We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
12
17
20
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
17
20
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reception staff walking distance clean rooms mimosa mall home away from home dstv
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2018

It is a very nice place to stay. The staff is one of the most friendliest I've come across. Bedroom was neat, tidy and everything was working just fine. It is a very peaceful place, no noise interruptions and it well located next to a Mall

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tshilidzi2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarliStapelberg, General Manager at College Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear tshilidzi2018

Thank you so much for your lovely comment on Trip Advisor, this is very much appreciated. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Going the extra mile for our guest is certainly one of the things we strive for every day, and I am pleased to read that our staff met your expectations. Our peace full garden is surely an asset to College Lodge. Thank you for providing fellow Trip Advisor users, as well as ourselves, with valuable feedback regarding your stay. We hope to welcome you back at College Lodge soon.

Kindest Regards
Carli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

very well situated Guest Lodge, easy to access and everything you need is in the rooms for your comfort, the premises are secure and it is close to all the shops and Restaurants you need. we were a family of three and was clean and comfortable

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank twilli613330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarliStapelberg, General Manager at College Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear twilli613330

Thank you for reviewing College Lodge on Trip Advisor. It is always good to receive positive feedback. We are indeed well located, and conveniently close to some of the major shopping malls and schools in Bloemfontein. Looking forward welcoming you back at College Lodge in the near future. Kindest regards.

Carli Stapelberg (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

When we visited College Lodge they were very friendly and helpful. They definitely contributed to a weekend we'll never forget.

Lovely rooms equiped with everything you need to have a lovely stay.

Very nice braai area!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mandyv535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarliStapelberg, General Manager at College Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear Mandy v

Thank you for reviewing College Lodge on Trip Advisor. It is always good to receive positive feedback. It is always good to know that we were able to cater for the needs of our guests. Your positive feedback will also be communicated back to our staff. Looking forward welcoming you back at College Lodge in the near future. Kindest regards.

Carli Stapelberg (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

A small, friendly guest house, the staff were all very helpful in terms of making taxi bookings and dealing with minor issues that cropped up during my stay (such as the complete lack of hot water one chilly morning). It's very close to the University of the Free State (walking distance) and also very close to a mall that has some useful stores. Taxis or a car needed for most eating options, however. Breakfasts are hearty, but have relatively limited choice. The rooms are comfortable, but on the small side, and the one I was in was a little shabby and in need of some redecoration, but others seem to have been updated more recently. The one major drawback was that it's unheated throughout, so was pretty cold in winter.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Monty10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarliStapelberg, General Manager at College Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear Monty10001

Thank you for reviewing College Lodge on Trip Advisor. We take special care, to take care of our customer needs. We thank you once again for your honest review, which assisted us to better our services. Our sincere apology for the hot water issue. Our plumber attended to the matter. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards.

Carli Stapelberg (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

The initial good impression of a good and well-appointed guest house quickly went Southwards after our booking was not updated as discussed earlier that day with the day staff. The night staff was absolutely clueless and seemed What they really did not want to go to the trouble to fix it for us. The rooms were definitely not checked either. No toilet paper... no sugar with the coffee and only one milk pod. This place is good value for money but I was disappointed in the service we received. Pity.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LeonSteyn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarliStapelberg, General Manager at College Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear LeonSteyn55

Thank you for taking the time to review College Lodge on TripAdvisor. Our sincere apologies for not being able to meet your expectations. Your honest review enable us to strive to always better our service. The matters regarding the service you received from the night staff was taken up with them. We also addressed the housekeeping complaints with our housekeeping staff.
Please accept our sincere apologies. We hope we will have the opportunity to better our service if you visit Bloemfontein again in the near future.

Kind regards. Carli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews