We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room”

Two Bells Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Two Bells Guest House
Ranked #96 of 155 Bloemfontein B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This was a lovely place to stay. It was really great value for money. The room was clean, and there was DSTV. The owner was very welcoming and helpful. It was close to the road through bloemfontein, but far enough away that it wasn't noisy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
There are newer reviews for Two Bells Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

The room was clean, spacious and the bathroom in very good standard. Continental breakfast only average.
I would mark this B&B with mark 4/5, but I cannot.
We had a unpleasant story with the owner. Our hired car was out of order and rental company promised me to deliver the new car to our Bloemfontein accomodation - Two Bells Guest House.
Because I did not have SA mobile number, I gave them the contact to the owner. I understand, that three phone calls in the evening (18 - 20:30) from Hertz rental were uncomfortable for her.
I was prepared to compensate her time and care about us next day.
But she was probably so angry from phone calls that in morning did not meet us at all. She knew when we had a breakfast. Because you need to arrange the time in advance. And she was in the house in that time.
No interest about our stay, no interest about our issue with the car. Only shouting "where are keys", when we left the house.
I cannot recomend this B&B if you need something more then bed and breakfast. No human touch there. Sorry, but this is not 4 star professionalism.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vopetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The rooms are spacious, in excellent state and very clean. There is a kettle and if I remember correctly also a European plug. There is no internet, which is a pity as many simpler places do offer free wifi. For some reason there were indeed two bells ringing in the morning for some time, which did not help our sleeping.

We had the continental breakfast (35 rand pp extra since no breakfast is included by default) and it included tea, yoghurt, fruit salad, toast, and jam/marmelade. It was ok but unimpressive, lacking for example something like croissants/muffins and ham/cheese.

The hostess answered questions when asked, but was not nearly as helpful as we've seen in B&Bs elsewhere in South Africa (maybe we were already spoiled by the time we got here).

The location is fine, though it matters little as we heard from several people that in Bloemfontein it not safe to get out of the car outside protected malls so we dared not walk anywhere. Fortunately, guest cars can be parked on their parking lot behind a high wall.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We arrived after a long drive from Port Elizabeth at Two Bells Guest House. Jenni gave us a warm welcome.
For the next two hours we enjoyed the relaxing pool.
The city was very empty on New Year's Day and everything was closed.
The night was warm and noisy. The walls are quite thin and if you open the window to get some fresh air you will hear the traffic from the big street. The property is really secure and you can park your car within the property.
We haven't had breakfast because we left early.
For a short stay in Bloemfontain we would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirko_vyskozil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed for one night during a road trip. place is immaculate and secure parking. A higher end price wise but the rooms are beautifully presented. Has air conditioning. Did not have food as was leaving early but the owner was up to see us off. No wifi.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaginica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed here on New Year's Eve, and Jenni was an excellent and caring hostess. The room was s[otless, with a mini-kitchen, king-size bed, luxurious fittings, and all for the lowest cost we paid on our 2-week vacation!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerP138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Jolanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloemfontein hotels
1.1 mi away
21 On Coetzee Guest House
21 On Coetzee Guest House
#15 of 155 in Bloemfontein
81 reviews
2.1 mi away
B&B @ Bloem
B&B @ Bloem
#104 of 155 in Bloemfontein
19 reviews
6.8 mi away
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
#13 of 25 in Bloemfontein
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
2.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
#5 of 25 in Bloemfontein
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Bells Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Bells Guest House

Address: 4 Flemming Street | Hospital Park, Bloemfontein 9301, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bloemfontein
Price Range: £55 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Two Bells Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Two Bells Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing