We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second stay--still the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franklin View Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Franklin View Guest House
Ranked #1 of 142 Bloemfontein B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Second stay--still the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is the second year in a row I have stayed at the Franklin View Guest House while on business in Bloem. The guest house remains my favorite ever. The rooms are spotless and extremely comfortable. Breakfast is extraordinary. But most of all, the hosts make you feel extraordinarily welcome. This place is the absolute best.

Room Tip: The larger rooms cost a bit more, but are so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler2009Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    49
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
105
14
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Relatives booked the Franklin View on our behalf. This was our first visit to South Africa and we were treated to the best way to see this diverse country - by road! This hotel was a stop on our way back to the Scottburgh area through Durban. This truly was a hidden gem, found with the assistance of GPS. Gustav gave us what I think would have been the best room in the house on the second floor. We felt like we were staying in a romantic, tree house setting! Very unique with a gorgeous view of the city of Bloomfontein. Breakfast was included with our stay. Gustav and his staff were sure to ensure we had everything we needed - eggs, bacon, fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee, etc. - all in a beautiful dining area! If you stay at the Franklin View, be sure to roam the grounds as they have truly made this a warm and welcoming home for their visitors! An eclectic oasis not to be missed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from parking area as they are quieter and nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MexicoTraveller2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Appropriately highly-rated B&B in the suburbs of Bloemfontein. Stunning room and very well looked after during our stay by Gustav, Marike and their team. Scrumptious breakfasts, served as soon as you are seated. Pre-arrival special arrangements carried out perfectly, with thanks. Will definitely be our accommodation of choice in Bloemfontein.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miken0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Unusual and unique. A hidden gem in Bloemfontein. Better value than what is
on offer at and from most hotel chains. Close to airport and easy to find. Various different room sizes and types to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mylawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Gustav and Marietjie makes this experience something to remember. Fantastic hospitality and always a warm welcome at this Guest House. Gustav always willing to help. Recently he purchased a gift for my colleague who celebrated her birthday on my request. He ensured that the day was special for her, Thanks Gustav.

Room Tip: Fantastic view in most rooms. Limited parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johanwolmarans0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We enjoyed our stopover immensely. The location is the highlight, with is panoramic views. Also enjoyed the hospitailty, warm welcome, room quality and general ambiance. Negatives were the "open plan loo" in the main bedroom and the many steps one has to climb, from the carpark to reception. Recommend a small overnight bag, to avoid lugging heavy suitcases up the stairs. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Doug E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Beautiful Guest House, stunning views, food, great hospitality. Would stay there again and would recommend it. Lovely room with crisp linen etc. Think it should be mentioned that it is very steep and wheelchair persons might struggle.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloemfontein hotels
2.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake
2.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
#5 of 22 in Bloemfontein
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
2.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dersley Manor
Dersley Manor
#4 of 142 in Bloemfontein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
5.0 mi away
Liedjiesbos B&B
Liedjiesbos B&B
#2 of 142 in Bloemfontein
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marrakech Guesthouse
Marrakech Guesthouse
#9 of 142 in Bloemfontein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklin View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklin View Guest House

Property: Franklin View Guest House
Address: 9E Innes Avenue | Waverley, Bloemfontein 9301, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Bloemfontein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Franklin View Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franklin View is an up market Guesthouse situated on the Northern slopes of Naval Hill (The highest house on the Northern slopes) with a magnificent view over the suburb of Waverley with its beautiful trees of purple, orange and green during daytime and an ocean of flickering lights at night.The rustic atmosphere of yellow wood and leather in the spacious living area gives you a warm feeling of comfort.Enjoy a misty morning breakfast in the company of awakening birds.Each of the luxurious rooms with its panoramic view opens on a balcony.We are easy accessible from the N1 and only 5 minutes away from city centre and +-10 minutes from the airport.• Franklin View boasts the best view situated on the northern slopes of Naval Hill • The decor in Franklin View is rustic with an emphasis on yellow wood and leather • Luxurious en- suite rooms with DSTV • Splash pool and braai area • Your hosts Marietjie and Gustav Swanepoel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Franklin View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing