We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find !”
Review of Liedjiesbos B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Liedjiesbos B&B
Ranked #4 of 160 Bloemfontein B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

What a delightful place to stay. We were taken care of by the manager Celeste and her staff. The attention to detail was exceptional. Not quite ready to leave after only two nights. We will be back and will recommend it to our friends.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed over at Liedjiesbos, the second time this year, and once again left with a feeling of well-being and total peace. Having enjoyed it in the height of summer, this time around it was minus 6 deg at night! But nothing could take away the warmness and comfort experienced in its well appointed rooms. Plush gowns, heated rooms, bathrooms and beds and a cosy fire crackling away in the main lounge add to a feeling of been at home. The stylishly decorated lounge area with its cosy Aga stove providing heat, is a delight to visit, with beautifully hand-crafted gifts and home made jams on offer. The local hound Lily welcomes you in the car park upon arrival and hangs around in case a visitor would offer some love and/or tasty bids. The breakfast is an absolute delight with home grown herbs, home made jams and other delicasies on offer. The host Henning goes out of his way to make your stay as comfortable as possible - from an open coffee bar and freshly made apple pie (help yourself) to sherry in the room! An absolute must for any weary traveller or visitor to Bloem. Book in advance to avoid disappointment!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have stayed at Liedjiesbos twice ! It is the best Guesthouse I have ever stayed in, and we travel alot! The detail in the rooms,stylish and warm! ........ Liedjiesbos wil always be my home away from home in Bloemfontein.

Room Tip: All 5 Rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buddydt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I think I have stayed at Liedjiesbos more often than at my own home.... It is always special. rooms are upgraded on a regular basis. Hosts are friends now!!! feels like home!! Thanks for great service!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I am not exaggerating when I say that this B&B has been the nicest place we have stayed in in many years. Built up from a farm barn about 10 km out of town only 5 years ago, the building is very new and modern, yet the rooms combine a flair of style you rarely find: modern meets antiques meets travel memorabilia from around the world - an interior decorator's dream! We found every single item in our room to be of exquisite style and chosen mindfully and with a lot of loving care.

The room was spacious and spotlessly clean, airy, the mattresses excellent, the linen beautiful, the furniture, carpets, curtains tasteful, the bathroom beautiful (concrete meets brass, open-plan shower), the amenities well thought through (from TV to minibar to port on the bedside table, to first aid kit in the bathroom nothing at all was amiss!). The garden of indigenous plants and succulents in full bloom and lovely arranged and maintained, the common areas warm and welcoming full of more interesting items brought back from either local artists or trips afar and for sale. There was even a small library of very interesting books to browse through.
Our breakfast was outstanding, the coffee excellent, the jams home-made, the presentation lovely.

Liedjiesbos is easy to reach from the N1, you can avoid town traffic entirely, there are a few places to eat out at night nearby (unfortunately they don't do dinner any more at the B&B - must have been wonderful...) and you will have a quiet night's sleep in lovely surroundings full of good energy.

All in all we could not have spent a better night or had a lovelier place to stay at and will go back and recommend Liedjiesbos to anybody any time!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank like2travl2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at this b&b for two nights. It was gorgeous. Will recommend it anytime and will stay there myself again.
It is a short distance out of town, but believe me, much nicer this way than staying in town.
Breakfast was also very nice and so are the hosts!
Well done guys! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tree10075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liedjiesbos, Owner at Liedjiesbos B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

It was wonderful having you as a guest. Our whole team hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Thank you for working wonders for our little family. We enjoyed everything from the decor to the personalized service. The bungalows were just perfect for us. such tasteful quirky decor! Thank you to all the staff for a special memorable visit!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emenror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloemfontein hotels
3.9 mi away
The Suburban
The Suburban
#3 of 160 in Bloemfontein
83 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lemon & Lime
Lemon & Lime
#2 of 160 in Bloemfontein
163 reviews
5 mi away
Adeo
Adeo
#16 of 160 in Bloemfontein
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Dersley Manor
Dersley Manor
#7 of 160 in Bloemfontein
200 reviews
5 mi away
Franklin View Guest House
Franklin View Guest House
#1 of 160 in Bloemfontein
309 reviews
2.1 mi away
Marrakech Guesthouse
Marrakech Guesthouse
#13 of 160 in Bloemfontein
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liedjiesbos B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liedjiesbos B&B

Address: 13 Frans Kleynhans Road | Groenvlei, Bloemfontein 9300, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bloemfontein
Price Range: £72 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Liedjiesbos B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liedjiesbos was purposely designed by one of Bloemfontein's leading architects to offer spacious and comfortable accommodation in a peaceful farm like atmosphere, without compromising on privacy and luxury. Liedjiesbos B&B offers affordable Bloemfontein accommodation. We are situated only 3 km outside Bloemfontein and a 10 minute drive will take you to all the major shopping centres, conference centres, the Loch Logan Waterfront, Mimosa Mall, the zoo and botanical gardens. Liedjiesbos B&B offers you rest and tranquility, in luxury, romantic accommodation. Explore our grounds or stroll through our indigenous garden, before watching the beautiful Free State sunset. Wake up to a wonderful breakfast between 7am and 9am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Liedjiesbos B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing