We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C Pienaar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mthatha
East London, South Africa
1 review
“C Pienaar”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Breakfast at Mike's Kitchen was good, and service fine. I assume they are contracted to you for this service. However, the service at their evening meal was terrible. Waiter never around when you want him, only takes order & disappears. No white wine by the glass!!??. Main meal arrived almost simultaneously with starter. Quality of food and service not commensurate with price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 11 April 2016
Thank you so much for the excellent review and comments. We are so pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and that our team went out of their way to make you feel welcome and looked after as you should be.
We hope to see you back here very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    84
    32
    14
    10
See reviews for
7
25
10
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Uvongo, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

What a surprise to find this hotel (like a motel) in Mthatha. The service is very friendly, the location safe, also for the cars. The rooms are okay, shower/toilette are clean. Right opposite you find Mike's kitchen restaurant. There you can enjoy a rich breakfast buffet. For your trip in or from the Eastern Cape we recommend this hotel for a stopover.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hans v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 11 April 2016
Thank you so much for the excellent review and comments. We are so pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and that our team went out of their way to make you feel welcome and looked after as you should be.
We hope to see you back here very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I found the hotel to be clean. The staff were warm and receptive. It was value for money. The location was convenient as I had to go to the nearby township for a funeral. I had a choice of 2 restaurants for my meals , which are situated nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nteb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 1 September 2015
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Receptionist rude. Included breakfast not asking what time we are leaving for our 10 drive back home. Asked for refund that was not even an option. Curtains falling appart. Table dirty, still sticky from last nights visitors. Suppose its the best hotel in Mthatha.... this is nothing more than a F1.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chantell d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 1 September 2015
Thank you for your review and comments, it is now 2015 and we have made such vast improvements and renovations as well as a new 4 star wing, we do hope you will come back and stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I knew the old Savoy Hotel in Mthatha which was a dive. When partner said he'd booked us at the Savoy i was apprehensive. Surprise was , this is the NEW Savoy and it was quite pleasant and its good value for money.
Its a motel type hotel and can be classified as 3 star. It is clean, comfortable, new and security is pretty good. All rooms airconditioned with flat screen TV with satellite channels , tea and coffee making facilities, ie all the utility things one needs. bring your own adapter for the 2 pin to charge your phones and tablets. And ther is a Spar supermarket, ATMs and fast food outlets close by.

Room Tip: If you have luggage , ask for a ground floor room so you have to lug your bags up the stairs. Oh, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyager26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 1 September 2015
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you back here soon. You should see our new addition our new 4 star Savoy Exec - we just keep getting better and better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewingar
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The room was compact, clean and neat - with a sprig of rosemary on the bed and a fabulous hot shower with good pressure. Nothing fancy but all we needed. Although busy, our room was quiet and despite jet lag we slept well. Close by was Mike's Kitchen for dinner - try the spare ribs - and wifi was available too. We had a little difficulty with transport to and from the airport but were saved by the kind and efficient assistant manager Joanne who whisked us off to the airport providing interesting and lively conversation all the way.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hayley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 1 September 2015
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudtshoorn
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2013

It was my first visit to Mthata and I was fortunate in the location of the hotel. It is located in a shopping precint and you are within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Safe parking was provided

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Albertus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 1 September 2015
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mthatha hotels
2.7 mi away
Big Five Guest House
Big Five Guest House
#6 of 42 in Mthatha
19 reviews
0.5 mi away
LLZZ Boutique Lodge
LLZZ Boutique Lodge
#20 of 42 in Mthatha
2 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Lodge Bellagio
#1 of 42 in Mthatha
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Garden Court Mthatha
Garden Court Mthatha
#2 of 4 in Mthatha
194 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre

Property: Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
Address: 912 Nelson Mandela Drive | Southernwood, Mthatha 5100, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Mthatha
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mthatha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Savoy & Conference Centre is just what you’ve been looking for in the city of Mthatha! The hotel is conveniently situated on Nelson Mandela Drive in Mthatha, boasting 101 luxury, air-conditioned rooms with en-suite bathrooms.Guests are offered peace of mind with 24 hour security and secure parking. Guests also have access to two national restaurants and – of course – our world-class conferencing facilities.It’s no wonder Hotel Savoy & Conference Centre is everyone’s preferred choice in Mthatha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing