We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay in Bloem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Franklin View Guest House
Ranked #1 of 155 Bloemfontein B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Gustav and Marietjie makes this experience something to remember. Fantastic hospitality and always a warm welcome at this Guest House. Gustav always willing to help. Recently he purchased a gift for my colleague who celebrated her birthday on my request. He ensured that the day was special for her, Thanks Gustav.

Room Tip: Fantastic view in most rooms. Limited parking
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johanwolmarans0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
There are newer reviews for Franklin View Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

We enjoyed our stopover immensely. The location is the highlight, with is panoramic views. Also enjoyed the hospitailty, warm welcome, room quality and general ambiance. Negatives were the "open plan loo" in the main bedroom and the many steps one has to climb, from the carpark to reception. Recommend a small overnight bag, to avoid lugging heavy suitcases up the stairs. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Doug E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Beautiful Guest House, stunning views, food, great hospitality. Would stay there again and would recommend it. Lovely room with crisp linen etc. Think it should be mentioned that it is very steep and wheelchair persons might struggle.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We only spent 1 night. All of the wood is magnificent. Gustav and his wife went out of their way to please. Very friendly and very helpful. I like having big rooms, a fridge and tea / coffee facilities, rather than small cramped hotel-rooms with expensive, useless trimmings. The balcony and the mosquito-plug were also appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I can only say positive things about this guesthouse. The decor is excellent, as is the location, which is on a hill, close to the city center. The room was well appointed & quiet. I would certainly return there in the future and can recommend this place for both business and tourism.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view are probably better, but I think all rooms would be equally good.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPAMELOPE010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My stay at Franklin view guest house was one of a kind. I was warmly welcomed and the place was quite and relaxing to be around. The staff members became a family away from home to me. Thank you Gustav

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nelson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This must surely be one of the best Bloemfontein can offer - We prefer guest houses over hotels 10 out of 10 times and were very happy to found this establishment in Bloemfontein. we been there twice and will certainly go there again and again

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have the best view of the city
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BennievdW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloemfontein hotels
2.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake
2.6 mi away
Anta Boga Hotel
Anta Boga Hotel
#2 of 25 in Bloemfontein
117 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Suburban
The Suburban
#4 of 155 in Bloemfontein
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lemon & Lime
Lemon & Lime
#2 of 155 in Bloemfontein
140 reviews
5.0 mi away
Liedjiesbos B&B
Liedjiesbos B&B
#3 of 155 in Bloemfontein
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adeo
Adeo
#16 of 155 in Bloemfontein
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklin View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklin View Guest House

Address: 9E Innes Avenue | Waverley, Bloemfontein 9301, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bloemfontein
Price Range: £58 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Franklin View Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franklin View is an up market Guesthouse situated on the Northern slopes of Naval Hill (The highest house on the Northern slopes) with a magnificent view over the suburb of Waverley with its beautiful trees of purple, orange and green during daytime and an ocean of flickering lights at night.The rustic atmosphere of yellow wood and leather in the spacious living area gives you a warm feeling of comfort.Enjoy a misty morning breakfast in the company of awakening birds.Each of the luxurious rooms with its panoramic view opens on a balcony.We are easy accessible from the N1 and only 5 minutes away from city centre and +-10 minutes from the airport.• Franklin View boasts the best view situated on the northern slopes of Naval Hill • The decor in Franklin View is rustic with an emphasis on yellow wood and leather • Luxurious en- suite rooms with DSTV • Splash pool and braai area • Your hosts Marietjie and Gustav Swanepoel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Franklin View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing