negative plus the wifi. Otherwise a very relaxing stay with helpful staff and a great honesty bar!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugartot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Lovely review and we do thank you. Sorry you felt St Francis too quiet for you...I find this very surprising especially in our peak times Dec, Jan & Feb. On Monday nights many restaurants are closed but there are still 3-4 choices open...so for a really small village I think that is pretty good! Remember, St Francis is so tiny compared to Cape Town, larger coastal towns and cities!
But we appreciate the positive feedback on all else and again, thank you for that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

A lovely place to get away from it all - superbly located in beautiful St Francis Bay, tastefully decorated, clean and with super friendly owners and staff. We only spent one night here this time, but we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Brett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Lovely review and we are so grateful for the summary of your happy stay with us! Please visit us again soon.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stopped here so that we got a good run at getting to our east coast Safari reserve pretty early. It was a very spacious comfortable room and the place really deserves it's rating. The staff were really helpful and charming and the area is quiet and conducive to a good nights sleep. The whole area is quite quiet and we were there on a Monday evening, when dining options are more limited. We managed to get a table at a local steak bar which was straightforward and decent food.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank welshtraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thanks for your words & I quote..."It was a very spacious comfortable room and the place really deserves it's rating. The staff were really helpful and charming and the area is quiet and conducive to a good nights sleep. " We have had a few comments on lack of fans recently, thus spoiling a decent night's sleep. Sandals is TGCSA 4 stars and thus not required to have AC...but so many guests seem to expect it or DO NOT read exactly what facillities we do have on offer when they book & are thus disappointed! They also unfairly compare 4 & 5 star establishments as as 90% of my guests are booked via tour operators and are international. I always ask where else they are staying or have stayed...and it is in both ranges of 4 & 5 star establishments...and then they forget that we are not 5 star!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Nice quiet location in a very interesting town and room was OK even if a bit tired and no view with light blocked out. Welcome was extremely friendly and helpful and breakfast in the morning was good and promptly served. However, the big issue was that the room was far too hot (and it was quite windy and cool outside) with no air con or a fan. We arrived at about 7 PM and realised at about 8 when leaving to go to dinner that it might stay hot overnight but no-one on duty at that time to ask about borrowing a fan. Ended up with a hot night of poor sleep - I even got up for an hour to try and cool down in the lounge under the ceiling fan. Given the number of UK visitors there they really need to do something about it and not just wait for people to ask (which is no good anyway if no-one there to ask). Shame but it did spoil our stay.

Room Tip: Check that it either has a/c or a fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seergreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thanks for your time taken to review us. Ye, it is an interesting town with lots to do if you enjoy the nature, wide open unspoiled beaches, peace & relaxation too. Extensive upgrades to rooms & bathrooms were done 18 months ago so we are sorry you felt this when so many others have voiced how appreciative they are of the rooms, facillities, decor and special touches.
Our standard rooms just have delightful patio decks/ balconies, a private secluded space to sit outside. Only our superior rooms have garden and pool views. Your agent booked a standard room. February was one of the hottest we have experienced in many years...but all our upstairs rooms have huge ceiling fans and the downstairs ones standing fans. Not being 5 stars, we do not have air conditioning. I am sorry about your fan...they were all overworked as we had such a heat wave...and I could not get this room's one replaced in time. However, you should have been advised, and for your poor night's sleep and our lack of communication, we do apologize. Just so surprised that you mention it was windy & cool outside...but room hot! All rooms have huge sliding doors, and many windows...making for great cross ventilation, even at night. Did you feel unsafe to leave any windows at all open. It is a great pity if you did as St Francis is a super safe place to be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

When you're inside Sandals, you might as well have entered a different world. Very cool design, excellent room, we felt so comfortable there... having picnics on our roof terrace watching an Ibis mommy guarding her nest in the nearby tree...
Great breakfast, always fresh to order, Tess and Richard look after their guests like they are family...
We booked three days here to take a break from all the driving and being busy tourists, and we got exactly what we had hoped for. Good tip: rent a bike from the lovely lady at the bike shop in the village to explore the cape area - you'll definitely be hungry for one of the fantastic dinner places recommended!
Thank you especially Tapiwa not just for your help in sending a parcel with our left-behind Marimba (I think a tune with your name is currently being composed on it ;), but also for the lovely chats and giving us some insight into African live. We wish you personally all the best!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CindyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Front Office Manager at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 1 March 2015
So happy we could help with the parcel and again, thanks for the lovely review. We always try our best and appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erding, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Thx for two wonderful nights in Sandals Guest House with the best Guest House Manager in South Africa :-)@Tapiwa. Everything was perfect. Thx to the lovely service too. Rooms are beautiful and comfortable, garden & pool are beautiful too. 1 of the best stays we had in SA.

Minou & Basti

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Basti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thanks Minou & Basti for the lovely words of praise. You are quite right - I have great managers and staff! Come back for a visit one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
2.2 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#2 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.5 mi away
i-Lollo Lodge
i-Lollo Lodge
#4 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Milkwood Country Cottage
Milkwood Country Cottage
#7 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Guest House

Property: Sandals Guest House
Address: 4 Napier Road | St Francis Bay, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned 150 metres from main beach, Sandals Boutique Guesthouse offers its guests a unique and international blend of superb hospitality, cuisine and service. The beauty, tranquillity and friendly hospitality of Sandals will ensure you have a chance to relax and enjoy the "laid-back" luxury which Sandals Guest House provides. Sensational surf, pristine beaches, rugged coastline & indigenous fynbos create a perfect setting for relaxation & play in St Francis Bay! Within walking distance or a few minute’s drive away are fabulous restaurants, quaint village shops, Port St Francis, nature walks, Jack Nicklaus award-winning St Francis Links & our local St Francis Bay Golf Club! No holiday in South Africa is complete without experiencing our warmth, friendliness and personal service at Sandals, St Francis Bay.We will ensure you leave relaxed, rejuvenated and determined to return again soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sandals Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing