We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star gazing from the jacuzzi is highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sands at St Francis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Amazing location, right on the beach overlooking the Indian Ocean, and wonderfully friendly staff. Rudi welcomed us with the news that we'd been upgraded which meant we had a HUGE room with private balcony and jacuzzi. Utter luxury!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TartanHornplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for The Sands at St Francis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2011

This hotel really has an unbeatable location, backing as it does directly onto the Indian Ocean and a beautiful beach. We’ve used it as a stopping point en route between Cape Town and the Addo Elephant Park (although be warned that it’s a good 9-hour journey from Cape Town).

Great service, rooms, breakfast, everything. Can also highly recommend Christy’s Catch, the local rough-and-ready seafood restaurant, which is only a few minutes’ walk away.

Room Tip: All rooms look onto the sea
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SherpaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

A discreet, beautifully appointed beach house with spectacular views over the Indian Ocean. Bright, airy, colourful decor with incredibly well equipped immacutely clean rooms. Our large room had a very comfortable king size bed with good pillows, plenty of storage space and a comfortable sofa to lounge on. Each room has a Lavazza Espresso machine (wonderful coffee), fresh milk, full mini bar with lots of treats. Luxurious bathroom with large shower, a large jacuzzi bath, and lots of toiletries including lovely bath salts. No noise other than the sound of the sea! Large sitting out areas with 2 swimming pools, hot tub and direct access to a secluded part of the beach. Dinner is a treat - although there are restaurants in the area we would thoroughly recommend eating in for choice, taste and value for money. Excellent service, Paul is attentive and enthusiastic, the menu provided a choice of fresh cooked food, obviously the superb chef runs the kitchen very well. Good wines at sensible prices, great ambience at dinner, again with breathtaking views of the ocean. Breakfast was a great experience, again great choice of hot and cold foods, hot food made to order. Very helpful hosts, Heidi was on duty and is charming and a credit to her profession. Secure parking. We wish we could have stayed longer and shall do next time. St Francis Bay is a very unique location in the Eastern Cape in South Africa, up market, peaceful, interesting properties, much to see in the area and a lovely beach. The Sands entirely justifys its 5 star rating.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea and are spacious and comfortable
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BERTIEBELLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This is a lovely hotel on a beautiful beachfront. Our room was very attractive and spotlessly clean. Service was friendly, breakfast was wonderful, and when we left our car had been washed for us ! Saint Francis Bay is a super little beach town, upscale, but with a really relaxed vibe to it. Really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bytheseaMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

It was our 42nd wedding aniversary and it felt like our wedding night !! Heidi & Rudi gave us a treat of a life time. The views, the atmosphere just too fabulous. We ate like a King & Queen surely one of the top chefS in South Africa ! Paul our head waiter was an absolute star telling us all the history and what the Sands had to offer. To anyone who wants a romantic getaway the Sands has it all Good Hosts Good Food Luxury at its best. A very warm thank you to you all Kobus & Janus



Janus Kot

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

We stopped here for the last night of our journey on the Garden route and it was simply wonderful. Our ocean facing room was absolutely fine. Courtesy trays and mini bar were well stocked and provision of an expresso machine a first for us!! The only slight problem was the the flat screen television did not fit the old style TV cabinet.

Unfortunately when we arrived I had been a little unwell for some days. Late afternnon, we were asked to make selections for dinner from a very short menu. None of the options offered were vegetarian but the lady chef devised an alternative menu and cooked me an absolutely superb meal which I unfortunately could not finish.

Most of the rooms are ground floor with sun terraces facing the ocean. In the the small garden there is a sea water unheated swimming pool which although fairly narrow, is perfectly adequate and certainly a degree or two warmer than the actual ocean which we actually managed to take a dip in for all of 45 seconds!!

All of the staff were very nice people and our only regret about staying here was that it was only for 1 night.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skyecorrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

This hotel is a boutique hotel within the Protea hotel group - but with no disrespect to the hotel group (w did stay with them in J'burg and Cape Town and enjoyed their hospitality) one would rightly think that this is a small and classy boutique hotel under private management. It has none of the feeling off a hotel chain, only the warmth, great staff, and comfort that we all associate with small and private establishments.

The bedroom was spacious and comfortable.
We ate in (the only guests to do so) and had a great meal.
Breakfast we complete and perfect
and the guests areas had everything one could possibly need.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
2.1 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
620 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
104 reviews
11.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 2 in Humansdorp
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#4 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
295 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
155 reviews
1.5 mi away
i-Lollo Lodge
i-Lollo Lodge
#5 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands at St Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at St Francis

Address: 8 Frank Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range: £113 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands at St Francis 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A footstep away from the beach, a few minutes from the bustling village center and home to world class watersports and activities! This luxurious African beach house, located in the picturesque seaside village of St. Francis Bay, offers five spacious en-suite bedrooms, all with uninterrupted views of the majestic Indian Ocean and endless stretches of pristine coastline. All bedrooms are air-conditioned and offer 5 star luxury, opening onto private decks or balcony with stunning views of the beach and infinity pool. The honeymoon suite offers an extra outdoor shower and Jacuzzi hot tub on its deck, from where spectacular sunsets can be enjoyed. The glass-fronted Octagon Restaurant has a thatched roof, central fireplace and surrounding timber deck, providing a breathtaking 270 degree panoramic view of the bay. The Octagon serves breakfast, light lunches and a la carte dinners. St Francis Bay is situated close to the Eastern Cape's many malaria-free game reserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sands at St Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Saint Francis Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing