We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort & Pleasure in St Francis Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandals Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Comfort & Pleasure in St Francis Bay”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spent 2 nights recently at Sandals & found the staff friendly & so accommodating. Heather made sure we had everything we needed when we booked in. We chose the Garden room, number 11, & loved having our own space with a lovely view of the pool & garden.
The room has everything a traveler would need & the bed was fabulous, big & so comfortable .The rooms are spotlessly clean & nicely decorated.
The breakfast at Sandals must be the best in town with fresh fruit in season,cereals a beautiful choice of eggs, pancakes, omelettes. A lovely cheeseboard, lots of coffee. Wow ! Really well cooked by Patricia too.
If I have to criticize, the kettle in the room has a very short cord & had to be boiled on the floor in order to reach the plug. We would have liked a light on outside our room for when we got home later & we were bit disappointed with the TV channel selection. Also a bit concerned about security at night, as there is no off street parking & direct access to the garden is available to all.
Overall a very comfortable, peaceful,welcoming stay. Thanks Rys & Tess.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlossPortElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 5 December 2014
What a lovely review with lots of information for others to read. Thank you so much for taking your time to review Sandals.And constructive comments are also so welcome. The rooms have some lovely features and our guests comment on this here and in our guest book. Sorry about the kettle. we have sourced cordless ones so all are being replaced. It will make life on holiday a little easier.
Your room and the outside area all has lighting. And in our garden suite we have installed additional lighting at point of entrance, not just deck area where the lights are. Please understand that you are on holiday and we cannot cater to everyone's tv channel choices. We have a "more than" standard guesthouse DSTV package. It all costs a lot of monthly, especially for 10 rooms. We have FREE wireless throughout the property and in the rooms...do you know that so many places charge for this? Our parking is OFF-street. St Francis prides itself on being a relatively safe & peaceful village. I hope we do not have to surround ourselves with huge walls, electric fencing on top etc ...what you see all the time in big cities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    76
    19
    13
    2
See reviews for
51
172
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I had the joy of spending a night at the beautiful Sandals Guest House Hotel. It was everything a solo traveler needed. The receptionist was warm and very helpful. My room had all the amenities and I loved my view. I also loved the big bathroom which was a God send after much travel. They have real beds.
I met a couple who were there for a couple of days and they too loved it.
The guest house is a walking distance to the beach and shops. The area is safe.
I enjoyed their breakfast meal and loved my room. They free wi-fi was a bonus.
I highly recommend the guest house for solo travelers and couples. Sandals Guest House is

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious and they have real beds. Each room has it's own view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Manager at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback which is always so appreciated! an thank you for highly recommending us to others. We are committed to making our guests happy & strive to perform well in all areas of our service & hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Graceful harmony in peaceful environment. We liked our room flowing in the garden. Well appointed and extremely clean. Host and hostess could not be more charming. Restaurants recommendations were great! We will come back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank YvesGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Manager at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback which is always so appreciated! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a lovely time at Sandals - so close to the beach, restaurants within walking distance in the evening, such a relaxing environment with extremely attentive staff. Can't wait to visit again. Fab!


  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Manager at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Great to receive your valued review! It was wonderful to have you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We visited Sandals in January 2014 and found it absolutely delightful. Sadly, we were only there for a stopover but we would thoroughly recommend this guest house as a spot for a restful, luxurious holiday. The room was spacious, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. There was a small separate sitting room, a furnished garden area, a luxurious bathroom and an outside shower! GO....you will enjoy it!!
Anne & George Lindsay
Lichfield, Staffs, UK

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Manager at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Thank you Anne, we really appreciate the feed back and we hope next time you will stay a bit longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

St Francis Bay is a great spot to stay, and Sandals was excellent, we wish we had stayed longer, this is a place we would go back to. Heather was very helpful. We had a good room with outside shower and two separate outside seating areas, the facilities were good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank borntotravel1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Manager at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review us, we really appreciate, We hope to see you again for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham sussex
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

A great place to stay after all the driving before flying up to Jo'burg. The breakfasts were lovely and all the staff very helpful. The downside was that even though we had 2 patios we had no view which was a shame. Does probably need a few more fans or aircon as it was hot at night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thanks for the praise on our breakfasts and staff. Much appreciated getting feedback. I just wanted to comment on the setup of our rooms and GH as well.
Our standard rooms just have delightful patio decks surrounded by trees and flowers in the flowerboxes/ or balcony, a private space to sit outside. Only our superior rooms have garden and pool views. Yes February was one of the hottest we have experienced in many years...but all our upstairs rooms have huge ceiling fans and the downstairs ones standing fans. Not being 5 star, (and not required by Tourism Grading SA) we do not have air conditioning. But all rooms have huge sliding doors and many windows for cross-ventilation and light. But, maybe this is something to think about...often can be noisy though and AC is really not healthy..in my humble opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
2.2 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
606 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
102 reviews
11.3 mi away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 2 in Humansdorp
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
170 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#2 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
152 reviews
1.5 mi away
i-Lollo Lodge
i-Lollo Lodge
#5 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Guest House

Property: Sandals Guest House
Address: 4 Napier Road | St Francis Bay, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned 150 metres from main beach, Sandals Boutique Guesthouse offers its guests a unique and international blend of superb hospitality, cuisine and service. The beauty, tranquillity and friendly hospitality of Sandals will ensure you have a chance to relax and enjoy the "laid-back" luxury which Sandals Guest House provides. Sensational surf, pristine beaches, rugged coastline & indigenous fynbos create a perfect setting for relaxation & play in St Francis Bay! Within walking distance or a few minute’s drive away are fabulous restaurants, quaint village shops, Port St Francis, nature walks, Jack Nicklaus award-winning St Francis Links & our local St Francis Bay Golf Club! No holiday in South Africa is complete without experiencing our warmth, friendliness and personal service at Sandals, St Francis Bay.We will ensure you leave relaxed, rejuvenated and determined to return again soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandals Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing