We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Oude Kraal Country Estate and Spa
Ranked #12 of 146 Bloemfontein B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Disappointing. Standards have dropped but price hasn't. Accommodation was spacious but everything needs a good scrub and a makeover. The shower looking into an atrium type garden was awful. Garden a mess. Our bed was double not Queen and was uncomfortable. It was an ugly metal four poster that creaked loudly every time we moved. Food is still excellent but the dinner is R345 per head extra. At R825 per person for the accommodation is was a rip off and on future we'll overnight elsewhere. Hosts were charming and service good but they need to upgrade their facilities if they want to charge those prices.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BridgetR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    33
    17
    1
    4
See reviews for
32
58
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

When we arrived there was complementary coffee and home made cake, really nice. There is a great patio where you can relax or enjoy the pool.
The bathroom was very nice, however the hotel room itself was a bit cramped. It also did not help that there was a huge cockroach in our bed. I guess that is part of Africa but still an unpleasant surprise.
The hotel offers as they call it 'fine dining' in their restaurant. It was ok food but we have had way better in SA. It was a bit disappointing. All dishes had pastry in or on it and the fish was just no good.

The hotel does have a great spa. Do book in advance though. There are also a lot of activities on the farm but due to thunder we were not able to do any.

The location is very remote so be aware of that when you make the booking. You will not leave the estate probably as it is over 35 km from Bloemfontijn

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

we arranged to stay here for my wifes Birthday, A friend of ours made a surprise visit as well.
The two days we stayed were magic, the family were very friendly and did everything there could to make our stay a pleasure, The suite we had was very comfortable with fire place electric blanket.all that is required at this time of the YEAR.
The 5 coarse Dinner was very good, with some very interesting dishes and flavours,well worth it.The host Gerit was just great, A man of many talents!!!!!!
We also had some Spa Treatments which were of a high standard.
Thank you for helping make mt Wifes birthday a memorable one.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OUTOFAFRICA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

It's hard to believe that such an Oasis exist in the middle of the dry Free State. Lush green gardens with shady trees, ponds etc. Our room was stunning but they are all different and some may not appeal to all tastes. Hosts and service were brilliant by caring owner/manager. Dinner was very good set menu, one of best. Enjoyed our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We've actually lost count of the number of times we've stayed here. It's an ideal stop over between Jo'burg/ Durban and Cape Town - and well worth the extra Kms to get there!

As ever there was a warm welcome on our arrival and a specially warm one from Dirky the tame meerkat whom I first nursed whe he was 3/4 weeks old this time last year! He's now bigger, and real fun!

Our room, 12 was waiting for us, as was the complimentary sherry which we had before dinner. Dinner - weel, what does one say, Marie continues to provide superb food (I have a feeling we should persuade her to produce a recipe book) and this visit saw more wonderful delights being served.

Melanie continues to be a font of knowledge - if you're interested in astronomy, ask her. She's so good, we once got up, whilst staying there, at 4am, to see a partial eclispe! Also ask her what Dirkie does to her waste paper basket daily!!

Most peolpe ask why we don't fly to Jo'burg, well it's perfectly obvious, we'd miss out on a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: 7-12 are especially good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wineaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aschaffenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My only regret was that we were there for only one night! We were generously upgraded to a more spacious room. The choice of foods at the breakfast buffet was wonderful. I especially enjoyed meeting their tame meerkats, which were lovingly hand raised after having been rescued from certain death in the wild.
If I could, I would stay at the Oude Kraal forever......

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank domo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

The owner was very nice. I liked the pet meerkat. But oh! dear, the room was old, dark and depressing and the bathroom (although a big room) was full of rocks, so you couldn't put anything down. The old shower was in the middle of the room. The floor of the bathroom was wood blocks, slippery and dangerous when wet. It was just so uncomfortable and I didn't feel clean.

Room Tip: Avoid the old rooms. They obviously have nicer ones as the previous reports have been lyrical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigellatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloemfontein hotels
20.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake
22.1 mi away
Franklin View Guest House
Franklin View Guest House
#1 of 146 in Bloemfontein
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
23.6 mi away
Liedjiesbos B&B
Liedjiesbos B&B
#3 of 146 in Bloemfontein
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Dersley Manor
Dersley Manor
#7 of 146 in Bloemfontein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
15.7 mi away
A Cherry Lane Self Catering B&B
A Cherry Lane Self Catering B&B
#5 of 146 in Bloemfontein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Suburban
The Suburban
#4 of 146 in Bloemfontein
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Oude Kraal Country Estate and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Oude Kraal Country Estate and Spa

Property: De Oude Kraal Country Estate and Spa
Address: 35 km South of Bloemfontein On the N1 | Exit 153, 6km off N1 on gravel road, Bloemfontein 9301, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Bloemfontein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Oude Kraal Country Estate and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest 4 star Bloemfontein accommodation, Guest House establishments in South Africa, and the best choice for your stay in the Free State. Fine dining restaurant with award winning wine list and in-house wine cellar. Pamper spa with qualified spa therapists. Luxury and suite accommodation in the Main House gardens. Farm located standard rooms with self-catering options and outside braai. Feast a-la-carte restaurant and bar open Wednesday-Sunday 10:00-17:00 This is a luxurious, award winning, situated 35km south of Bloemfontein on the N1, Free State, South Africa. This Bloemfontein Guest house, Free State accommodation, is situated on a Merino sheep farm, allowing you to experience the best of the Free State' Country lifestyle. Horse riding, hiking trails, sundown ride with wagon and tractor, shooting activities available Owners Gerhard and Marie Lombard established De Oude Kraal Country Estate and Spa through hard work, dedication and love for all things native to the Free State, having built a legacy they want to share with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your De Oude Kraal Country Estate and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing