We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sands at St Francis
Nearby Hotels
Thatchwood(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape St Francis Resort(Cape St Francis)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savoy Hotel(Jeffreys Bay)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Oyster Bay Lodge(Oyster Bay)
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oyster Bay Lodge(Humansdorp)
US$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Hub Boutique Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
144
30
8
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
30
8
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotelhot tubindian oceangarden routest francisattention to detailinfinity poolone nightoverlooking the seagame reservetwo nightsthe ground floorpatio doorssteam roombeach sidedirect accessrooms are beautifully appointed
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2011

It was our 42nd wedding aniversary and it felt like our wedding night !! Heidi & Rudi gave us a treat of a life time. The views, the atmosphere just too fabulous. We ate like a King & Queen surely one of the top chefS in South Africa ! Paul our head waiter was an absolute star telling us all the history and what the Sands had to offer. To anyone who wants a romantic getaway the Sands has it all Good Hosts Good Food Luxury at its best. A very warm thank you to you all Kobus & Janus



Janus Kot

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

We stopped here for the last night of our journey on the Garden route and it was simply wonderful. Our ocean facing room was absolutely fine. Courtesy trays and mini bar were well stocked and provision of an expresso machine a first for us!! The only slight problem was the the flat screen television did not fit the old style TV cabinet.

Unfortunately when we arrived I had been a little unwell for some days. Late afternnon, we were asked to make selections for dinner from a very short menu. None of the options offered were vegetarian but the lady chef devised an alternative menu and cooked me an absolutely superb meal which I unfortunately could not finish.

Most of the rooms are ground floor with sun terraces facing the ocean. In the the small garden there is a sea water unheated swimming pool which although fairly narrow, is perfectly adequate and certainly a degree or two warmer than the actual ocean which we actually managed to take a dip in for all of 45 seconds!!

All of the staff were very nice people and our only regret about staying here was that it was only for 1 night.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skyecorrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

This hotel is a boutique hotel within the Protea hotel group - but with no disrespect to the hotel group (w did stay with them in J'burg and Cape Town and enjoyed their hospitality) one would rightly think that this is a small and classy boutique hotel under private management. It has none of the feeling off a hotel chain, only the warmth, great staff, and comfort that we all associate with small and private establishments.

The bedroom was spacious and comfortable.
We ate in (the only guests to do so) and had a great meal.
Breakfast we complete and perfect
and the guests areas had everything one could possibly need.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Small number of rooms, all of them very comfortable, great location at the beach, friendly and helpful service.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

I agree with everything "ripandemily" just posted in their review. Our only regret with the Sands is that we could only stay for one night! The service here was the best and warmest we have ever had. To the hand written welcome notes when we arrived to having our car washed and the gifts when we left. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. We were on our way to the Pumba Game Reserve and Chanelle (who also worked at the reserve) gave us lots of little tips about our upcoming stay there.
All of the food was wonderful and the small dining room beautiful too. Our room even had a private deck with our own hot tub! We took a long walk along the Indian Ocean collecting different sea shells before we left.
This was the best place to stop before our safari and I only wish I had booked a night after as well!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews