We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and well dressed personal”
Review of Anta Boga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anta Boga Hotel
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Certificate of Excellence
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Friendly and well dressed personal”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The room not so wow ! But everything you need and very fiendly personal. Nice restaurant with good food and fairly priced. Could be good value for money if breakfast was included but unfortunately we had to leave early morning and missed out on breakfast. My wife was very impressed with the dress code of all personal. I think some of the negative reviews is overdone as we travel frequantly and I shalmake a booking again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    35
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
31
6
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
234 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Very convenient location. the staff is extremely helpfull. the breakfast is a typical buffet. The rooms are comfortable and beds sleeps good. I Have stayed there before and i found it very consistent.it is a good alternative to other hotels in the area but better as the guesthouses.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My wife and I had the unfortunate experience of spending one night, our wedding night, at this apparent 5* boutique hotel, before departing for the Intercontinental in Mauritius. when we arrived in the honeymoon suite,half past 12, there was no sjampagne as per agreed when we booked and no chocolates, I went to the front desk to clarify this problem at wich stage the man at the front desk arrugantly said to me it is an extra R500 after we already paid R1600+- for the room for the night. The bed was nice but the room was cramped, there was a dirty T-shirt in the closet, probibly the previous visitor. the bathroom is definitly not up to a 5*, to have your shower in the bath tub, breakfast was very nice and that is all we enjoyed from our stay. I did have a word with management about these problems and they did'nt realy know how to handle the situation. I had better service from Tuff Tops, which is a self catering facility, even the quality of there towls are better... don't know where Anta Boga got there other 4*, definitly not from service.
Will never return or refer anybody.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee-Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anta Boga A, Front Office Manager at Anta Boga Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding our property, we appreciate all feedback may it be negative or positive.

Regarding the Honeymoon Package: our Room rate including breakfast for the Honeymoon King Room is set at R1540.00 per night and unfortunately does not include a Honeymoon turn down - this room does not get sold with this package as a standard as we book this room out to non honeymooners also. The Honeymoon Package can be added on request when making your reservation and is an additional R500.00 charge and includes: Flowers, Friandise Platter, JC Le Roux Sparkling wine, Gowns and a Rose petal turn down.

Room #102 our Honeymoon King Room is a very spacious room with a walk-in closet and four poster bed and a side seating area, we are not quite sure as your comment states the room is cramped and this is surely not the case. Some of our rooms do have a combination shower and bath and this was the original building style and we do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused, we however do have other rooms that offer separate bath and shower facilities.

Regarding a dirty T-shirt found in the closet: we have taken this up with the Housekeeping department and can also assure you that this definitely is not standard practice at our property.

We have also taken the situation up with the Front desk Agent on duty that evening and we do apologize if he came across as arrogant. The Manager on duty for the weekend in question's feedback: she did advise that she spoke to you the morning of your departure and apologized and also offered a complimentary breakfast for any inconvenience caused as she did not want you to leave the property unhappy. but you declined her offer.

I can also assure your that all our linens and toweling is of the highest of quality and standard.

We would like to invite you back to our property so that you may experience our true 5* service that we are extremely proud of.

Please contact management and we will arrange the stay for you.

Thank you again for your feedback, it is much appreciated.

Yours in Hospitality,

Anta Boga Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
234 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I have stayed there several times before. They always have good service and the rooms are comfortable and it is clean. The breakfast is very nice, with very good coffee. Will stay there again when I come for business again.

Room Tip: Dont stay near reception, the music plays permanently in the background.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foz do Iguacu, PR
Level Contributor
191 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

This hotel was recommended to me by my customer. Whilst a small boutique hotel it is big on service and delivery. Well located near the heart of Bloemfontein and close to 2nd avenue (bars and restaurants and clubs). Great looking hotel, polite staff and wonderful rooms. I was in 201 and had lovely four poster bed, great mattress and plenty of pillows and covers. I think the hotel has been renovated since some of the comments as I had lovely seperate bathroom. Free Internet access was provided, room was clean with aircon and ceiling fan. Whilst located near to nelson Mandela ave I didn't hear a thing in my room. Breakfast was great, ate out for evening but hear food is good for hotel.

Highly recommended for business / friends / family

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank OneWayorReturnPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N E Lincs
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

First impressions were favourable. The staff at reception were very pleasant and helpful. Our room was spacious - providing you don't mind that the bathroom is all part of the bedroom with no proper dividing wall. It was a shame that there was not a decent, large bar area and outside seating. The swimming pool was tiny and very close to the entrance and the main road.
However, the food was very good - both the dinner and the breakfast couldn't be faulted. It was value for money but we probably wouldn't have wanted a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NElincsrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinrooi, Belgium
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

the hotel is just off a busy road and you can hear the traffic inside. They try to camouflage it with bad music that repeats itself all the time. Dinner was very bad, a buffet with one choice of meat (totally unacceptable quality in a land with the best meat), some potato, some over cooked veg and some corn. That was all. Breakfast was a lot better.

Disturbed by cleaning every 10 minutes between 8AM and 9AM.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willemwillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloemfontein hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
0.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
#6 of 23 in Bloemfontein
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
#13 of 23 in Bloemfontein
20 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hobbit Boutique Hotel
Hobbit Boutique Hotel
#7 of 23 in Bloemfontein
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Urban Hotel Bloemfontein
Urban Hotel Bloemfontein
#9 of 23 in Bloemfontein
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anta Boga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anta Boga Hotel

Property: Anta Boga Hotel
Address: 8 Stapelberg Street, Bloemfontein 9301, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Anta Boga Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Anta Boga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing