We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Bloem”
Review of Brebner House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brebner House
Ranked #65 of 160 Bloemfontein B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Really enjoyed my weekend stay at Brebner House. The room was clean and spacious and the chocolates on the bed were a nice touch. We were really taken care of and the breakfast was fab! Will definately recommend Brebner House to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BronwenF_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

A very good stay in Bloem. Great value. Good Breakfast. Very comfortable. Hollow core room doors do make the rooms a bit noisy during the day. It was dead quiet at night. Ample easy to access parking was great too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Murray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Brebner House is a true home from home. I enjoyed every moment of my stay because of caring, wonderful hosts. The place is safe and convenient for any need. Everything is wonderful at Brebner House. .


  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thoko76 B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellouise v, Manager at Brebner House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Good afternoon Thokozani

I hope that you are well!!!

Thank you for your lovely review of Brebner House, it is dearly appreciated!
I would also like to thank you again for the card that you wrote us!

I hope that you and your family would pay us a visit in the future!!!

Enjoy the rest of your day!!!!

Warm regards
Ellouise:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

the service was absolutely amazing and the place is welcoming, tranquil and very private. they took really good care of us and we(me and my husband) felt at home. we would definitely go there again!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nametso M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

What an awesome place to be ! Elloise you care too much and your customer service is excellent. I'm looking for other excusse to be there soon so that I can enjoy more than one night is that place. The room I slept was awesome, I will ask for it again.I even wanted to sleep on the floor due to the nice carpet there.

Room Tip: Corner suits are have large rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NADJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed here in 2011 for the first time, just after the new owners had bought the place. We booked into the guest house again now and only once I arrived there did I realise it was the same place I had stayed before. I guess that tells you that it did not leave a lasting impression on me the first time. I was pleased to see that the place has undergone some renovations - from good painting to reformatting the kitchen and upgrading the breakfast area. We stayed in Room 2 which needs some TLC - the manageress was aware of this and on the day we left they were starting to repaint the room next door and the plan was to get to room 2 thereafter. There was a damp issue in the bathroom which was otherwise perfectly clean. The rooms are spacious with comfortable beds. We used the hydro boil in the breakfast area to make coffee instead of the kettle in the room as it was easier. The staff were all friendly and helpful. My recommendation to them though would be to upgrade from the Ricoffy and to change the aircons for oil heaters which are better to leave on a low setting overnight to keep out the freezing Bloemfontein air. I would stay there again to see how the further renovations improve the place.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank TS_SouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Brebner House felt like home away from home for me - all the time that I spent there. Whenever I go to Bloemfontein, by all means that place will be my first choice. The hostess is a wonderful soul and the rooms are spacious and clean. Walking distance to the malls and UFS. Quite serene and memorable too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Butholezwe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloemfontein hotels
1.9 mi away
B&B @ Bloem
B&B @ Bloem
#100 of 160 in Bloemfontein
20 reviews
3.5 mi away
21 On Coetzee Guest House
21 On Coetzee Guest House
#14 of 160 in Bloemfontein
88 reviews
2.8 mi away
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
#13 of 25 in Bloemfontein
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
#4 of 25 in Bloemfontein
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brebner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brebner House

Address: 84 Mellville Drive, Bloemfontein 9301, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bloemfontein
Hotel Class:3 star — Brebner House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Brebner House, your ideal business or leisure Guest House accommodation choice for your next stay in Bloemfontein. Located in the convenient and central suburb of Brandwag, we are a just a few kilometers from all major city amenities, the University of the Free State, and some of the best shopping and dining experiences to be found in Central South Africa are on our doorstep.The proud new owners, dynamic husband and wife team Chantell and Adriaan Strauss, would like to invite previous and new customers alike to experience the warmth and comfort many loyal return guests have come to expect. Brebner House offers its guests luxurious and comfortable accommodation at a very convenient and tranquil location without sacrificing any peace or privacy. The rooms are all equipped with en-suite bathrooms fitted with exquisite fixtures and you will find all the necessary away-from-home amenities. It is with a passion for hospitality that we hope you feel welcomed by the quality offering, captured in the pure Percale Cotton linen, the quality and comfort of our beds, our abundant breakfasts and the quiet privacy when you -our valued guest- retires for the evening to your room.To round off our accommodation experience to you, we have fitted air-conditioning all of our rooms, and we have a well-kept swimming pool and barbeque facility, coupled with safe off-street parking behind remote-controlled gates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brebner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing